What I Ate Wednesday

September 13, 2011 at 9:54 pm 5 comments

I read a lot of blogs, mostly food related. Some of them are recipe blogs, some are food diaries, and some are mixtures. I really like seeing the simple meal ideas that other bloggers come up with, and love the idea that Jenn at Peas and Crayons came up with! Basically, bloggers from all across the country take pictures of what they eat in a day, and then post it on Peas and Crayons for What I Ate Wednesday. This can be inspiration for those looking for new meal ideas, accountability for those trying to lose weight, and support for busy, healthy lifestyles. After reading countless What I Ate Wednesdays, I am joining the link party for the first time! As you can tell, I am posting this on Wednesday morning… so this is really What I Ate On Tuesday. It is easier for me to start my post at night and then finish it up first thing in the morning, especially when I am drowning in work before my Infectious Disease exam on Friday. Oh Med School, the lame excuse that kept me from posting on Saturday, too! Hope you enjoy a glimpse into my daily food life!

Pre-run snack: 6:45am

IMG_4412

I usually wake up starving, but my stomach can’t handle much food before going out for a run. I picked this trick up from KERF, and now fuel up with a pre-run date before my morning runs. I also snagged a peanut butter cookie dough ball for a little extra protein. That and a big glass of water and I was set to go! I met a friend for my run, and we completed a bit under 4 miles in 35 minutes. Not too shabby with all of the chatting we did!

Breakfast: 8:30am

IMG_4414

Not in the mood for oatmeal, I decided on a Greek yogurt bowl. I sliced a banana into some strawberry Greek yogurt, topped with chia seeds and a few chopped almonds. That and a big mug of coffee and I was full and set to go for a morning of studying virology.

Mid-morning Snack: 11am

IMG_4417

I learned my lesson the hard way: oatmeal is the only thing I have found that keeps me full for the morning. I snacked on some local, organic pickling cucumbers… and still was studying virology. The cucumbers were crisp and sweet, and were also really rehydrating since I was still thirsty and chugging water from my run!

Lunch: 12:30pm

IMG_4418

It is a rare occasion when I go out to eat, but you caught me on a day with a planned lunch outing! I met two friends at a Middle Eastern place near school called Pita, and enjoyed a falafel wrap with a stuffed grape leaf on the side. We ate lunch in a nearby park since it was a beautiful day out, and it was actually cooler outside than in the restaurant! I love falafel and always choose that over the hummus wrap when I go to places like these since I have yet to be able to successfully recreate falafel on my own.

Dinner: 6:30pm

IMG_4429

Normally, there is an afternoon snack. I need to eat every few hours or I get grumpy and sluggish. Usually small things, and I try for fruits and veggies. But I have my clinical medicine on Tuesday afternoons, and so am booked straight through until 4:30pm. Too late for a snack, I waited it out for my roommate dinner! We started cooking at 5:30 because we were both hungry, but we made a monster of a meal… What do you do with a 15 pound winter melon? You make soup! Winter melon, snap peas, carrots, and rice noodles in a spicy broth… served with cilantro, red chili flakes and a poached egg. You will have to come back tomorrow for the full story and recipe, but suffice it to say that I had a bowl or two of the huge pot of soup we made.

Dessert: 7:30pm

IMG_4433

After chatting over dinner and lingering over empty bowls, we both enjoyed pears poached in ginger, cinnamon and honey. So simple and so good! Smells of cinnamon wafting through the kitchen always remind me of fall, and it was a really satisfying end to a meal and a day. Too bad the night couldn’t end there! After a handful of trail mix, my day ended late but right back where it started – studying virology.

Question: Have you ever participated in What I Ate Wednesday? Have you ever kept a food diary? Is this something you would like to see on more Wednesdays in the future?

Entry filed under: Ramblings, Recipes, Running. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , .

Scalloped Tomatoes A Winter Melon Saga

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide  |  September 14, 2011 at 11:42 am

    That wrap sounds great!

    Reply
    • 2. homemadeadventure  |  September 14, 2011 at 10:21 pm

      It was really good! I will definitely have to go back to that place… and try to make falafel on my own :)

      Reply
  • 3. Natalie @Will Jog For Food  |  September 14, 2011 at 8:21 pm

    I need a peanut butter cookie dough ball!!!

    Reply
  • 4. homemadeadventure  |  September 14, 2011 at 10:22 pm

    So good. Check out chocolatecoveredkatie.com for the recipe!

    Reply
  • 5. WIAW Leftover Edition « homemadeadventure  |  September 21, 2011 at 6:44 am

    […] had a lot of fun participating in Peas and Crayons‘ What I Ate Wednesday last week, from taking pictures of my daily eats to getting inspiration for simple meal ideas from other […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Get recipes directly to your inbox as soon as they are posted

Join 216 other followers

Memberships


