Black Bean and Mango Salsa with Homemade Tortilla Chips

June 24, 2011 at 9:00 am 4 comments

IMG_2830

I had a recent craving for mango, which my mom fulfilled with a box from Costco. The only problem with that is now I have a lot of mangos! Not the worst thing though… mango over ice cream for dessert, mango slices for a snack, mango with leftover black beans and rice, and mango salsas! This Black Bean and Mango Salsa is a great combination of sweet and spicy. The jalapeno has an afterkick to it, but is balanced out really well by the sweet mango and tart lime juice. It tastes even better the second day because the flavors have time to meld. Use it just as a salsa with tortilla chips, serve over chicken or fish, or use in shrimp tacos (look forward to tomorrow’s post!)

IMG_3035

If you want to get creative, you can even make your own tortilla chips really simply. Just take some corn tortillas (or even flour ones) and cut them into wedges. Spray them with cooking spray and sprinkle with sea salt. Toast in a toaster oven (or regular oven) for about 7-10 minutes until they are slightly crispy. Be careful here though – I caught my toaster oven at school on fire this past winter by forgetting about them one night! Oops… After they are slightly cool, they go great with salsas! This has become my new favorite snack, great when I have a craving but keeps those tempting chip bags out of my house. I could eat half a bag of those hint of lime tortilla chips in one sitting. Maybe I need to experiment with some lime flavor on these chips!

Question: What is your favorite type of salsa?

IMG_3020

Black Bean and Mango Salsa

Recipe from About.com

1 1/2 cups black beans (1 can)

1/4 large red onion, chopped

1 jalapeno, seeded and diced

1 mango, diced

1/4 cup cilantro, chopped

juice of 1 lime

1/8-1/4 tsp salt

Combine all ingredients in a large bowl. Adjust seasoning to taste. Allow to sit in the fridge for a few hours before serving to allow flavors to come together.

Entry filed under: Recipes. Tags: , , , , , .

Celebration with a Chocolate Torte Shrimp Tacos

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Chelsea  |  June 24, 2011 at 9:16 am

    You know what’s great about these chips.. they’re much lower fat than the bags you buy in the store! And they taste just as good, if not better. Makes me wonder why the store bought chips have so much unnecessary fat in them.

    Reply
  • 2. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide  |  June 24, 2011 at 11:17 am

    One of my favorite things in the summer. If I don’t have mango, I’ll use corn. If I have all of them, I used them. It’s so fun to play with this one.

    Reply
  • 3. Scavenging the Interweb  |  June 25, 2011 at 2:24 pm

    I love the color gradient on mangos. Nice pic! It’s so funny how you wrote about making your own tortilla chips–I just made homemade pita chips a few days ago! Not my biggest success (I burned the first batch), and they were so-so. I prefer guacamole to salsa. :)

    Reply
    • 4. jenlenew  |  June 25, 2011 at 2:44 pm

      Mmm homemade pita chips are good too! Also a huge fan of guacamole :)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Get recipes directly to your inbox as soon as they are posted

Join 216 other followers

Memberships


