Perfect Start to a Perfect Day

June 15, 2011 at 5:52 pm 1 comment

I love working three days a week because it gives you just enough to do to really appreciate your days off! Today, my sister and I planned to take advantage of the beautiful weather and take a bike ride down at Sandy Hook. We couldn’t have asked for better weather! We loaded our bikes up onto the back of our car…

IMG_2872

… and then explored Sandy Hook by bike for an hour and a half! Even though I have been to this state park more times than I can count, there is still always something new to discover.

IMG_2866

IMG_2864

The tip of the Hook used to be a military base, so there are still old officer’s homes lining the waterfront. Many of them are now used as meeting spots for community groups, like the Audubon Society and the local Historical Society.

IMG_2856

There are also some cool memorials spotted randomly throughout the bike path, and every once in a while the foliage breaks for a beautiful view of the bay and the ocean. My sister and I were remarking how much we love where we grew up, even though we didn’t really appreciate it until we left and came back! The beach is seriously one of my favorite places in the world, and I am so glad to be spending the summer so close to it.

IMG_2859

IMG_2869

With a big bike ride planned for the day, I knew I was in need of a serious stick-with-ya kind of breakfast. As my sister will attest, I turn into a diva if I get hungry, and I tend to get hungry really quickly. I needed some good protein, and remembered a breakfast bowl of quinoa my mom and I tested out a few months ago. I adapted the recipe, from 101 Cookbooks, to suit what I had in my fridge, and it was perfect! The agave is very sweet (my sister is not a fan and prefers the flavor that brown sugar gives), and the berries and cinnamon go really well together. I didn’t even get hungry until my car, with our picnic lunch, was in sight. My stomach (and my sister) were happy to avoid hunger pangs while exploring the beautiful beach!

Question: Where is your favorite place to spend a relaxing afternoon?

IMG_2850

Berry Breakfast Quinoa

serves 2 (adapted from 101 Cookbooks)

1/2 cup quinoa

1/2 cup almond milk (or milk of your choice)

1/2 cup water

1 tsp vanilla

1 tbsp agave nectar (can substitute honey or brown sugar)

1 tsp cinnamon

1/2 cup blueberries

1/2 cup thinly sliced strawberries

1/4 cup chopped almonds

Combine quinoa, milk and water in a small saucepan. Bring to a boil, and then cook covered over low heat (about 10-15 minutes) until the liquid is absorbed. Remove lid; stir in vanilla and agave nectar and cook for 5 more minutes. Stir in cinnamon and berries. Serve in bowls sprinkled with chopped almonds.

Entry filed under: Recipes, Roamings. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Chef Nicholas Celebrating Dear Old Dad

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide  |  June 15, 2011 at 6:31 pm

    What a nice place! These days my favorite place to spend an afternoon is on the couch with my wife. We’ve both been busy at work.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Get recipes directly to your inbox as soon as they are posted

Join 217 other followers

Memberships


