Summertime Running

June 17, 2011 at 12:02 pm 2 comments

I feel like an elementary school kid on the first day of summer! Even though I have been home and out of class for a month already, today is the first day that truly feels like summer vacation. I finished my externship yesterday – I learned more than I even expected and am sad to leave the office, but am really looking forward to having the next six weeks off. I didn’t set an alarm this morning and slept until 8:40am! (For anyone who doesn’t know me well, that is really late for me!) I then lounged around for 20 minutes and hit the road for my run. I meant to go further, but took a new route and got a bit lost. As I was slowing down to figure out where to turn next, my feet got a little lazy and the concrete jumped out and got the best of me…

IMG_2911

Ouch. Luckily I was only about 2 miles away from home, but I got some crazy looks as I had blood dripping from my elbow on the way. With a little more preparation, I could have saved my elbow this bloody fate… I have learned a lot so far about running in the heat and humidity, but I am the worst at following my own advice. Here are some things I have learned so far about running in the summer heat and humidity.

  • Drink a lot of water the night before you run. Also drink a big glass of water before you leave. Dehydration is the worst – its responsible for those evil side cramps and can make your mile times really sluggish.
  • If you are running for more than a half hour on a really hot day or 45 minutes on a normal day, bring along a sports drink or something with sugar in it for a pick-me-up along the way. A lot of my friends put a handful of Gummy Bears in their pocket for a sugar boost along the way on really long runs.
  • If possible, don’t wear cotton T-shirts on days when it is really hot and humid. You will sweat, and then it will just weigh down your shirt and trap more heat around your core. A wicking material will help pull the moisture off of you for more efficient cooling.
  • Don’t run when the sun is at its peak! I made this mistake a few weeks ago and was lucky to make it through my planned 4 miles. Instead, go a little earlier in the morning or around dusk to avoid the peak heat of the day.
  • Make sure to stretch well after you run! Read a little more here for some important stretches for runners.

And don’t forget to fuel those muscles! It sounds counterintuitive, but often times I am just not hungry when I get back from a long run. I probably fill my stomach up with a ton of water, but I know that my body needs some calories for fuel. I have recently discovered smoothies as the perfect cure for this post-run dilemma. I know that a lot of runners turn to protein powder, but I can’t get over the flavor. I choose, instead, to get protein from other places – Greek yogurt and peanut butter! I love peanut butter and banana in any form, and this smoothie really hits the spot after a long workout. Try this shake out next time you need a workout recovery!

IMG_2916

Peanut Butter Banana Shake

makes 1 smothie

1/2 cup ice

1/2 frozen banana, chopped

1/2 cup Greek yogurt

1/2 cup milk

1 tbsp peanut butter

Combine the ice and chopped frozen banana in a blender to crush. Add the rest of the ingredients and blend to desired smoothie consistency. Can adjust with more or less milk if you like it thicker or creamier.

Entry filed under: Recipes, Running. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Celebrating Dear Old Dad Tortellini with Sun Dried Tomato Pesto

2 Comments Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Get recipes directly to your inbox as soon as they are posted

Join 216 other followers

Memberships


