Where Coffee Takes More Time Than Lunch

August 18, 2011 at 8:00 am 124 comments

How does one have enough hours in a day to enjoy both leisurely meals and coffee? In America, we decide not to choose and rush through both. In Bosnia, however, day time meals tend to be slightly more rushed to ensure a lengthy coffee break in the afternoon. I have shared a little bit about my experience with Bosnian coffee and the way Bosnians celebrate with special meals, so now here is a glimpse into the daily food life in Sarajevo.

IMG_3152

Fast food is definitely not an American concept. Just watch Anthony Bourdain’s No Reservations and you’ll see that fast, street food is ubiquitous. What is unique is that fast food actually tastes good in other countries, and is something people are proud of! A common sight on the streets of Sarajevo is a vendor selling roasted corn, leading to funny glimpses of people walking down the street just nibbling off the cob. Ice cream stands are everywhere, and they sure are marketed well! The pans are filled to the brim with volumes of fluffy flavors, and night they are back-lit so that they really stand out.

IMG_3156

Not hard to sell ice cream on a hot day in the first place, but these were truly irresistible. The rest of the stands are filled with national favorites like cevapi, pita, and hamburger (not just any hamburger, but a pressed sandwich closer to the size of your face than your hand. My friend’s theory as to why the first McDonald’s being built in Sarajevo will be unpopular – the burgers are too small!). These are eaten quickly or taken to go, and for really cheap! Each meal on the street cost $5 – to feed three of us!

IMG_3094

Ćevapi is actually the name of the meat served in the dish, but also refers to the platter that you order. They are like sausage links, but are made of ground beef and lamb, since most Bosnians are Muslim and there are no pork products to be found anywhere in Sarajevo (as far as I could tell). They come stuffed inside a giant piece of bread called somun, almost like pita since it forms a pocket but much fluffier and softer. This is served with raw chopped onion on the side, which sounds intense but actually really complements the sweet flavors of the meat and softness of the bread well. Alongside, it is customary to have a plain yogurt drink, which tastes like yogurt but is much thinner in consistency. That is nice to dampen any spice and onion flavor left on your tongue!

IMG_3103

Pita is the general term for the pies that are found in most cafes and bakeries. They are made of layers of phyllo dough, stuffed with different fillings, and then rolled. Homemade versions lead to personal sized rolls, but the bakery makes gigantic pita that they then cut and serve. Pita filled with ground beef is called burek; with spinach and cheese, zeljanica; and with potato, krompiruša. They are greasy, but delicious and packed with flavor. We got a piece of each to try on our picnic to the Vrelo Bosne, the beautiful springs at the start of the River Bosna. I think the spinach and cheese was my favorite, but they were all so good it was hard to choose! The water at Vrelo Bosne is ice cold and crystal clear, and the park is naturally divided into perfect picnic spots by all of these little springs. A nice change of scenery from the usual people watching along busy streets in Sarajevo!

IMG_3105

Question: How do you like the new look for my blog? 

Entry filed under: Roamings. Tags: , , , , .

A Day Trip to Dresden Summer Bean Salad

124 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide  |  August 18, 2011 at 9:08 am

    I like the new layout of the blog. Great post too. Although, sometimes in Italy on our honeymoon the meals were so leisurely we almost fell asleep.

    Reply
    • 2. maddycruise  |  August 18, 2011 at 11:23 pm

      I totally agree with you. I lived in Italy for 11yrs.. Italians love talking. And they are custom to take there time eating. :)

      Reply
  • 3. The Simple Life of a Country Man's Wife  |  August 18, 2011 at 11:15 am

    hm, I like the coffee break idea. It actually isn’t uncommon here in the farming world. Food looks good, as does your blog.

    Reply
    • 4. jenlenew  |  August 18, 2011 at 5:03 pm

      thanks, love your pictures too!

      Reply
  • 5. Mikalee Byerman  |  August 18, 2011 at 11:28 am

    Beautiful scenery…and it looks like incredibly cool food! Thank you for sharing, and congrats on being Freshly Pressed.

    :)

    Reply
    • 6. jenlenew  |  August 18, 2011 at 2:41 pm

      thanks! glad you could see some of beautiful sarajevo :)

      Reply
    • 7. y8  |  August 22, 2011 at 11:51 am

      I agree with you, like it

      Reply
  • 8. stephen  |  August 18, 2011 at 11:29 am

    stop it, you’re making me hungry! as a boy, i spent a few months in switzerland, and loved the fact that every one went home from school (4th grade for me) for lunch. nowadays kids have to wolf down whatever mom (or dad) had time to throw into a paper bag in the morning. i love slow food!

    Reply
    • 9. jenlenew  |  August 18, 2011 at 2:42 pm

      I wish we had lunch breaks like that! In Italy, everyone totally took their time for lunch and I really loved that!

      Reply
  • 10. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide  |  August 18, 2011 at 11:31 am

    Oh wow, you’re freshly pressed congrats!

    Reply
  • 12. shoes  |  August 18, 2011 at 11:36 am

    Wow! If fast food in America looked like that (and tasted like I imagine it tastes), I would eat it everyday instead on once or twice a year on a random road trip. And I love the idea of a leisurely coffee break. Great post and congrads on being freshly pressed!

    Reply
    • 13. jenlenew  |  August 18, 2011 at 2:42 pm

      It was really good, even better than it looked :) Thanks!

      Reply
  • 14. EmandM  |  August 18, 2011 at 11:38 am

    Love the new look! =)

    Reply
    • 15. jenlenew  |  August 18, 2011 at 2:45 pm

      thanks melody :) your latest cookies have inspired me to bake this afternoon!

      Reply
  • 16. Squirrel Removal Toronto  |  August 18, 2011 at 11:43 am

    Ice cream~~ice cream…..I love it.

    Reply
  • 17. Cathy  |  August 18, 2011 at 11:47 am

    How I wish street foods here in the Philippines will also have that good reputation in terms of quality. You just made me hungry by the way :)

    Reply
    • 18. jenlenew  |  August 18, 2011 at 2:45 pm

      I am sure it is better than our fast food in America ;)

      Reply
    • 19. maddycruise  |  August 18, 2011 at 11:25 pm

      I should say, street foods in the Philippines is totally yummy!!! And I totally missed it!!!!!

      Reply
  • 20. k8edid  |  August 18, 2011 at 12:00 pm

    Leisurely coffee breaks? What a novel idea. Thanks for sharing – the food looks divine. Congrats on being Freshly Pressed.

    Reply
    • 21. jenlenew  |  August 18, 2011 at 2:50 pm

      I know, right? ;) Thanks!

      Reply
  • 22. Lakia Gordon  |  August 18, 2011 at 12:05 pm

    We need siestas and coffee breaks over here in the US.

    Reply
    • 23. jenlenew  |  August 18, 2011 at 2:51 pm

      I completely agree! My afternoon classes are killing me… can’t stay awake, even with coffee!

      Reply
  • 24. CoreyAMorgan  |  August 18, 2011 at 12:28 pm

    I’m working hard to bring back the afternoon coffee/tea. Everyone needs it! Great pictures of an awesome adventure. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply
  • 25. Lesley  |  August 18, 2011 at 12:40 pm

    Found you through tags. What a gorgeous way to spend an afternoon! Those photos look amazing!

    Reply
    • 26. jenlenew  |  August 18, 2011 at 2:52 pm

      I told my friend that I would take a picnic lunch and a book to Vrelo Bosne every summer afternoon if I lived in Sarajevo, it was gorgeous!

      Reply
  • 27. Amanda (Adele) Delsohn  |  August 18, 2011 at 12:46 pm

    I just LOVE your blog and all your posts! So glad to see you on Freshly Pressed! You deserve it :) Your photos/trips look amazing!

    Reply
    • 28. jenlenew  |  August 18, 2011 at 2:53 pm

      thanks so much! love seeing your travel pics as well :)

      Reply
  • 29. calminthechaotic  |  August 18, 2011 at 12:46 pm

    Coffee breaks and meet-ups are always a delight. I wonder if we would take them for granted if we had them everyday. I love all the new culinary discoveries you’ve written about here. It reminds me of when I went to Italy and came across various local delicacies that I’d never heard of before!

    Reply
    • 30. jenlenew  |  August 18, 2011 at 4:32 pm

      Good thought… I wonder that about if I would take beautiful scenery for granted too! Those coffees below sound so good to try too, def a coffee lover :)

      Reply
  • 31. calminthechaotic  |  August 18, 2011 at 12:52 pm

    And I also tried some delicious coffees – the Mariachino and the Viennesse (apologies to any Italians if I’ve misspelt these!) You should try them if you’re a coffee-lover and ever get a chance :-)

    Reply
  • 32. ohtams  |  August 18, 2011 at 12:59 pm

    I was born in Tuzla and got the chance to go back and visit Bosnia for the first time in six years this summer. It was a life changing experience and I loved how leisurely they do everything… especially drink coffee! It’s so nice to see Sarajevo represented in a touristic light because it is such a beautiful city despite all the sad things that have happened to the country. Congrats on being FPed!

    Reply
    • 33. jenlenew  |  August 18, 2011 at 4:35 pm

      My friend who I was traveling with was born in Tuzla! I would love to get a chance to visit there, and Mostar, too. I am so glad you got a chance to go back again! Sarajevo is definitely underrated in the tourist category – so many beautiful and historic sites, and I love the people and the culture!

      Reply
  • 34. mamadestroy  |  August 18, 2011 at 1:15 pm

    Mmmm. It never occurred to me that I would add Bosnia to my list of eating destinations. (I’m going to have so much traveling to do once I win the lottery!) Thanks for opening my eyes to a yummy new dream.

    Reply
  • 35. Food, Flowers, Herbs and Life!  |  August 18, 2011 at 1:29 pm

    Congratulations on being freshly pressed! Enjoyed your blog! Too bad we can’t have fast food that tastes good – but as you show, it is possible!

    Reply
  • 36. Sarah521A  |  August 18, 2011 at 1:43 pm

    Congratulations for being featured on Freshly Pressed.

    Your blog is a breath of fresh air :)

    Reply
    • 37. jenlenew  |  August 18, 2011 at 4:35 pm

      Thanks so much!

      Reply
  • 38. sarahnsh  |  August 18, 2011 at 2:01 pm

    I love the pictures you have, especially of the ice cream, that looks delicious! And the found sounds delish too, I like that they serve the onions on the side with the one pita sounding dish because I’d just go for the meat and pastry by itself.

    Reply
    • 39. jenlenew  |  August 18, 2011 at 4:39 pm

      My friends made fun of me for literally gasping at every ice cream stand, but they were all so beautiful!

      Reply
  • 40. The Awkward List  |  August 18, 2011 at 2:06 pm

    Lovin the pictures!!

    Congrats!

    Reply
    • 41. jenlenew  |  August 18, 2011 at 4:39 pm

      easy to have good pictures from such a beautiful place! thanks :)

      Reply
  • 42. livinglearningeating  |  August 18, 2011 at 2:22 pm

    Yum, gelato! I have to go out for some soon, now that I’m in Germany. :) Kaffee & Kuchen was delightful today…my grandmother made this absolutely delightful plum crumble cake and I also enjoyed some leftover poppy cake from the baker. With icing :)

    Reply
    • 43. jenlenew  |  August 18, 2011 at 4:38 pm

      Those sound so good! I got to try some apple crumble while I was in Dresden, but probably not nearly as good as your Grandma’s homemade crumble!

      Reply
  • 44. C.B. Wentworth  |  August 18, 2011 at 2:40 pm

    Wonderfully written! I can practically taste all that wonderful food!

    I love Europe for how much time they take to enjoy a meal . . . lunch is an event rather than a quick bit on the go. Dinner is a time to socialize and enjoy the company of others rather than a quick zap of the microwave. :-)

    Reply
    • 45. jenlenew  |  August 18, 2011 at 4:40 pm

      definitely a lesson about how to enjoy food there :)

      Reply
  • 46. irena  |  August 18, 2011 at 2:51 pm

    Very detailed and picturesque description of Bosnian food…cevapcici is one of my favourite foods. congrats on freshly pressed!

    Reply
  • 47. Carola  |  August 18, 2011 at 2:53 pm

    Hi, this is my first time in here and I really like your writing. You are right about fast food tasting good in other countries. I am originally from Dominican Republic, where street food is always yummy. Nice blog.

    Reply
    • 48. jenlenew  |  August 18, 2011 at 4:41 pm

      I got to spend two weeks in the DR during college and absolutely loved it! I’ll still go to the Caribbean market here sometimes to pick up plantains :) Thanks for reading!

      Reply
  • 49. tmastgrave  |  August 18, 2011 at 3:11 pm

    …You’re post is making me hungry.

    Reply
    • 50. jenlenew  |  August 18, 2011 at 4:42 pm

      Thanks for the compliment :)

      Reply
  • 51. ceciliag  |  August 18, 2011 at 4:13 pm

    I want the pita, and the park? c

    Reply
  • 52. shil  |  August 18, 2011 at 4:22 pm

    The food looks yummy and a very good post. The whole post seems like an episode of Samantha Brown(On the Travel Channel). :)

    Reply
    • 53. jenlenew  |  August 18, 2011 at 4:43 pm

      My grandparent’s favorite show! Thanks :)

      Reply
  • 54. fornormalstepfathers  |  August 18, 2011 at 4:30 pm

    The pre-occupation with the fast food is truly an American trait (I realize it is not true for each and every American, thank you :-)). I can’t speak for every country, but every country I have ever been to (13) and every foreigner I have ever talked too (too many to count :-)) take their sweet time to enjoy their food.Preparation is part of the process and is enjoyed as well.
    Coffee deserves to be enjoyed, right?

    Reply
    • 55. jenlenew  |  August 18, 2011 at 4:44 pm

      Coffee deserves to be highlighted, even!

      Reply
  • 56. Eva McCane  |  August 18, 2011 at 4:37 pm

    looks soooo good! i’m starving now! and inspired to find some tasty carb filled treat ASAP. thanks for sharing.

    Reply
    • 57. jenlenew  |  August 18, 2011 at 4:45 pm

      thanks! hope you find something delicious :)

      Reply
  • 58. bercton  |  August 18, 2011 at 4:45 pm

    Delicious!

    Reply
  • 59. Thomas  |  August 18, 2011 at 5:17 pm

    Love the pics of the pita.

    Reply
  • 60. daitexas  |  August 18, 2011 at 5:33 pm

    Yum! Bosnia is now on the wish list.

    Reply
    • 61. jenlenew  |  August 18, 2011 at 6:31 pm

      Definitely go if you get the chance! So much hidden beauty

      Reply
  • 62. ofbeauty  |  August 18, 2011 at 5:34 pm

    Love that you’ve posted a picture of the Spring of Bosna, the river Bosna (Bosnia) was named after!: ) Hope you have time to check out the mountains, rivers and lakes, stecak tombstones from the 12th century a.d. etc etc.. Bosnia’s nature and culture is so rich, the food is just there to ease you into it ; ))
    Thanks for sharing!
    Elvira

    Reply
    • 63. jenlenew  |  August 18, 2011 at 6:32 pm

      We didn’t get to travel much outside of Sarajevo, but I did see some of the gorgeous countryside on our train ride to Croatia. I would love to go back and see Tuzla and Mostar eventually!

      Reply
  • 64. creeping  |  August 18, 2011 at 5:41 pm

    Thank Bill Clinton and Wesley Clark for the disappearance of pork in Bosnia.

    Another great culture wiped out by sharia and Islam.

    Reply
    • 65. jenlenew  |  August 18, 2011 at 6:33 pm

      I think there are more people to blame than them, but I am deeply grieved by the atrocities that have occurred there. The focus of my post was to be positive about Sarajevo moving forward, since so much media attention is given to the destruction of the war.

      Reply
  • 66. Re-Inventing Vintage  |  August 18, 2011 at 6:15 pm

    I’m new to your blog, so can’t compare, but do love the clean, fresh presentation of your blog.

    And I think it should be a sin to rush through a good cup of coffee! Thanks for posting. :)

    Reply
    • 67. jenlenew  |  August 18, 2011 at 6:34 pm

      thanks for visiting! hope you enjoyed :)

      Reply
  • 68. Nicole  |  August 18, 2011 at 6:46 pm

    Nice post. All of the pictures of food are making me hungry!

    Reply
  • 69. 48colorrainbow  |  August 18, 2011 at 7:13 pm

    I don’t think I have seen kiwi ice cream anywhere before.

    Reply
    • 70. jenlenew  |  August 18, 2011 at 10:32 pm

      There were so many new and interesting flavors to try! I got to have rosehip ice cream in Croatia that was really good :)

      Reply
  • 71. Patricia DeWit  |  August 18, 2011 at 8:42 pm

    I was immediately pulled in by your title when I saw it on today’s FP page. How nice to be in a place where take-out coffee is unheard of, and sandwiches are as big as your face! Well done on the FP!

    Reply
    • 72. jenlenew  |  August 18, 2011 at 10:33 pm

      We actually saw one place that was marketing to-go coffee for 50% off, and you still never saw anyone carrying out a cup! Thanks :)

      Reply
  • 73. zorazoftig  |  August 18, 2011 at 9:00 pm

    I love your pictures. It’s always nice to get away into other cultures and gain perspective on our own. Lovely post.

    Reply
  • 74. F.  |  August 18, 2011 at 9:10 pm

    Loved reading this.
    Your descriptions made my mouth water — and I am all for long coffee breaks.

    Reply
  • 75. irisofthewayfarer  |  August 18, 2011 at 9:19 pm

    Ah yes, my mantra here in the US has always been ” people stop and smell the roses” – There is a word in the German language “Gemuetlichkeit”. I don’t think it can be translated into English.

    Americans do not know how to enjoy the moment and linger. Friendships are deepend over meals, over coffee.

    Thank you for the post.

    Reply
    • 76. jenlenew  |  August 18, 2011 at 10:33 pm

      I totally agree!

      Reply
  • 77. Crusher Blog  |  August 18, 2011 at 9:25 pm

    Now I just want to eat the food you display ! look so dilicious

    Reply
  • 78. College & Other Pesky Things  |  August 18, 2011 at 9:25 pm

    Wow, all of this looks delicious! I would love to visit someday.

    Reply
  • 79. Confessions of a Super Virgin  |  August 18, 2011 at 9:30 pm

    That’s so cool! I love your photos! I love that idea of long coffee breaks too, I’m always in such a rush to get back to work…

    Reply
  • 80. worldbetweenthelines  |  August 18, 2011 at 10:38 pm

    Completely new to Bosnia it gave me a very vivid picture of the place and people….thanks ….the blog was like making a short trip to the place itself :)

    Reply
  • 81. chaks  |  August 18, 2011 at 10:43 pm

    looks lovely! :) this made me hungry!

    Reply
  • 82. chaks  |  August 18, 2011 at 10:45 pm

    maybe you want to checkout these wonderful blogs i also found!

    dontaskmetosmile.wordpress.com
    youknowicanseeyou.wordpress.com
    chuvaness.com

    Reply
  • 83. People Need to Learn  |  August 18, 2011 at 11:12 pm

    My mind won’t let me sit back and take a simply break like that.

    American life does have too much going on. Feh.

    Reply
  • 84. Jeannie  |  August 19, 2011 at 12:06 am

    My In-laws are Bosnian and it was great relating to ‘cevapi’ and pita’ and yes, the long coffee breaks! :) Love the way my Mother-n-Law serves coffee – it’s always great pita, coffee and conversation. Ciao.

    Reply
  • 85. culinarystorm  |  August 19, 2011 at 12:08 am

    hmmm..all that food looks so good!
    Making me hungry first thing in the morning

    Reply
  • 86. timetosetsale  |  August 19, 2011 at 1:50 am

    Hi! I traveled to Prishtina in Kosovo last summer and even though the two cultures would rather exist in separate countries, they certainly like the same foods!!

    Btw, I tried Burek too and it’s not grease, just lots of butter :)

    Reply
    • 87. jenlenew  |  August 19, 2011 at 10:12 am

      Haha yes thats true, butter makes it better :) My friend’s mom who taught me to make it uses a mixture of butter and oil, and she translates it to grease

      Reply
  • 88. T.S. JARMUSZ  |  August 19, 2011 at 2:12 am

    I spent some time in Boz in Army after the Balkan conflict. The food, especially the bread type items were delicious. Why is American bread so weak?

    Reply
  • 89. wordsfallfrommyeyes  |  August 19, 2011 at 4:13 am

    Makes me want to travel :)

    Reply
  • 90. bagnidilucca  |  August 19, 2011 at 4:51 am

    The food looks great. I haven’t been to Bosnia yet.

    Reply
  • 91. aerah08  |  August 19, 2011 at 5:19 am

    I really love coffee and pastries! :)

    Reply
  • 92. markymalarky747  |  August 19, 2011 at 5:30 am

    Fantastic, I have been to many countries in the world working for BA, but never though of going to Sarajevo. I will look into it. Thank you.

    Reply
  • 93. leadinglight  |  August 19, 2011 at 5:49 am

    Sarajevo looks really pretty! Especially that last photo. I do leisurely coffee breaks for lunch just to diet…haha.

    Reply
  • 94. whatsaysyou  |  August 19, 2011 at 5:54 am

    Beautiful layout and ah, the joys of coffee break!

    Reply
  • 95. herdailydigest  |  August 19, 2011 at 6:00 am

    i love the photos! (“,) thanks for sharing

    Reply
  • 96. Sasha  |  August 19, 2011 at 6:32 am

    A small correction. Most Bosnians are actually Christian. Croats and Serbs make up 51.4 % of the total population while Muslims make up 48%. Bosnian is a generic term referring to the people living in Bosnia including Croats, Serbs, and Bosniacs(Muslims).

    Reply
    • 97. jenlenew  |  August 19, 2011 at 10:14 am

      Yes, thats true, thanks for pointing that out. My understanding that most Bosniaks are concentrated in Sarajevo though since the war… Thanks for the correction

      Reply
  • 98. jukeymonkey50e  |  August 19, 2011 at 6:50 am

    Nice photos. I used to work with a guy from Bosnia, he would have the pitas with him during lunch

    Reply
  • 99. salepetrovic  |  August 19, 2011 at 7:06 am

    Just to say, “burek” can be filled just with cheese too, or sweet with apples… Bosnian, turkish or greek coffee are common throughout the Balkans, not only in Bosnia :) One more thing is that there is no significant difference between these types of coffee… In my family, for example, everybody (exept me) usualy drink greek coffe, but call it turkish… I prefer nescafé because I don’t like the lees at the bottom of cup… Also prefer pljeskavica rather than ćevapčići… :)

    Reply
    • 100. jenlenew  |  August 19, 2011 at 10:16 am

      We had the cheese for breakfast another day, and it was so good! I have heard that the coffees are all basically the same, and my roommate who I was traveling with loved that there was Nescafe everywhere! Didn’t get to try pljeskavica but saw them everywhere!

      Reply
  • 101. richannkur  |  August 19, 2011 at 7:49 am

    Nice..

    Reply
  • 102. pensivetams  |  August 19, 2011 at 7:53 am

    Amazing..Really makes me feel like travelling all the way!

    Reply
  • 103. caitpatch  |  August 19, 2011 at 8:05 am

    I really like the style in which you write and this makes me want to put my traveling shoes on!!

    Reply
  • 104. kellsbells1008  |  August 19, 2011 at 8:20 am

    This was wonderful! I always love learning about new countries, especially their FOOD.

    Reply
  • 105. juliacastorp  |  August 19, 2011 at 8:46 am

    thanks for sharing information

    Reply
  • 106. Tristan  |  August 19, 2011 at 9:57 am

    The pitas look divine. I never knew Sarajevo was so beautiful. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply
    • 107. jenlenew  |  August 22, 2011 at 1:43 pm

      I wanted to share a different side of such a great city :)

      Reply
  • 108. snawitz  |  August 19, 2011 at 1:20 pm

    I only eat lunch if I am at home around lunchtime
    But coffee is always a must for me
    Thanks for sharing

    Reply
  • 109. Hitting the Links « Grace Dependent  |  August 19, 2011 at 4:57 pm

    […] go a week without posting an entry about coffee. This post from Homemade Adventure explains how Bosnians enjoy their coffee leisurely. Some days it would be not to have to gulp and run. Enjoy! (excerpt, click through for […]

    Reply
  • 110. gaycarboys  |  August 21, 2011 at 10:43 am

    My mouth is watering:) Great pics, Thanks so much for sharing with us

    Reply
  • 111. pause  |  August 21, 2011 at 1:53 pm

    nice pictures
    http://rodposse.com/

    Reply
  • 112. meganmadill  |  August 21, 2011 at 8:52 pm

    Excellent post! I was drawn in by the title because here in Costa Rica, I’m astounded by the amount of coffee they seem to be able to drink. I’ve tweeted this to my dad since he’s moving to Sarajevo soon – looks like I may have to swing by sometime! Thanks for your tips on living somewhere slightly off the beaten track – they’re always the true gems.

    Megan
    x

    Reply
    • 113. jenlenew  |  August 22, 2011 at 1:44 pm

      That is exciting for your dad! Definitely visit if you have the chance, since a city is always better understood through the eyes of someone who is living there (especially one in which English is rarely spoken!)

      Reply
  • 114. timawa1904  |  August 22, 2011 at 2:31 am

    wow, after reading your blog, i find myself in the kitchen making my coffee too. :)

    Reply
  • 115. littleblogofinspirationals  |  August 22, 2011 at 9:42 am

    I am pretty sure that you have inspired me to go to Europe and explore the cultural cuisine that awaits. Unfortunately for now I have no money as am saving for my summer Asia trip, but those pictures are so gorgeous. Great post!

    Reply
    • 116. jenlenew  |  August 22, 2011 at 1:45 pm

      A trip to Asia sounds pretty cool too! I want to eventually make my way throughout some Southeast Asian countries as well :)

      Reply
  • 117. lindayoga  |  August 22, 2011 at 12:41 pm

    I love your photos!!
    Thanks for your wonderful post;)
    -Linda

    Reply
  • 118. trialsinfood  |  August 22, 2011 at 3:06 pm

    i agree. fast food in other countries can often be delicious, cheap and healthy. like street carts and hole in the wall dives in Thailand, where i’ve eaten the best tasting food. great post!

    Reply
  • 119. Suzan  |  August 22, 2011 at 10:44 pm

    Hello Jen,

    I’m a coffee enthusiast so got drawn to this post of yours. I love the scenic pics of Bosnia. I also read your “about” page. I like your take on balancing beliefs vs being a good guest! Congrats on being featured in Freshly pressed!

    Reply
  • 120. thiet ke noi that dep  |  August 23, 2011 at 10:07 pm

    The new style of your blog is nice, i like it and the post is good too. I love the last photos, it’s so natural.

    Reply
  • 121. A Month In Review « homemadeadventure  |  August 31, 2011 at 7:04 am

    […] was Freshly Pressed! I love writing posts, and am so excited that this one got highlighted! My time in Sarajevo was […]

    Reply
  • 122. realanonymousgirl2011  |  September 6, 2011 at 10:11 pm

    Mmmm sounds tasty! Now I want some icecream!

    Reply
  • 123. epic soccer training review  |  July 30, 2013 at 3:19 pm

    I like the valuable information you provide for your articles.
    I’ll bookmark your weblog and check once more here frequently. I am relatively certain I’ll be told
    lots of new stuff proper right here! Best of luck for the
    next!

    Reply
  • 124. potty training girls age 2  |  August 30, 2014 at 9:15 pm

    Some behaviors of dog are good when they are puppies but the same behavior can be dangerous and unacceptable
    when they grow up. Or collect the tear strips in a jar or pouch for a larger prize.

    If the space permits, take your dog off the leash and play with
    him.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Get recipes directly to your inbox as soon as they are posted

Join 217 other followers

Memberships


