Finding a Passion for Running

July 10, 2011 at 9:00 am 1 comment

My college roommate is the one who originally got me into running. She ran 10K races a few times a year, and ran the Boston Marathon our senior year. She inspired me to run my first race, and is one of the reasons I have found such a love for running. We both brought our sneakers to Europe, and want to try to run at least once in each country we visit. Might be a great way to explore the city! New to running, or recovering from an injury? Some thoughts on how to fall in love with running:

    • Get fitted for proper running shoes. I am cheap and used to just buy sale shoes off the rack. While training for my first half-marathon, however, I developed pretty severe hip pain during longer runs. After my race, I finally got fitted for proper shoes, and found out that I have a tendency to pronate – a likely cause of my hip problems! My sister, suffering from knee pain, also just got fitted for good shoes. After finding out about her high arches, crazy turn out, and slight pronation, she got shoes with insoles to help correct her problems.

IMG_3040

    • Prevent injury, or support old problems. With my sister’s knee pain, she finally invested in a brace that supports the patellar tendons in her knee. New shoes plus a brace meant absolutely no knee pain! Also, make sure you stretch well (especially those IT bands) to help prevent injury.
    • Take it slowly starting out. If it is your first run in months, years, or ever, don’t try to be a champion. My sister and I ran a slow mile to try out her shoes and whet her appetite for running.

IMG_3041

  • Find a running buddy! Having my roommate’s support in training for my first road race was crucial. On days I did not feel like running, she was there to encourage and support me. My friend Regina was another support, pacing me on long runs as I trained for my half-marathon. Use it as a way to catch up with a friend, or join a running club to meet new people. If running alone is more your style, find a fellow lone runner and keep each other accountable.
Entry filed under: Running. Tags: , , , , , .

Puppy Chow Childhood Favorites

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide  |  July 10, 2011 at 10:19 am

    And can I add be careful about running in the summer heat. Get up early! My wife did a half marathon a few years ago and trained over the summer. She started her long runs in the dark and did some short runs on the treadmill.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Get recipes directly to your inbox as soon as they are posted

Join 217 other followers

Memberships


