Scalloped Tomatoes

September 13, 2011 at 8:00 am 6 comments

I received the largest tomato I have ever seen in my Boston Organics box last week! I forgot to snap a picture, but trust me when I say this thing was a monster. It was seriously the size of 2 or 3 normal tomatoes. I was afraid of it being tasteless or mealy since it was so big, yet it was still flavorful, juicy and delicious! I pulled this meal together after a few chilly early fall days in Boston. I was freezing last week, since it was rainy and the temperatures were peaking in the low 60’s. How am I ever going to survive the winter if I can’t even handle 60 degree weather?! I hope I adjust quickly! Inspired somewhat by the idea of scalloped tomatoes, I was craving some sort of baked casserole. I decided to slice the tomato and polenta, layer them together in a baking dish, sprinkle that with goat cheese, Balsamic, and basil. I was unsure of what to expect, but this dish blew me away. The flavors were incredible, the goat cheese got nice and melted, and the warm tomato and polenta together were comforting. Such a great use for late season tomatoes as the weather begins to change on us!

IMG_4411

Question: What is your favorite use for late season tomatoes?

Scalloped Tomatoes

serves 4 as a main dish, 6 as a side

2 medium tomatoes

1 polenta log

2-3 oz goat cheese

20 basil leaves, chiffonade

salt and pepper to taste

1/4 cup olive oil

1/4 cup balsamic vinegar

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Slice the tomato in half and then into slices. Cut the polenta log into similar thickness slices. Arrange the tomatoes and polenta in an alternating pattern along the bottom of the baking dish. (I used a 10 inch round dish and layered 2 tomato slices for every piece of polenta. Once the first layer is down, sprinkle with goat cheese, salt and pepper. Create a second layer with what remains of the tomatoes and polenta. Drizzle with olive oil and balsamic vinegar, and sprinkle with basil slivers. Bake uncovered for 25 minutes until liquid in the bottom of the dish is boiled. Set the oven to broil and broil for an additional 5 minutes, until the Balsamic vinegar is browned on the top layer. Cut and serve immediately.

Entry filed under: Recipes. Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

Homemade Peanut Butter What I Ate Wednesday

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide  |  September 13, 2011 at 11:20 am

    Oh to have late season tomatoes… looks great.

    Reply
  • 3. goingsteadyblog  |  September 13, 2011 at 1:37 pm

    This looks delicious!

    Reply
    • 4. homemadeadventure  |  September 13, 2011 at 7:59 pm

      It’s really good, and really easy! Also pretty healthy on the comfort food scale, especially if you use a bit less oil.

      Reply
  • 5. Helen  |  September 14, 2011 at 8:41 pm

    My grandparents have been consistently passing along gigantic tomatoes from their garden, and I’ve been wondering what to do with them… so excited to try this!

    Reply
  • 6. Layered Tomatoes & Eggplant « Going Steady  |  September 18, 2011 at 7:38 pm

    […] tried a variation of homemadeadventure’s scalloped tomatoes using eggplant instead of […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Get recipes directly to your inbox as soon as they are posted

Join 216 other followers

Memberships


