Fresh Figs

September 11, 2011 at 8:40 am 7 comments

IMG_3693

Figgy pudding. Fig Newtons. That used to be my only understanding of figs. And I was not a fan. That all changed when I ate my first fresh fig this summer in Bosnia. Azra had green figs, and Melissa and I were weary of them at first because you could pretty much just grab one and eat everything but the tiny stem at the top. Inside, the pink fruit was unique and like nothing I had ever seen before. There, I learned to love figs. They are sweet, not to juicy, and easy to eat. I definitely ate my fill while I was gone, in everything from sandwiches to gelato!

IMG_3538

I thought my fig season was over when I returned, since they are usually quite expensive in the States when you can find them, not to mention that I had never even seen them at my grocery store. Costco, however, was selling figs when my mom went shopping for Amanda’s rehearsal dinner. Remembering how much I loved them, she bought a case of them and split them between us. Now my fridge is was filled with figs! I ate probably about half of them plain, but had fun finding other flavor combinations. Some good breakfasts:

IMG_4380
Oatmeal and Almond Milk topped with Figs and Toasted Hazelnuts

IMG_4391
Pancakes with Melted Honey and Figs

IMG_4407
But my personal favorite… this salad. So many colors and flavors! If you have never tried figs, this is a good introduction to them! I would make it again but my fig supply has dwindled!

Question: Have you tried fresh figs before? What is your favorite way to eat them?

Fig, Goat Cheese, Cucumber and Hazelnut Salad with Balsamic Viniagrette

for 2 lunch salads

small head of lettuce

2 oz goat cheese

4 figs, quartered

2 pickling cucumbers, sliced and quartered

2 tbsp hazelnuts, toasted and slightly chopped

4 tbsp balsamic viniagrette

Toast the hazelnuts in a toaster oven for 5-7 minutes until warm. Rip lettuce into bite sized pieces. Top each bowl with half the cucumbers, goat cheese, figs and hazelnuts.Drizzle each salad with 2 tbsp balsamic viniagrette, or simply dress with oil and vinegar.
IMG_4408

Entry filed under: Recipes, Roamings. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Crafty Wedding Gifts Homemade Peanut Butter

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide  |  September 11, 2011 at 12:14 pm

    Oh man, those look amazing! Ours are long gone, but I can drool.

    Reply
    • 2. homemadeadventure  |  September 11, 2011 at 7:48 pm

      I think the fig season starts and ends later in the northeast. Mine are all gone, too, so I am left to drool at my own pictures! And your fig tart :)

      Reply
  • 3. Amanda (Adele) D  |  September 12, 2011 at 2:12 pm

    The salad looks amazing!!

    Reply
    • 4. homemadeadventure  |  September 12, 2011 at 5:49 pm

      It tasted just as good! A combo of some of my most recent favorites :)

      Reply
  • 5. Homemade Peanut Butter « homemadeadventure  |  September 13, 2011 at 8:09 am

    […] may have won with the fresh figs, but disappointed me when I couldn’t find any natural peanut butter! Don’t get me […]

    Reply
  • 6. Michael Beyer  |  October 7, 2011 at 8:25 am

    I love your fig ideas–especially eating them on top of pancakes or in a salad. I never would have thought of that. I just adapted a so-called Fig Newton recipe to have a fresh fig filling and they were really yummy. However, I’m actually a fan of the original cookies…

    Reply
    • 7. homemadeadventure  |  October 7, 2011 at 10:39 pm

      Thanks! They’re so good on almost everything!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Get recipes directly to your inbox as soon as they are posted

Join 217 other followers

Memberships


