The Case of the Missing Veggie Peeler

August 26, 2011 at 7:00 am 2 comments

Over the weekend, I received some beautiful tomatoes and cucumbers from my friend Azra’s mom. I was too sick to attend their family BBQ with little ones running around, but, as I have said before about Bosnian moms, she needed to make sure that I still was well-fed from afar. Her garden must be incredible, based on what I received! The tomatoes were huge, and the cucumbers were perfect (too big and they get bitter). What else would you do with a Bosnian’s gift other than make a tomato and cucumber salad?

IMG_4244

Does that picture make anyone else want to sing silly songs with Larry? Veggie tales anyone? I’m the only one? K, just checking!

I was so excited to be back in the kitchen – I find myself there so much less than over the summer since I’m now only cooking for one! I chopped up my tomatoes, and then started prepping my cukes… only the veggie peeler was no where in sight! I searched through the silverware drawer, and then the cooking utensil drawer, both to no avail. I even looked through the dish rack (confession: without putting away the dishes…) and had no luck! Did the peeler sprout legs and walk away from me over the summer? I gave up and attempted to peel the largest of the cucumbers with a knife. I lost a lot of good cucumber flesh that way, and quickly became frustrated. For the next two, I gave up. I decided that the cucumber skins were safe enough, and so I just halved them with the skins on!

I did not stick to the traditional route for this salad, which is literally just a mix of these veggies, but decided to add a little of my own flare. I added some chickpeas for protein, a little onion, garlic, Balsamic vinegar, basil and olive oil for flavor. The result: amazing. Maybe I was starving for my morning run, or maybe it was exactly what my body was craving, but this was the best salad I have ever eaten. Of course, the fresh mozzarella I topped mine with didn’t hurt! Even better, the flavors will come together even more as it sits in my fridge and waits to be used as leftovers. Maybe I will add a bit of pasta or cous cous to it next time to avoid leftover boredom

And for the end to the tale of the missing veggie peeler… I went back later that afternoon to unload the drying rack so I could wash my dishes from cooking. As I was putting away the utensils, the peeler magically appeared in my hands! Hadn’t I looked there already? Guess the lesson is learned about emptying the drying rack!

Question: What is something you have misplaced lately? Did you find it? If so, how?

IMG_4246

Mediterranean Summer Salad

makes 4 servings

1 can chickpeas, well rinsed

3-4 tomatoes, cut in bite-size pieces

2-3 cucumbers, cut into half moons

1/2 onion, chopped

2-3 cloves garlic, minced

4 tbsp balsamic vinegar

3 tbsp olive oil

2 tbsp freshly chopped basil

salt and pepper to taste

Wash the vegetables thoroughly, choosing numbers based on the size of your produce. Chop the tomatoes with a sharp knife into bite sized pieces and put aside in a bowl. Cut the cucumbers, either peeled or unpeeled, into rounds, and then in half again into half moons. Finely chop the onion and garlic, and add to the vegetable bowl. Drizzle with Balsamic vinegar and olive oil and allow to sit. Rinse the chickpeas thoroughly, and add to the vegetable mixture. Top with freshly chopped basil and season to taste with salt and pepper. Serve cold as is, or mixed with cheese, pasta, cous cous, or on top of lettuce.

Entry filed under: Recipes. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Wash it all Down with a Beer Confessions of a Healthy Food Blogger

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. EmandM  |  August 26, 2011 at 11:35 am

    Looks delicious!! I always lose things in the kitchen too…

    Reply
  • 2. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide  |  August 26, 2011 at 11:29 pm

    Nice salad. I never lose anything. OK, so sometimes I misplace things!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Get recipes directly to your inbox as soon as they are posted

Join 217 other followers

Memberships


