Taste the Rainbow

June 22, 2011 at 9:00 am 7 comments

IMG_2972
Not quite Skittles, but just as colorful and even tastier (in my opinion). Now, I am a self-proclaimed veggie lover all times of the year. I love roasted winter vegetables, crisp springtime salads, big pots of vegetable soup in the fall… but my favorite way to eat them is hot off the grill! My mom bought a grill basket a few years ago, and we use it at least 3 times a week for something. There are so many reasons I love veggies done this way: they have a great crispness like roasted vegetables but don’t require you to heat up the whole house in the middle of summer, they maintain all of their fresh flavor and pick up some grilled smokiness, and they are so colorful and fun! Even my dad clears his plate of veggies when done this way. A colorful basket of vegetables not only looks great (remember that you eat with your eyes before you eat with your mouth!), but they are also really healthy. The more colorful variety you have, the more nutrient variety that you have. Even better – they take 10 minutes tops, and can be a mixture of whatever you like! I love  a mix of whatever is on hand: bell pepper strips, mushroom quarters, zucchini moons, Vidalia onion quarters, snap peas, broccoli and cauliflower florets, and carrot slices (if you are serving them as a side, they can be bigger pieces than if you are using them for sandwiches and wraps). Simply toss them with grapeseed or olive oil and Season salt, and then grill for 7-10 minutes. Serve them as a side dish, mix them in with rice and chicken, tofu or beans, or use them to make a sandwich or wrap! Below is a recipe for a grilled veggie panini that I made for a light weekend dinner, but don’t be limited to warm sandwiches! I use leftovers all of the time cold on wraps with hummus and lettuce, perfect for a to-go picnic lunch. Grab yourself a grill basket and give the veggies or this sandwich a try next time you’re out at the grill.

IMG_2973

Grilled Vegetable Panini

per sandwich

2/3-1 cup mixed vegetables, cut in strips or bite sized pieces (about 2 handfuls, will shrink down when cooked)

1/2 tbsp olive or grapeseed oil

1/2 tsp season salt, or 1/4 tsp each paprika and salt

4-6 inch piece of whole wheat Italian loaf

1 tbsp hummus

1 tsp Dijon mustard

Cut your desired mix of veggies into strips and bite sized pieces. Toss with oil and seasonings, and then cook in grill basket over medium high heat. Turn every few minutes for about 7-10 minutes, until veggies are cooked through. Meanwhile, slice open bread and lightly toast on the grill. Coat top half of the bread with mustard and bottom half with hummus. Top hummus side of bread with warm vegetables (hummus helps the veggies to stick). Serve warm with desired sides: grilled sweet potato fries, potato salad, mixed green salad, etc.

Entry filed under: Recipes. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Lose those Leftovers – Part 2 Celebration with a Chocolate Torte

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide  |  June 22, 2011 at 10:07 am

    That looks great. I love the idea of grilling the bread for the sandwich too. I love meat, but veggies rule too.

    Reply
    • 2. jenlenew  |  June 22, 2011 at 6:20 pm

      I switched out the hummus for some mayo and cold cuts for my met-loving Dad. He raved about it!

      Reply
  • 3. Recipe Chefs  |  June 22, 2011 at 2:26 pm

    What a delicious post thanks for sharing this. I enjoyed reading it very much.I love food and this post just made me hungry.

    Check out this great recipe also everyone:

    French Bread Pizza

    Reply
  • 4. Scavenging the Interweb  |  June 25, 2011 at 2:21 pm

    ‘Remember that you eat with your eyes before you eat with your mouth!’
    –Actually, I eat with my nose first! I put my nose up to everything. It’s a terrible habit.

    I love the way you write about food! You could rewrite that sentence without the last two words, and it’d be a true statement too.

    Reply
    • 5. jenlenew  |  June 25, 2011 at 2:36 pm

      Aw thanks! Smell is really important too! My friend also smells every bite before she eats it!

      Reply
  • 6. Blueberry Breakfast Parfait « homemadeadventure  |  June 26, 2011 at 9:02 am

    […] favorite part about this is how pretty it is! Like I said about colorful grilled veggies, I love to feast with my eyes before even tasting my first bite. I love pretty food, and I love […]

    Reply
  • 7. A Relaxing Rehearsal « homemadeadventure  |  September 8, 2011 at 9:03 am

    […] Portobello burger for me!), BBQ chicken, grilled veggies, pasta salad, and potato salad. The grilled veggies are so simple: we mixed red, yellow and orange bell pepper strips with Vidalia onion rings, baby […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Get recipes directly to your inbox as soon as they are posted

Join 218 other followers

Memberships


