Overnight Oats

August 22, 2011 at 7:00 am 5 comments

If I had it my way, I would make an all out breakfast everyday. I love pancakes, waffles, french toast, frittatas – I am a serious breakfast fiend. Unfortunately, early weekday classes leave no time for elaborate morning preparations. I wish there was a solution to my desire for a healthy, exciting breakfast every morning… oh wait, there is! I have been a huge fan of Kath’s overnight oats all summer, loving the endless variation of toppings and preparations you can include to keep things interesting. They take only a minute or two to put together the night before, take absolutely no time in the morning (especially if you eat it straight out of the jar!) and are a lot lower in sugar and higher in fiber (not to mention cheaper) than most prepared cereals. Cold oatmeal sound weird to you? It freaked me out at first too, but give it a try. It is really a refreshing change from hot oats on a summer morning.

IMG_4243

Check out Kath Eats Real Food to see her endless variety of oatmeal toppings and her basic outline for overnight oats. My recent creations have been pretty tasty too, and help keep me full through long mornings of class and studying. I love peanut butter and banana together, and the peach was great with the creamy, cold oats. Chia seeds, which keep appearing in my in overnight oats, take on the texture of mini tapioca balls (like you would find in bubble tea) when they are soaked, which I totally love! They are definitely optional, or could be substituted with ground flax seed for the same omega-3/fiber benefits. My ultimate goal is to make mocha overnight oats, but can’t seem to get the chocolate and coffee ratios right… the experiment will continue. Leave it to a medical student to try to infuse their breakfast with coffee! For any of my fellow stressed out med students, check out this NY Times article that a friend sent my way. He and I both found it inspiration to keep studying for another day :)

Question: What are your favorite oatmeal toppings?

IMG_4223

Peanut Butter Banana Overnight Oats

1 tbsp peanut butter
1 tbsp chia seeds
1/3 cup oats
1 cup water (or 1/2 cup water and 1/2 cup milk)
1/2 banana

Combine all ingredients, except banana, in a jar. Let soak in the fridge overnight. In the morning, add half a slice banana.

IMG_4241

Perfect Peach Overnight Oats

1 tbsp vanilla
1 tbsp chia seeds
1/3 cup oats
2/3 cup water (or 1/2 cup water and 1/2 cup milk)
3 tbsp vanilla yogurt
1 peach
sprinkle of cinnamon
2 tbsp granola

Combine the vanilla, chia seeds, oats, and water in a jar overnight. In the morning, mix in the yogurt. Top with the sliced peach, cinnamon and granola clusters.

Entry filed under: Ramblings, Recipes. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , .

A Roommate Inspired Dinner Quality Ingredients

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide  |  August 22, 2011 at 10:18 am

    Your pictures are wonderful!

    Reply
  • 2. jenlenew  |  August 22, 2011 at 1:45 pm

    Thanks! I’m learning how/where to find natural sunlight in my apartment :) It really makes a difference!

    Reply
  • 3. No-Bake Cookies « homemadeadventure  |  August 24, 2011 at 7:35 am

    […] endless loaves of banana bread!) There are plenty of other ways to use ‘em up: smoothies, oatmeal, pancakes, monkey bites, and introducing no-bake […]

    Reply
  • 4. A Month In Review « homemadeadventure  |  August 31, 2011 at 7:04 am

    […] wrote my 100th post! It feels like just yesterday that I started my blog, but really it has been almost 4 months! I […]

    Reply
  • 5. How to Win the Weight Loss Battle « homemadeadventure  |  September 5, 2011 at 7:53 am

    […] first thing in the morning. Recently, I have been adding a tablespoonful of peanut butter to my oatmeal, and that really makes a difference in staying full until my lunch break. This breakfast burrito is […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Get recipes directly to your inbox as soon as they are posted

Join 217 other followers

Memberships


