Freezing Summer

September 27, 2011 at 7:00 am 13 comments

What would I do without a freezer? As we plunge into chillier weather, I have been freezing summer time favorites to reach for when I am in the depths of the winter time blues. My first piece of frozen summer was the Summer No ‘Smore, and now I have made Freezer Pesto. It is so simple, great for fast lunches and single serving dinners as my basil plant gives up for the winter.

IMG_4484

IMG_4486

I used what is likely the last of my crop of basil leaves to make my classic pesto. Then I cleaned out an ice cube tray and coated it with cooking spray. I spooned the pesto into 6 of the cubes, and then stashed it in the freezer overnight. The next morning, I covered the cubes to the top with water and then put it back in the freezer. I am hoping that this will help prevent freezer burn! Once fully frozen, I transferred the cubes to a Tupperware to keep for longer (and get my ice cube tray back!)

IMG_4493

IMG_4496

Each cube is perfect for a single serving of pasta. Simply add it to cooked, hot pasta in the pot and stir over low heat until it is melted and the pasta is well covered. Serve with some freshly grated cheese and enjoy, savoring a bit of summer sunshine and fresh basil in every bite.

In more exciting news, I was given the Liebster Award by Rufus’ Food and Sprits Guide! I love so many of the recipes on their blog and am really excited for this recognition. This award is passed onto bloggers with fewer than 200 followers, and it is my job to pass it on to 5 more deserving blogs! Check out some of these blogging friends and hopefully you will find a new page or two to enjoy reading!

Going Steady – one woman’s ups and downs on a journey to a healthier lifestyle

mixxedtape – great photography and meal ideas from a college girl in Belgium

Little Sacred Space – great thoughts on faith and life from a graduate student living in China

Real Fun Food – a woman’s fun and healthy eats from London

Snotting Black – a college friend’s journey learning Arabic in Cairo, with witty and clever posts about things most of us would overlook on a daily basis (you may have seen her recently on Freshly Pressed!)

Can’t wait to see who you guys pass this along to!

Entry filed under: Random, Recipes. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Nerd Alert WIAW While Sick

13 Comments Add your own

  • 1. goingsteadyblog  |  September 27, 2011 at 7:49 am

    Oh, wow, thanks for the love!!!

    Reply
    • 2. homemadeadventure  |  September 28, 2011 at 7:40 am

      no problem! I’ve loved reading your blog and am going to be making that sweet potato soup soon!

      Reply
  • 3. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide  |  September 27, 2011 at 10:54 am

    I love the idea of freezing pesto in the ice tray. I always use little sandwich bags. You definitely deserve the award!

    Reply
    • 4. homemadeadventure  |  September 28, 2011 at 7:40 am

      It works so well! Thanks again for the award :)

      Reply
  • 5. edrevets  |  September 27, 2011 at 4:00 pm

    I’ll have to thank you for the shout out as well. Us bloggers need to stick together, preferably held together by something delicious

    Reply
  • 7. erraffety  |  September 28, 2011 at 6:27 am

    Dear Jen,
    Yes, thanks for the love! What is the Liebster Award (I tried to read about it on Rufus’ site but I couldn’t find it)? Are we supposed to pass on the love to other bloggers as well? What a cool idea, and again, thanks for your support.
    Best, Erin

    Reply
    • 8. homemadeadventure  |  September 28, 2011 at 7:42 am

      It is just a small way to recognize fellow bloggers for their unique and interesting content. Pass it along to 5 other people that you enjoy reading to keep spreading the love!

      Reply
      • 9. erraffety  |  September 29, 2011 at 1:08 am

        Awesome! I definitely plan on passing on the log, just wondering how you can be sure/check up on how many followers a blog actually has?

        Reply
        • 10. homemadeadventure  |  September 29, 2011 at 7:09 am

          You can sometimes see on the side bar (for example mine says join 75 other subscribers under my email tab) but don’t worry about being strict with it! the point is to choose bloggers who do this out of passion in their spare time and not as a job, and help spread the love for their blogs!

          Reply
  • 11. Little Bloggers that could « little sacred space  |  September 29, 2011 at 7:20 pm

    […] forays, despite her busy medschool study schedule, and apparently the feeling’s mutual.  She recently highlighted my little blog, among a few others with under 200 followers, and challenged us awardees to do the […]

    Reply
  • 12. Versatile Blogger Award « homemadeadventure  |  October 3, 2011 at 6:43 am

    […] Time to pass on the love. I am shortening the list down to seven, simply because this is my second award to pass on in a week! […]

    Reply
  • 13. Failure Is Not an Option « homemadeadventure  |  April 16, 2012 at 7:41 pm

    […] am happy to accept Sara @ My Less Serious Life‘s shout out for the Liebster Award. This is my second time being passed along this honor, and I am always happy to join in the fun! The award is passed […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Get recipes directly to your inbox as soon as they are posted

Join 217 other followers

Memberships


