A Relaxing Rehearsal

September 7, 2011 at 7:35 am 3 comments

As I mentioned last week, I was lucky enough to celebrate with two of my best friends as they got married this past weekend! They have been dating since we were 15, and it was so great to see two people so in love commit to support each other and spend the rest of their lives together. I was honored to host a rehearsal dinner for them, and pulled together an early Labor Day BBQ reminiscent of so many other backyard hangouts. We enjoyed a simple but delicious menu, enjoyed hanging out with old friends, played lots of ladder ball, made ornaments for their first Christmas tree (leave it to Momma K to always be creative!), and enjoyed a bonfire and ‘smores. It was relaxed and a great way to laugh and get out nervous energy the night before the big day!
IMG_4345
IMG_4350
IMG_4344
The menu was simple, and focused on what I knew to be some of Amanda’s favorite foods. We set out tortilla chips with salsa and guacamole to tide everyone’s hunger when they first arrived from the rehearsal. I mentioned this to the guests once already, but I would be nothing without my mother! We slaved away together cooking and setting up the backyard all morning, and she kept working while I snuck away to the rehearsal. By the time I got back, the backyard was transformed and the dishes were set up and waiting to be filled with chips and guac!
IMG_4339
IMG_4336
IMG_4348
For dinner, we enjoyed classic BBQ food: cheeseburgers (a special Portobello burger for me!), BBQ chicken, grilled veggies, pasta salad, and potato salad.
IMG_4333
The grilled veggies are so simple: we mixed red, yellow and orange bell pepper strips with Vidalia onion rings, baby bella mushroom slices, zucchini and yellow squash. Marinated in a bit of canola oil and season salt, we cooked these ahead of time and heated the tin in the oven when the guests arrived!
IMG_4331
IMG_4321
The potato salad is also a repeat recipe, an original mayo-less salad I made at the start of the summer for a Memorial Day BBQ. I sliced the potatoes into rounds before cooking them this time to avoid scalded fingers, and it worked out perfectly!
IMG_4340
The pasta salad is also a modification from another of my recipes. Instead of processing the sun dried tomatoes to make a sauce, I just sliced them thinly. I mixed them with some of the packing oil and fresh olive oil, some basil and combined it all with tortellini and steamed broccoli. Just as good as the original recipe, but more BBQ friendly since it can be made ahead of time and served cold.
IMG_4352
For dessert, we enjoyed fruit salad and homemade whipped cream. To make things a little more special, I carved the watermelon into a fruit basket (click here for a how to!), and used a melon baller to scoop out the watermelon and canteloupe so all of the fruit would be round. I even served the whipped cream in the melon halves for fun! Definitely a hit, but not as big of a hit as the bonfire and ‘smores!
IMG_4355
I show my love for people by cooking, hosting, and ensuring that everyone has a good time. I know I had a good time, both at the rehearsal and at the wedding! I love these two so much, and can’t wait to share more with you tomorrow!

Entry filed under: Recipes, Roamings. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Summer No ‘Smore The Wonderful Wedding

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide  |  September 7, 2011 at 8:23 am

    Looks like a great time and great food. Love that potato salad.

    Reply
  • 2. Karen  |  September 7, 2011 at 8:36 am

    Sounds like a great time was had by all, especially with all that good food.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Get recipes directly to your inbox as soon as they are posted

Join 217 other followers

Memberships


