Blueberry Breakfast Parfait

June 26, 2011 at 9:00 am 3 comments

We all know that breakfast is possibly my favorite meal. I’ve even been known to eat breakfast even when its not breakfast time! Even so, I can have some difficulty with finding a stick-with-ya morning meal. Finally, I have found my go-to morning meal! I love oatmeal for breakfast – it is cheap, it is healthy, and it is versatile. I get bored of the same breakfast day-in and day-out, but with all of the different fruits you can mix in and ways to prepare it, oatmeal never lets me down. My other problem with breakfast is finding something that keeps me full long enough. I vaporize most cold cereals and am not usually a fan of eggs, but am a diva when I am hungry (just ask my sister). Oatmeal wins again for keeping my full until I can take a break for lunch, especially when paired with a little Greek yogurt like in this breakfast!

IMG_3030

My favorite part about this is how pretty it is! Like I said about colorful grilled veggies, I love to feast with my eyes before even tasting my first bite. I love pretty food, and I love bright colored produce. The blueberries have that incredible blue pop against the pale oatmeal. It reminds me of the beach, right in a parfait glass for breakfast! Blueberries or cold oatmeal not your thing? Replace with a fruit that is in season or some granola or other sturdy grain, and tailor this parfait to suit your tastes! But most of all, make time to sit down and enjoy your breakfast before facing the busyness of your daily life.

Question: What is your go-to breakfast?

IMG_3032

Blueberry Breakfast Parfait

per parfait

1/3 cup blueberries

1/3 cup oats

1/3 cup water

1/3 cup milk

1/3 cup Greek yogurt

1 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp honey

The night before, combine oats, milk and water in a large microwave safe bowl. Cover and microwave for 1 minute 20 seconds. Refrigerate over night. In the morning, spoon half of the blueberries into a tall glass. Top with half of the oatmeal. Sprinkle with half of the cinnamon. Top with half of the yogurt, drizzled with honey. Repeat. Top with a few blueberries as garnish and serve.

Entry filed under: Recipes. Tags: , , , , , .

Shrimp Tacos Rotini with Roasted Tomato Sauce and Spinach

3 Comments Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Get recipes directly to your inbox as soon as they are posted

Join 217 other followers

Memberships


