Daddy Eggs

June 19, 2011 at 10:15 am 4 comments

My Dad is pretty helpless when it comes to food. When my mom went on her first business trip a few years ago, my neighbors took it upon themselves to invite my Dad over for dinner a few nights to make sure he got a real meal. On nights that dinner isn’t made for him, he has been known to pull out the cold cuts, cheese and bread. Smart man – no dinner, make a sandwich instead, right? Oh no. He proceeds to carry those down to his La-Z Boy recliner, and then eat them separately. Why waste the time making a sandwich if its all going to the same place, right?

IMG_2979

Now, its Father’s Day so I can’t make fun of my Dad too much! There is one thing my Dad is an expert at cooking – eggs. My sister and I were not the biggest omelet fans growing up, but we loved his “Daddy eggs.” He would chop up everything really small so you never got a chunk of onion, and would always load those eggs up with cheese. We still request the occasional Saturday morning of Daddy eggs on our weekends home from school. In honor of his famous breakfast, I made him a Big Daddy Frittata for Father’s Day. The flavor combo might look familiar… but I had to use what was in the fridge! It is like a gourmet version of bacon and eggs. It was absolutely wonderful! Happy Father’s Day – to my Dad and to all fathers. Know that you are loved and appreciated for all that you do.

Question: What are your plans for Father’s Day?

IMG_2978

Prosciutto and Carmelized Onion Frittata

adapted from the Food Network, serves 4-8

5 oz prosciutto, chopped

1/2 cup caramelized onions

8 eggs

1/4 cup milk

1/2 tsp salt

2 oz Parmesan cheese

4 oz goat cheese

1/2 tsp dried thyme

1/4 tsp fresh ground pepper

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. In an oven-safe skillet coated well with cooking spray, cook the chopped prosciutto until it begins to crisp slightly. Add the caramelized onions and cook for another minute. In a large bowl, whisk together eggs, milk and salt. Stir in shredded Parmesan cheese. Pour evenly over the prosciutto and onions. Cook until the eggs begin to set, about 5 minutes. Top the frittata with the crumbled goat cheese. Cook in the oven for 12 minutes. Remove from oven and sprinkle with thyme and fresh ground pepper. Return to oven; broil at 350 degrees for 4 minutes. Slice into desired portion sizes and serve.

Entry filed under: Recipes. Tags: , , , , , .

Tortellini with Sun Dried Tomato Pesto Homemade Funfetti Cupcakes

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide  |  June 19, 2011 at 10:33 am

    Ha, that’s funny. I love the flavors in this frittata, looks simply amazing.

    Reply
  • 2. Casey  |  June 19, 2011 at 11:04 am

    My dad is the same way!! Whenever my mom is out of town my dad whips out the cereal for all meals… that frittata looks so good!

    Reply
  • 3. Robyn Varner  |  June 19, 2011 at 3:22 pm

    My dad was the opposite – he was the cook and my mom relied on the old standard grilled cheese and tomato soup whenever Dad was out of town. Granted, when I say “the cook,” I must also say that his go to was the barbeque, unless it was Thanksgiving, of course.

    Glad you are treating your Dad for the day!

    Reply
  • 4. Brad Newcomb  |  June 19, 2011 at 10:31 pm

    I can say it tasted realy good. Man can jen cook. It was a special fathers day treat. Love you Jen –> Dad

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Get recipes directly to your inbox as soon as they are posted

Join 216 other followers

Memberships


