Cure for a Long Day at Work

June 2, 2011 at 11:03 pm 3 comments

Today was a really long day at work. It was a myriad of factors that coalesced into a perfect storm of exhaustion and frustration, leaving me completely beaten down by the end of the day. I wasn’t feeling well, I was tired and sore from sleeping on the couch (9 people in our modest house is a lot!), and the day started with an ominous tone. Our first patient clearly did not want help. They were angry at being old, and refused to face the truth about their manageable illness. By the end of our ten minute encounter, I was questioning what the point of the visit even was. Luckily, the next patient had a complete and opposite countenance, giving me some hope for my future to actually help people as a health care provider. However, the tone in the office was yet again sobered by a visit from a less-than-friendly representative from a state-run charity program that my doctor participates in. By lunchtime, I wanted to bury my head in the sand, and was so exhausted that I took a ten minute nap on the steps outside of the building. I never nap, so that can tell you about my morning! I felt energized for the afternoon for the next hour, but exhaustion soon hit again when I realized that we were completely overbooked. Somehow, twelve patients were scheduled within our last hour of the day – an impossible feat when each person is designated a minimum of ten minutes. This kept us in the office for an extra hour! While it was a long and busy day, I did learn a lot – I even got to remove my first set of stitches! My excitement for the day’s events was simply dampened by my fatigue.

I got home and was in need of some serious recovery. My grandparents and mom greeted me with a glass of red wine on the back patio, and let me vent about the day. That was the first step in my cure for a long day. I suddenly felt energy enough to pull together a fantastic dinner (which I will tell you all about tomorrow!) I knew that dessert was in order, and but wanted something light. Good thing for me that my lovely friend Helen had sent me a message a few days ago about a fantastic dessert she had been hooked on. Glazed peaches over ice cream? What could be more perfect! Helen, I can totally see how you have been making this so many nights in a row! I’m going to have to get more fruit to make this again… so simple and perfect. Step two in my recovery. Finally, after dessert, I sat down for a little bit of yoga. Usually, I am too energetic and hyperactive to quiet my mind long enough to practice yoga. However, it was exactly what I needed tonight. It was relaxing, energizing, and a great way to stretch my muscles that are always sore after being on my feet for 8-10 hour days. I want to continue to try yoga at least once a week this summer, and see if I can incorporate it into my normal exercise routine. I know how great the stretches are for running recovery, and really think this might be a good way to help me learn to relax as well!

IMG_2709

Question: What do you do to relax at the end of a long day?

IMG_2711

Balsamic Glazed Peaches

serves 5-6, recipe adapted from Helen

3 – 4 peaches

1 tbsp Balsamic vinegar

1 tbsp milk

1/3 cup brown sugar

1 tbsp agave nectar (or sub 1 tbsp vanilla)

vanilla ice cream or frozen yogurt

In a bowl, mix together all ingredients except for peaches. A thick syrup should form. Cut the peaches into thirds or slices, and dip in the syrup. Add to a pan coated in cooking spray and cook on low heat until peaches begin to get soft. Once peaches are a desired texture, turn the heat in the pan up so that the syrup begins to thicken and fully bubble. Serve peaches over vanilla ice cream or frozen yogurt, with the remaining syrup as a crunchy drizzled brittle.

For more peach recipes, check out:
Peach on FoodistaPeach

Entry filed under: Recipes. Tags: , , , , .

Do you take a multi-vitamin? A Return to Normalcy

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide  |  June 2, 2011 at 11:36 pm

    I can’t wait for fresh peaches! This looks wonderful.

    Reply
  • 2. Alisa  |  June 3, 2011 at 11:24 am

    Love this recipe! I found you from the foodie blog roll and I’d love to guide Foodista readers to your site. I hope you could add this peach widget at the end of this post so we could add you in our list of food bloggers who blogged about peach recipe,Thanks!

    Reply
  • 3. Scavenging the Interweb  |  June 4, 2011 at 8:59 am

    I will definitely try this peaches recipe when I go back home. I bet my family will love it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Get recipes directly to your inbox as soon as they are posted

Join 216 other followers

Memberships


