Seasons of Change

September 19, 2011 at 7:00 am 13 comments

Fall is in the air and the blog world is abuzz with pumpkin, squash and cinnamon. I am loving all of the new meal ideas, especially anything with pumpkin pie spices! Recently, my friend turned me on to spiced coffee. In your regular drip coffee maker, sprinkle a bit of cinnamon and nutmeg over the coffee grinds. Brew your coffee as normal and a hint of the spices will shine through. It tastes like fall in a cup! As good as gourmet pumpkin spice roasted coffee blends without the cost.

Screen shot 2011-09-18 at 8.05.00 PM

source

More than just the season is changing around me. School is picking up intensity faster than I ever could have imagined. I am already two exams in with only harder modules in sight. I have a lot less time to cook, and also less of a need to cook since it is just me. (Marie and I are still working on that big batch of winter melon soup from last week!) I also have a lot less time for blogging, necessarily prioritizing school on certain days. I love cooking and writing and sharing and will still plan on doing so, but will have to pull back from daily posts. I do not want to promise a schedule either, since this blog is something I do to unwind and have a stress-free outlet. I hope you will continue to read and enjoy my adventures, even as I become a busier and busier student!

Screen shot 2011-09-18 at 8.04.29 PM

source

Last change – I am giving up sugar! For three weeks at least… My hiking buddies and I are running the Boston Half Marathon over Columbus Day weekend, and we talked about nutrition and training during our hike. We are all dedicated to running and eat pretty healthy (whole grain, vegetarian, mostly unprocessed) diets, but want to be at our peak for the upcoming race. We committed to forgoing added sugars until the race (with one cheat day allowed for a pre-planned event). I am even planning to avoid natural sweeteners like honey and agave, hoping to better taste the sweetness of fruits for dessert. I started yesterday and was already craving a biscotti from Starbucks, so this will likely be harder than I expected.

Challenge: Want to join me, my roommate, and friend as we give up added sugar for the next three weeks? It is simple! Avoid most desserts, choosing fruit instead, and check your normal spreads and sauces for added sugars. It is always helpful to have accountability partners in lifestyle changes, whether near or far!

Entry filed under: Ramblings, Running. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Birthday Hike in the Blue Hills WIAW Leftover Edition

13 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide  |  September 19, 2011 at 10:41 am

    Good luck in the race. You eat so healthy, I doubt you’ll miss sugar.

    Reply
    • 2. homemadeadventure  |  September 19, 2011 at 10:45 pm

      Missing it more than I expected but finding some fun alternatives to dessert!

      Reply
  • 3. Lesley  |  September 19, 2011 at 12:05 pm

    Good luck with the sugar ban! That spiced coffee sounds delish!

    Reply
    • 4. homemadeadventure  |  September 19, 2011 at 10:46 pm

      Thanks! Give the coffee a try, such a simple trick!

      Reply
  • 5. Amanda (Adele) D  |  September 20, 2011 at 1:00 pm

    I should do this too! I’m running a half on October 30th and I think sugar is probably slowing me down. I already cut out caffiene (mostly) but sugar should be next! Thanks for the idea :)

    Reply
    • 6. homemadeadventure  |  September 20, 2011 at 11:44 pm

      Good luck on the rest of your training! I definitely felt better on my long run yesterday after just 3 days without sugar. I wish I had the will power to give up caffeine!

      Reply
  • 7. WIAW Leftover Edition « homemadeadventure  |  September 21, 2011 at 6:44 am

    […] for 6:45am, with no intentions of leaving my warm cozy bed for class. Instead, I brewed a pot of my pumpkin spiced coffee, grabbed a handful of peanuts in the process, and crawled back under the covers with my mug and […]

    Reply
  • 8. WIAW While Sick « homemadeadventure  |  September 28, 2011 at 7:44 am

    […] before eating it. A little broccoli to follow the 1:1 pasta rule… yum! Apple for dessert (the no-sugar thing is much easier this week than last!) Like my veggie supply, my fruit is also running low. I always […]

    Reply
  • […] confused to see a dessert recipe up here. Why is that? Oh yeah, my crazy roommate and I decided to give up sugar for three weeks, and we are smack-dab in the middle of it! Neither of us have huge sweet tooths, […]

    Reply
  • 10. SavageMuscle  |  October 15, 2011 at 10:27 pm

    I’ve always loved adding spices to my coffee esp. during the Fall season – since I usually drink it black with no sugar I need to keep it interesting! I mix it up a bit and sometimes use ground cloves (just a touch though because cloves can be overwhelming!), cinnamon, the pre-mixed pumpkin pie spice and nutmeg, all in different combinations. Enjoy your coffee :)

    Reply
    • 11. homemadeadventure  |  October 16, 2011 at 8:54 am

      Oh, I never thought of adding cloves! That sounds good, too. I just learned that this is a traditional Mexican thing, to add cinnamon to your coffee. I take my coffee black as well, so I love the flavor this adds :)

      Reply
  • 12. A Pictorial Retelling of my Golden Weekend « homemadeadventure  |  September 26, 2012 at 6:51 pm

    […] a few chopped almonds and fresh ground cinnamon, and enjoyed it with French Press hot coffee. (My cinnamon brew trick still works in a French Press for perfect Fall […]

    Reply
  • 13. Ralf  |  October 6, 2012 at 11:53 pm

    A person essentially lend a hand to make significantly articles
    I would state. This is the first time I frequented your website page and so far?

    I surprised with the research you made to create this actual post amazing.
    Magnificent task!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Get recipes directly to your inbox as soon as they are posted

Join 216 other followers

Memberships


