Green Goddess

August 16, 2011 at 8:00 am 3 comments

There is nothing I love more than watching someone fall in love with a healthier lifestyle. It only takes a few small changes that eventually add up into a lot of healthy habits! This recipe is what pushed my little sister over the edge to be an adventurous, veggie-cooking college student. She has found her own veggie delivery program in Philly, and says that she is excited to try new recipes and new foods as she begins to cook for herself this year! I hope that she finds inspiration from what I make with my box, as well as from her own amazing culinary creativity.

IMG_4173

I have seen recipes for all types of green goddess dressings popping up everywhere, whether they are low-fat, vegan, gluten-free… you name it! I had some leftover cashew cream from my pasta sauce, and decided to try my own hand at it! It is a little more inspired by the flavors in pesto than in a traditional green goddess dressing, but is absolutely delicious in its own right. Plus, I got to try out my new Whole Foods purchase – nutritional yeast! This strange, flaky ingredient is super good for you – rich in B vitamins and packed with protein. It has an interesting, almost cheesey flavor, making it a perfect addition to dressings and pasta sauces! If you are not so adventurous, you can definitely try substituting a bit of grated cheese in the dressing, or just leave it out and add a bit more salt! I really like the flavor that it adds in recipes, but am not at a point to use it sprinkled over pasta. A little to earthy for me…

Try this recipe. It is really, really good. My sister exclaimed, “I just want to stick my face in it!” She had me make extra before I left, and is dreaming up ways to use it. We dipped some roasted broccoli in it, but she thinks it would make a great chip dip, or could even be a great pasta sauce.

Question: What do you think it would go well with?

IMG_4171

Green Goddess Dip

1/3 cup basil

1/3 cup parsley

1/2 cup cashew cream

1/2 tsp nutritional yeast

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp garlic powder

Chop basil and parsley finely in a food processor. Add the remaining ingredients and combine until smooth. Adjust seasoning to taste.

Entry filed under: Recipes. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , .

Whole Foods Redemption A Day Trip to Dresden

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide  |  August 16, 2011 at 11:37 am

    That would be soooo good on Fritos. Ha, I’m sorry I couldn’t resist. Pita or pita chips.

    Reply
    • 2. jenlenew  |  August 16, 2011 at 4:20 pm

      Haha! Jut not too many Fritos ;) My sister’s vote was Scoops

      Reply
  • 3. In Defense of Snacks « homemadeadventure  |  August 20, 2011 at 9:05 am

    […] recent purchase of nutritional yeast, I got a little more creative and made my own cheese popcorn! (Remember when I said I wasn’t at the point of being able to just sprinkle it on something? I guess my […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Get recipes directly to your inbox as soon as they are posted

Join 217 other followers

Memberships


