Shrimp Tacos

June 25, 2011 at 9:00 am 3 comments

IMG_3024

What do you do with a whole lotta mango salsa? You make tacos! These were somewhat inspired by fish tacos that my sister and I had at a music festival in Red Bank a few weeks ago. We scoured high and low for some gluten-free fare, and these tacos really hit the spot! I enjoyed it so much that I knew I needed to recreate it at some point. This recipe can be modified however you want it. I used cumin-spiced shrimp, guacamole, and mango salsa on corn tortillas, but you could use pico de gallo, avocado slices, pineapple salsa, broccoli or cabbage slaw, sauteed veggies and/or white fish. Just choose your favorite ingredients, and be adventurous! Sweet, fruity salsas compliment seafood really well. My tacos were as much of a hit as the street food my sister and I stumbled upon – a great, gluten-free recipe that doesn’t require expensive substitutes or make you feel deprived!

IMG_3026

Question: What are your favorite taco ingredients?

IMG_3025

Shrimp Tacos

serves 4-6

1 lb shrimp

1 tsp cumin

1/4 tsp cayenne pepper

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp pepper

1 cup black bean and mango salsa (or salsa of your choice)

1 cup guacamole

12 6-inch corn tortillas

1 lime, cut in wedges

Toss shrimp in cumin, cayenne, salt and pepper. Saute in a pan over medium heat until the shrimp curl and turn pink. Meanwhile, wrap the tortillas in tin foil and heat in the oven or toaster oven at 400 degrees for 5 minutes. Serve dinner as a make-your-own taco night, or assemble 2-3 shrimp, a spoonful of salsa and guacamole, and a squeeze of fresh lime juice per taco.

Entry filed under: Recipes. Tags: , , , , , , .

Black Bean and Mango Salsa with Homemade Tortilla Chips Blueberry Breakfast Parfait

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide  |  June 25, 2011 at 10:17 am

    These look great, love all that guac. But in the great minds category… you might just be laughing when you see my blog either tomorrow night or Monday night. I tend to post ahead, can’t remember when it’s scheduled.

    Reply
    • 2. jenlenew  |  June 25, 2011 at 11:39 am

      Did you make these recently as well? I’m a write ahead poster too! I don’t always have time during the week so tend to write a few at a time. Thank goodness for the schedule feature!

      Reply
  • 3. Scavenging the Interweb  |  June 25, 2011 at 2:27 pm

    Ah no wonderrr. I was thinking, ‘She’s posting faster than I can comment!’ I was thinking to myself, “Wow, how does she find the time to cook all the time!?” I like black beans and some salty salty pork in my tacos.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Get recipes directly to your inbox as soon as they are posted

Join 216 other followers

Memberships


