A Month In Review

August 31, 2011 at 7:00 am 6 comments

A month is a funny thing. It seems like so long ago that it was August 1 and I was still on vacation in NJ. And yet it seems impossible that I haven’t been a 2nd year medical student forever. Time is funny that way: days are long but months are short. In order to stay sane in medical school, I have found that it is important for me to look back and appreciate the small things. Sure, I may spend most hours of a day in class or hunched over a desk studying. That is very tedious and mundane, and it is easy to fall into thinking that your life is boring and uneventful. However, if I look back over the month, I realize just how many things I have done, how many friends I have gotten to visit, and how much fun I really have had. I may no longer be on vacation, but I am still making time for something I enjoy each day!

Some highlights from August…

IMG_4193
I participated in the NYC Triathlon. My third race and first triathlon, my only goal was to finish! That I did and I have the medal to prove it!

I started my second year of medical school, and although the daily grind is draining, I am still excited for the year ahead. School moves at a quick enough pace that I have even already taken my first exam of the year!

I was Freshly Pressed! I love writing posts, and am so excited that this one got highlighted! My time in Sarajevo was unique and special, and I am glad that I got to share the beauty and recovery that is occurring there in the midst of most negative media coverage.

I wrote my 100th post! It feels like just yesterday that I started my blog, but really it has been almost 4 months! I have so enjoyed cooking and writing, and love feedback on recipe ideas and new things to try!

apron
I got my very first apron! I asked my cousin Lizzie if she could make me one at the beginning of the summer, not knowing how good of a seamstress she really is! Lets just say that she could put Anthropologie out of business. It is so cute, with my favorite colors and a cute vintage style, and an awesome big bow in the back!

I got to visit with my friend’s dad over ice cream, in Boston only once a year from Italy!

IMG_4275
I made homemade granola with my roommate! Our first attempt and not too shabby!

IMG_4284
I finally replaced my toaster oven, after catching my first one on fire last winter making these. Don’t worry – I put the fire out in the cooler that the toaster was sitting next too, but not before alarming all of my neighbors and completely filling my house with smoke. Whoops. I’ll be more careful with this one!

IMG_4286
I made Mama Pea’s Sunflower Seed Butter. And I became addicted. This stuff is seriously good.

IMG_4296 I got to visit Worcester! Two of my really good friends have recently been stolen by Western Mass, and I got to go visit one of them with a housewarming gift! Story behind the plant choices: in college, Azra had a small collection of mini cacti. Someone told her that it was bad feng shui and that she was ruining her luck, so we bought her bamboo to even out the energy. My roommate from college and I decided that her new home would be incomplete without these additions, so we decided to get them as a thank you gift and housewarming present!

This list doesn’t count the other things that make my days a little less tedious: coffee breaks and meals with friends, my weekly community group Bible study, and random deep conversations with my roommate. I am so thankful for all of the people who keep me sane in life!

Question: What was your August highlight?

Entry filed under: Ramblings, Random. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

Life Lessons from Sergio Cooking in Croatia

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide  |  August 31, 2011 at 2:50 pm

    Congrats on 100! You had such a great August. Here’s to an equally fun September.

    Reply
  • 3. EmandM  |  August 31, 2011 at 9:18 pm

    umm don’t know how you this was just ONE month =D

    Reply
    • 4. homemadeadventure  |  September 1, 2011 at 10:36 am

      Haha one fun thing a day x 31 days = Lots of fun things! ;)

      Reply
  • 5. Summer Recap « little sacred space  |  September 2, 2011 at 10:43 pm

    […] fellow blogger I read recently did a recap on her month of August, which inspired me (before we get too deep into September!) to reflect on some of the highlights of […]

    Reply
  • 6. Homemade Peanut Butter « homemadeadventure  |  September 13, 2011 at 8:09 am

    […] do you do when Costco stops selling natural peanut butter? You buy bulk peanuts and make your own! Nut and seed butters are really easy to make on your own, with really great results. All that is needed – a […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Get recipes directly to your inbox as soon as they are posted

Join 217 other followers

Memberships


