Versatile Blogger Award

October 3, 2011 at 6:42 am 7 comments

I am a girl with too many interests. I love to run, bike, hike, bake, cook, talk, listen, read, enjoy good music, decorate, craft, learn, explore, travel… Too many fun things to do and not enough time to do it all! I love sharing about my interests through this blog, and am glad to find so many other people passionate about life as well! Recently, Adele nominated me for the Versatile Blogger Award. I have loved reading about Adele’s travels and admire her beautiful pictures of food and scenic locations, and am so thankful for her recognition! Some rules for this award:

1.  Thank the person(s) who shared the award with you by linking back to them in your post. 

2.  Pass this award to 15 recently discovered blogs and let them know that you included them in your blog post. 

3.  List 7 things about yourself. 

Time to pass on the love. I am shortening the list down to seven, simply because this is my second award to pass on in a week!

1. A Healthy Passion

2. Baking with Em & M

3. I <3 Vegetables

4. Living Learning Eating

5. Of red bricks and cobblestones

6. Simple Eats

7. Scavenging the Interweb

Now to share some fun facts about me:

1. I grew up in NJ, where Italian American heritage is strong and proud. But I am not Italian… my mom didn’t make her own sauce or meatballs, and my friends were shocked at my house one time when they discovered that meatballs came frozen and sauce came in a jar!

2. I have walked the Boston Marathon route 3 times as part of the Jimmy Fund Walk. I hope to eventually run a marathon, and then will solve the long-standing debate with my aunt and her JFW walking buddies if running or walking for 26.2 miles is harder.

3. I was the slow kid in gym class, and hated running until later in college. I loved to dance as a kid and was in good shape from hours of ballet, tap and jazz lessons each week, but I could not run a mile. When I stopped dancing in college and was looking for another way to exercise, I finally discovered that running could be enjoyable. Now I have run a 10K, a half marathon, and a triathlon!

4. I can’t wake up at a normal time (like 7, or 7:30). Instead, I have to wake up at a strange number, like 7:23. In my mind, it let’s me sleep in past the hour, but waking up before a set number makes me feel like I have more time in the morning. This makes me crazy, I know, but its been that way since high school!

5. I am terrible at Monopoly. I love playing, and have great memories playing for hours with my grandpa growing up and with friends in high school, but I never win. I one time took over for a friend who was winning, wasted his fortune, and lost the game for him in less than an hour. Oops.

6. I like both beer and wine. I know most people tend to like one or the other, but it really depends on my mood and the setting to sway me one way or the other. I am also a “one glass” kinda girl – cheap date, light weight, I’ve been called it all, but that’s just the way it is!

7. I was not the kind of kid who dreamed of being a doctor when they grew up. I wanted to be a ballerina, an English teacher, an interior designer, a lawyer, and then an architect. In fact, I hated science until high school! I used to tell my parents, “The last thing I ever want to be is a doctor.” After 17 reconstructive surgeries (I was born with a cleft palate and numerous craniofacial clefts), what kind of kid would want to spend even more time in a hospital? Well, that much exposure to medicine eventually sucks you into its vortex, and look where I am now!

Thanks again, Adele! There are so many great blogs that I enjoy reading each day, and these are just a few to highlight. Hope you all find a new blog or two to follow!

Question: What is one fun fact about yourself?

Entry filed under: Random. Tags: , , , , .

Harvest Festival Golden Inspiration

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. goingsteadyblog  |  October 3, 2011 at 8:42 am

    I HAVE to ask which part of Jersey. If you feel comfortable sharing, shoot me an email at goingsteadyblog@gmail.com.

    Reply
  • 2. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide  |  October 3, 2011 at 10:35 am

    I love beer AND wine too! Great post especially the part about how you didn’t want to be a doctor. The award is well deserved too.

    Reply
  • 3. Scavenging the Interweb  |  October 3, 2011 at 8:23 pm

    Wow, I’m digging this new format. Fun fact? I’m a huge font freak and design/layout scrutinizer.

    Reply
  • 5. EmandM  |  October 3, 2011 at 9:32 pm

    Thanks Jen!! how is it possible to be bad at monopoly? =P

    Reply
  • 7. Recovery Milkshake « homemadeadventure  |  October 11, 2011 at 7:05 am

    […] mentioned in a recent post that I was born with a cleft palate and several craniofacial clefts. I am very […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Get recipes directly to your inbox as soon as they are posted

Join 217 other followers

Memberships


