Fantastic French Toast

August 3, 2011 at 7:30 am 8 comments

IMG_4132

I have had a lot of French toast failures lately. When my sister came to Boston in May, I attempted a dairy-free French toast that flopped. It was too soggy; edible but not pretty. So I tried again on vacation, but we had no vanilla or cinnamon. Trying to be creative, I used cinnamon apple sauce, vanilla yogurt, and egg. Too bad the “wheat” bread couldn’t stand up to such a heavy mixture. The flavor was incredible, but it definitely needs a fair attempt with a sturdier bread (maybe challah?)

IMG_4136

During my last week at home, I finally had my French toast day. I was inspired by a recipe over at Rufus’ Food Guide, and by a giant bowl of the prettiest nectarines I have ever seen on my mom’s kitchen island. We had a leftover whipped cream from the bridal shower and a small French baguette that was just begging to be used for breakfast, so it looked like things finally fell into place for perfect French toast! Not the healthiest of mornings, but my hour and a half bike ride later makes up for it, right? ;) My last week off means a lot of leisurely (read: not so healthy) breakfasts enjoyed with a lot of coffee and reading for fun!

Question: What is your favorite special breakfast? Pancakes, French toast, waffles, pastry, omelet?

IMG_4133

Vanilla French Toast with Stone Fruit

serves 3-4

For French toast:

small french baguette, in 8-9 pieces

2 eggs

1/4 cup vanilla soymilk

1/2 tbsp vanilla

1 tbsp agave

For fruit topping:

2 very large nectarines (3 if they are normal sized fruit, or use peaches or plums)

1/4 – 1/2 cup of water (depending on size and juiciness of nectarines)

1 tbsp vanilla

Slice the nectarines in half to remove the pit, and then slice into thin strips. Cut the strips in half. Add to a small saucepan and cover with 1/4-1/2 cup water. Season with vanilla. Bring the liquid to a boil, and then allow to simmer over medium heat for at least 10-15 minutes while preparing the French toast.

Meanwhile, combine all of the wet ingredients in a small bowl. Slice the French loaf into 2 inch thick slices. Soak the bread slices in the egg mixture for at least a minute or two on each side. Once the bread has soaked up the liquid, cook on a griddle or a hot pan coated in cooking spray. Each side will take about 3 minutes to brown, and the crusts can be balanced to brown for about one more minute.

Serve two to three slices on a plate topped with a spoonful of the warm fruit. Use the liquid from the fruit as a syrup, or use pancake syrup. Serve with or without whipped cream, as desired.

Entry filed under: Recipes. Tags: , , , , , , .

Meat and Potatoes Cinque Terre

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. edrevets  |  August 3, 2011 at 8:27 am

    Zomg. That is all I have to say. Others prefer looking at landscapes of European countries, and I prefer looking at landscapes of delicious breakfast food. I would have to say that America does have something on most of the rest of this world in the breakfast food arena.

    Reply
    • 2. jenlenew  |  August 3, 2011 at 1:07 pm

      I completely agree with that. Maybe my breakfasts this week are the result of a 3 week craving for American-style breakfast in Europe :)

      Reply
  • 3. Katherine  |  August 3, 2011 at 10:35 am

    So glad you found inspiration on our site. My only complaint is yours looks better. Look at how thick that is! I think I need nectarines and thicker bread!

    Reply
    • 4. jenlenew  |  August 3, 2011 at 1:08 pm

      Figs are my new favorite fruit, wish I could get my hands on some to try out your version!

      Reply
  • 5. Chelsea  |  August 3, 2011 at 11:50 am

    I have to disagree on your “failed” attempts at french toast. The dairy free french toast in boston was really good! What was wrong with that? And the french toast camping was delicious, though mushy, but who really cared. Though this did take the cake! So good!! Especially with the nectarines and homemade whipped cream! YUM!

    Reply
    • 6. jenlenew  |  August 3, 2011 at 1:07 pm

      Haha thanks Chels!

      Reply
  • 7. Amanda Dolly  |  August 3, 2011 at 10:50 pm

    Jen, that looks delicious!!! I would say that if I had that, it would be my favorite special breakfast! haha!

    Reply
  • 8. Overnight Oats « homemadeadventure  |  August 22, 2011 at 7:05 am

    […] I had it my way, I would make an all out breakfast everyday. I love pancakes, waffles, french toast, frittatas – I am a serious breakfast fiend. Unfortunately, early weekday classes leave no […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Get recipes directly to your inbox as soon as they are posted

Join 217 other followers

Memberships


