Celebration with a Chocolate Torte

June 23, 2011 at 9:00 am 8 comments

This past weekend, two of my best friends got engaged. They have been dating since we were 15, and are excited to finally start planning for the rest of their lives together! I am not usually a girly-girl, but I must admit to watching my fair share of “Say Yes to the Dress” on TLC since their engagement announcement. Their wedding is far off and so there is a lot of time to plan, but Amanda and I are too excited to not at least start talking about what she wants!

IMG_2999

The night after he proposed, I invited Amanda over to get the details! We enjoyed a simple dinner of rotini with homemade roasted tomato sauce (I will post that recipe later in the week) and salad. A celebration isn’t complete without dessert though! I saw this recipe a few weeks ago at OhSheGlows when my sister first started avoiding gluten. Most of her recipes are vegan, but lately she has been experimenting with more gluten-free desserts as well! This torte does not exactly contain what you would expect – I mean, chocolate and avocado? All of my friends loved it, even after the secret was revealed. The filling is smooth, rich, chocolate-y, and yet manages to remain light. Even better, this is no-bake, so no need for an oven on those hot summer nights! Definitely give this a try the next time you crave something chocolate-y ;)

IMG_3010

Question: Do you have any weddings to attend this summer?

IMG_3006

Double Chocolate Torte (Vegan and Gluten-Free)

lightly adapted from OhSheGlows, serves 8-16

Crust:

2 cups roasted almonds (if not salted, add 1 tsp of salt to mix)

1/4 cup cocoa powder

2 tbsp vegetable oil

1/4 cup maple syrup

1 tsp vanilla

Crush the almonds in a food processor. Do not overprocess as you want some chunks. Add cocoa powder, oil, maple syrup and vanilla and blend until a fine crumble forms. Line the bottom of a springform pan (between 7-10 inches) with cooking spray and parchment paper. Press the crust evenly into a flat crust in the bottom of the pan and pop into the freezer while making the chocolate mousse filling.

Chocolate Mousse:

3 small avocados

1/3 cup almond milk (or milk of your choice)

2/3 cup maple syrup

1 tbsp almond butter

1 tbsp cornstarch

1/4 tsp salt

1 tsp vanilla

1 1/4 cups chocolate chips, melted

1/4 cup cocoa powder

Spoon avocado flesh into a food processor. Add the rest of the ingredients through the vanilla and begin to blend well. Meanwhile, melt chocolate chips over a hot water bath. Add the melted chocolate and cocoa powder to the avocado mixture and blend well. The resulting mixture should be billowy and thick with no remaining avocado chunks. Spoon into the chilled crust and spread evenly. Return to freezer to set for at least 2 hours. Before serving, let sit on countertop for about 5 minutes. Sprinkle with powdered sugar (optional) and serve cold. Store leftover slices in air tight containers in the freezer.

Entry filed under: Recipes. Tags: , , , , , .

Taste the Rainbow Black Bean and Mango Salsa with Homemade Tortilla Chips

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide  |  June 23, 2011 at 9:32 am

    As someone who doesn’t need to avoid gluten I sometimes see the recipes and feel bad for those who do. So many substitutes and so on. You always seem to make gluten free in a way that’s more natural. I mean an almond crust. Perfect. This just sounds wonderful.

    Reply
  • 2. Melody  |  June 23, 2011 at 3:00 pm

    mmm that looks so good!! now im craving some chocolate!

    Reply
  • 3. Scavenging the Interweb  |  June 25, 2011 at 2:18 pm

    Chocolate torte! I really like how you’ve posted so many gluten-free things! One of my friends can only eat gluten free things, and you’ve now become my source for inspiration.

    Reply
    • 4. jenlenew  |  June 25, 2011 at 2:43 pm

      Seems to be so much more common lately! Glad I can share some ideas :) totally new to me, but anything to help my sister out!

      Reply
  • 5. Afternoon Tea Fit For a Bride « homemadeadventure  |  August 5, 2011 at 9:08 am

    […] I mentioned in a previous post, my best friends recently got engaged at the beginning of the summer. Little did we know they would […]

    Reply
  • 6. Cooking in Croatia « homemadeadventure  |  September 1, 2011 at 7:14 am

    […] married! Over the long weekend, I will back home in NJ for the wedding (you may remember her engagement celebration and bridal shower!) I am fortunate enough to be hosting her rehearsal dinner, so will be busy this […]

    Reply
  • 7. eftychia  |  October 9, 2011 at 9:13 am

    This is a dessert I will definately try! Good job! I never met a medical student so passionate with food. I am impressed!

    Reply
    • 8. homemadeadventure  |  October 10, 2011 at 2:40 pm

      Thanks! I adapted the torte from another website to simplify the ingredients a bit and use what I had available. I love healthy food and hope to be able to continue to share my passion!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Get recipes directly to your inbox as soon as they are posted

Join 217 other followers

Memberships


