Lovely Lobster Feast

May 29, 2011 at 10:08 am 5 comments

Yesterday, for the first time in a long time, I was finally able to relax. I laid in the hammock, I sat in the sun, I went in the pool, I spent time with my family, and I even read a book for fun! I had started Gifted Hands: The Ben Carson Story a month or two back, but would only get a page or two before passing out each night as the end of the semester ramped up. I finished the 3/4 of the remaining story yesterday, and it was so inspirational! Ben Carson is the head of pediatric neurosurgery at Johns Hopkins, and has the remarkable and rare “true American story.” He was born to an uneducated, single mother and raised in Detroit, overcame learning problems and hard life circumstances to become a world-class neurosurgeon. Not only is his story compelling, but he also has some incredibly interesting patient stories as well. Definitely a great summer read if you are looking for a book!

IMG_2634

IMG_2637

IMG_2636

IMG_2639

What better way to end a relaxing day than a lobster feast? My dad was the lobster chef while my mom was the grill master. I took care of the indoor work, carefully avoiding the lobster pot to the best of my ability. I know that the squealing is simply air being released from the shell, but I still lose my lobster appetite if I hear that right before my meal. Alongside of the lobster, we grilled up some fresh corn and asparagus. I kept the seasoning on everything simple, preferring instead to let the flavor of the lobster shine. I squeezed a fresh lemon over the asparagus spears and generously ground some black pepper, sea salt, and garlic powder for good measure. To make grilled corn, we simply pulled out the fine corn hair from inside of the husk, but left the husk on. We then soaked the corn in water for 5 minutes to make sure the husk wouldn’t burn, and then put the corn on the grill for about 12 minutes (6 minutes each side.) The corn picks up so much great smoky flavor from the grill and the husk that most of us didn’t even need butter! To go along with the lobster, I made a lemon-butter dipping sauce. I find that straight butter is too heavy and overwhelms the lobster, so I added 2 juiced lemons to 2 1//2 sticks of melted butter to add a little fresh flavor. Everyone except my dad was a huge fan (but we have outlawed him as a crazy ;) )!

IMG_2635

IMG_2643

IMG_2645

The flavors of this meal were simple, fresh and delightful. The only utensils necessary were lobster picks and crackers, since even the asparagus spears could be eaten as finger food. Good thing we were eating outside, where we could hose down ourselves and the table! Obviously, this meal was a huge treat!

IMG_2644

To make the most of those special lobsters, my uncle instructed everyone to save their shells. He sweated some minced garlic, onions, carrots, and celery in white wine (we were out of sherry) – fancy people call this a mirepoix. This is the basis for any good seafood, poultry or vegetable stock. Then, he added the lobster shells and covered it with water, brought it to a boil, and then cooked it down for about 2 hours. Next, he strained all of the ingredients through a colander, and then through a cheesecloth to remove fine particulates. Now, you can use this lobster stock to make either bisque or lobster sauce for pasta. Since the family has been drooling over my fresh pasta posts, we decided we will use this to make a sauce… stay tuned for the results of our little experiment!

IMG_2652

Entry filed under: Recipes. Tags: , , , , , , , .

One Smart Blondie Full Family Effort

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Scavenging the Interweb  |  May 29, 2011 at 10:18 am

    You have me at the edge of my seat! I am really curious where this lobster stock will go…

    Reply
  • 2. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide  |  May 29, 2011 at 10:49 am

    Oh that is so wonderful. My wife and I grew up in Maryland and miss crab feasts. But lobster. Whole nother level! I like how you used lemon and butter, they don’t need much. And I’ll be interested to see what becomes of the stock too.

    Reply
  • 3. Kate  |  May 29, 2011 at 10:25 pm

    Love lobster but I haven’t had it in so long!

    Reply
  • 4. EmandM  |  May 30, 2011 at 10:09 am

    uhh AMAZINGGGGGG. that looks SO good!

    Reply
  • 5. A Return to Normalcy « homemadeadventure  |  June 3, 2011 at 6:00 pm

    […] rare occasion that we are all together, and we truly do have a lot of fun together! We made a lot, lot, lot, lot of delicious meals together this week, drank a lot of coffee, and had a lot of laughs as […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Get recipes directly to your inbox as soon as they are posted

Join 217 other followers

Memberships


