Lose those Leftovers – Part 2

June 21, 2011 at 9:00 am 3 comments

Remember those rice and beans from last week? And remember my issues with leftover boredom? Well here is a completely different spin on those leftovers! My mom and I were in the mood for a refreshing lunch after our activity filled morning this past Saturday. (Not only did we take the dog for a long walk, but we also went for an hour long bike ride!) I saw the last container of leftovers from the week, and decided to make a cold salad out of them. I sliced up some mango, mixed it into the rice and beans, and topped it off with the juice of two limes. A little lost on how to cut up a mango? Check out my picture guide for a little help! It seriously saves so much time and frustration, and will give you a lot more fruit per mango if done right. I split that new mixture into bowls over some mixed salad greens and served up an easy, healthy lunch! It was filling enough to satisfy my mom and I, with great fresh, light flavors. Who wants to sweat in the kitchen after a good post-workout shower, anyway?

IMG_2951

Question: What are your favorite salad toppers?

Black Bean and Mango Salad

serves 2-3

2 cups black beans and rice, cold

1 mango, cubed,

2 limes, juiced

3 cups mixed salad greens

Mix the cold rice and beans with the mango and fresh squeezed lime juice. Serve over salad greens for a quick, easy lunch!

Entry filed under: Recipes. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , .

Homemade Funfetti Cupcakes Taste the Rainbow

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide  |  June 21, 2011 at 11:05 am

    Leftovers really can be the greatest. This looks fantastic.

    Reply
  • 2. WIAW Leftover Edition « homemadeadventure  |  September 21, 2011 at 6:44 am

    […] homemade TV dinners when life gets hectic. Another way I have found to avoid leftover boredom is to reinvent them. Keep reading for some of my leftover […]

    Reply
  • 3. Lose those Leftovers – Part 3 « homemadeadventure  |  June 26, 2012 at 3:10 pm

    […] in repurposing some of my recipes into new grab-and-go lunch creations. I highlighted some of my leftover makeovers last summer, and figured I’d keep up with this mini-series again this summer! Hopefully there […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Get recipes directly to your inbox as soon as they are posted

Join 217 other followers

Memberships


