A Return to Normalcy

June 3, 2011 at 5:34 pm 11 comments

Life as I knew it? Well, for the most part! My family left this morning for their two-day drive back to Florida, which means I have a room and a bed again! I am sad to see my family leave – it is a rare occasion that we are all together, and we truly do have a lot of fun together! We made a lot, lot, lot, lot of delicious meals together this week, drank a lot of coffee, and had a lot of laughs as well as serious conversations. I am so grateful to have such incredible people in my life! However, I am looking forward to a little more quiet time and to cooking for 4 again. (Cooking for 9 for a week requires a lot of planning!)

IMG_2705

With that being said, this dinner post still isn’t quite my normal. Like I said in my About Me, I have recently begun eating meat again in preparation for my trip through Europe (coming up so soon – I leave in 3 weeks!) I have so far made dinners that are primarily seafood, and still find myself making vegetarian sandwiches and avoiding burgers at all costs. Last night’s dinner, totally out of my vegetarian comfort zone, was way better than I even expected! Chicken breast stuffed with goat cheese, artichoke hearts, and sun-dried tomatoes – simple, healthy, and easier than the resulting dish looks, especially with this How-To. To make sure we got our veggie quota, I served it with a simple salad and sautéed green beans. This is my favorite way to do green beans, so I am posting that recipe as well! A two-for-one Friday special since I got out of work early!

IMG_2702

Stuffed Chicken Breasts

5 small chicken breasts, pounded thin

5 oz goat cheese

5 artichoke hearts, drained

7 sun-dried tomatoes

1 tbsp fresh basil, chopped

pepper to taste

Lightly beat chicken breasts so that they are thin enough to roll. In a small bowl, mix together goat cheese, artichokes, tomatoes and basil. If necessary,  microwave the cheese mixture for 30 secs – 1 min so that it is soft enough to stir. Divide mixture evenly between the chicken breasts, roll, and secure with toothpicks. Bake uncovered for 20-22 minutes at 350 degrees. Turn the oven to broil at 450 degrees, and broil for about 10 minutes until the chicken is fully cooked.

IMG_2699

Sautéed Green Beans

serves 4-5 people

1 tbsp olive oil

1 shallot, diced

1 tbsp garlic, minced

4 cups green beans

2 tbsp red wine vinegar

In a large pan, sautée shallots and garlic in olive oil over medium heat. Add the green beans, turn heat to low, and cover the sautée pan to allow green beans to cook slightly, about 10 minutes. The green beans should still be crisp and bright green, but no longer raw and bitter. At this point, turn the heat to high and add the red wine vinegar. Allow most of the liquid to boil off, which will happen quickly in just a few minutes. Season lightly with pepper and serve.

Entry filed under: Recipes. Tags: , , , , , , .

Cure for a Long Day at Work Cooking Class

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide  |  June 3, 2011 at 6:34 pm

    That looks wonderful. I love goat cheese, but have just started using it more. Those beans look amazing too!

    Reply
    • 2. jenlenew  |  June 3, 2011 at 10:36 pm

      Goat cheese is totally my favorite! I even eat it for breakfast on toast with raspberry jam… sooo good!

      Reply
  • 3. Kizze' Talks About  |  June 3, 2011 at 7:25 pm

    My mouth is watering as I type!

    Reply
    • 4. jenlenew  |  June 3, 2011 at 10:37 pm

      Thanks! My family loved it too :)

      Reply
  • 5. Scavenging the Interweb  |  June 4, 2011 at 8:55 am

    Wow! The two great pluses for this are the simplicity of the recipe and the prettiness factor of the picture. Those green beans look like a perfect summer side. Also….EUROPE!

    Reply
  • 6. Cooking Class « homemadeadventure  |  June 4, 2011 at 11:59 pm

    […] 1 cup sautéed green beans […]

    Reply
  • 7. Anne  |  June 9, 2011 at 11:09 pm

    Jen, I’m sorry we missed that dinner. It looks great and I’m going to try it. It’s awesome to see you enjoy cooking so much. You’re like me, I don’t mind the cooking part, but hate the cleaning up. Auntie Anne

    Reply
  • 8. Azra  |  October 20, 2011 at 10:03 pm

    I made this tonight and it was so so good. A big hit with my roommates too. Thanks!

    Reply
    • 9. homemadeadventure  |  October 20, 2011 at 11:28 pm

      Ahh yay! So glad it turned out well and you enjoyed it :) Hope I can inspire some more roommate dinners in the future!

      Reply
  • […] fall veggies, so don’t forget to make use of them in your Thanksgiving spread. These green beans are simple but delicious, and give Brussels sprouts a chance with this amazing recipe, another from […]

    Reply
  • 11. Giving Thanks « homemadeadventure  |  November 26, 2011 at 6:38 pm

    […] Green Beans, a Homemade Adventure […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Get recipes directly to your inbox as soon as they are posted

Join 217 other followers

Memberships


