Beer Can Chicken

July 2, 2011 at 9:00 am 1 comment

There is a reason I love to cook: my mom. I grew up watching her and my grandma in the kitchen, creating healthy, wonderful dinners and loving every minute of it. My mom made a fabulous Father’s Day dinner since I was in charge of breakfast, so I’ll let her tell you all about it!

IMG_2983

I love to cook outside.  Since I grew up camping, a tradition I continued with my own family, we always say everything tastes better when you eat outside.  I believe that goes for cooking as well!  As soon as I can clear the snow from my grill, I start grilling everything.  That’s where Jen got her love for grilling everything, including pizza.

IMG_2984

A few years ago at a camping show, I ran across this simple little stand to roast chicken on the grill with a can of beer inside the cavity of the chicken.  What a fabulous idea!  I hadn’t used it for a summer or two so I decided Father’s Day would be a perfect time to try it out again.  It was a beautiful sunny day and we were going to be hanging around our pool.  Since it takes a bit of time–about 2 hours– you do need to choose a day when you can keep an eye on the grill. And so easy too!  I just rubbed an oven stuffer chicken with some Montreal Chicken seasoning, drank the top quarter of the beer ;), placed the can into position in the stand, and plopped the chicken on top!  After a couple of hours, we had the juiciest, most flavorful chicken ever.  Even my veggie-loving daughter couldn’t help but go back for seconds on this chicken!  Jen had a great idea to use the remaining beer to make a delicious mustard ale sauce to accompany our chicken. Of course we rounded out the meal with a big basket of colorful grilled vegetables and fingerling potatoes. Yum!

IMG_2990

Question: What is your favorite outdoor meal?

Beer Can Chicken

1 roasting chicken

1 can beer

2 tbsp Montreal Chicken Seasoning

Special equipment: beer can stand

Rub an oven stuffer roaster chicken with the Montreal Chicken seasoning, or rub of your choice.  Open a can of your favorite beer and drink the top quarter.  :)  Place the beer can in the center of the beer can stand.  Pull the chicken over the beer can on the stand.  I put my beer can stand on a grill basket used for grilling vegetables for extra support.  Place on grill over very low heat and grill for  about 2 hours or until the chicken is done and the temperature popper pops.  If your grill has a top rack you may need to remove it so that you can close the grill cover completely over the inverted chicken.  Now just sit back and relax with another beer while your chicken roasts on the grill.  You may need to keep on eye out for flare-ups to avoid charring the chicken. When the chicken is fully cooked, allow to rest for 10-15 minutes before removing skin (and char) and carving.

IMG_2993

Mustard Ale Dipping Sauce

1/2 cup Dijon mustard

1/2 cup beer (leftover from steaming chicken)

1 tsp salt

1 tbsp brown sugar

1/2 tsp fresh ground black pepper

Mix all ingredients together in a small sauce pot over medium heat. Slowly bring to a boil so the mustard begins to thicken again. Once it comes to a rolling boil, remove from heat. Serve luke warm or cold depending on preference.

Entry filed under: Recipes. Tags: , , , , , .

Strawberry Kiwi Smoothie – Two Ways Chelsea’s Chex Mix Adventures

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide  |  July 2, 2011 at 10:58 am

    I love that! I can also see my wife’s hand slapping mine because I’d be going for that skin every five seconds!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Get recipes directly to your inbox as soon as they are posted

Join 217 other followers

Like Homemade Adventure on Facebook!

Memberships


