Adventures with New Gadgets – Part 2

May 26, 2011 at 10:59 pm 2 comments

And the winner is…

IMG_2618

Melody from Baking with Em and M! First guess, and a correct one – my mom got a new crockpot! Email me with your summer address so I can mail you your prize! I made you a snack dish from a shell I picked up at the beach. It was the perfect day for a walk in the sand… clear skies, no shoebies, and great weather! The skies were so clear that you could see the cruise ships pulling into the NYC harbor. No worries – the seashell is washed and sealed so no ocean can get out and no food can get in. I have a bunch of my own shell dishes that I made at school and love them for portion control while study snacking – perfect size to hold that handful of chocolate chips or almonds to get you through! Hope you enjoy :)

IMG_2571

IMG_2585

I am sure enjoying my mom’s new gadgets. We had a minor scare yesterday – the Magic Bullet base stopped working! I was in the middle of using it and all of a sudden it got stuck “on.” I unplugged it, and it wouldn’t turn back on! It behaved when my mom got home though, so now she thinks I had a blonde moment. I’ll admit that those happen to me often, but I swear it really wasn’t working! Anyway, the slow cooker worked great during my first time using it! It has a feature to allow you to program the cook time, after which it will set to warm until you are ready for it. This is really helpful for my Tuesday schedule: I am shadowing a family medicine doctor for the month and the Tuesday office hours are 12-9pm. My family still needs to eat though, so enter slow cooker! I can throw everything in before I leave, and know that they have a healthy and delicious meal when they all get home from work! This week, I made Moroccan Chickpeas and Cauliflower, from Kath Eats Real Food. I changed some of the spices around a bit, and it came out really well! Check out her original recipe, or read below for my changes.

IMG_2554

Tomorrow I will post a lot of fun appetizer recipes! They are perfect for Memorial Day entertaining or summer snacks, so look out for that! I am looking forward to finally having a day to breathe and recover – I have been running around like crazy since I got home! Between shadowing at the clinic to cooking for my family and running errands for my mom, I have managed to keep myself quite busy! Maybe I will get an unscheduled hour or two tomorrow? I did want to learn to relax this summer… total fail so far!

Question: What is your favorite meal to make in the slow cooker? I have three more Tuesdays coming up and need some good ideas! If you email me your recipe, you could be featured here next week!

IMG_2564

Moroccan Chickpeas and Cauliflower
serves 4-5 (adapted from KERF)
1 head cauliflower, cut into florets
2 small sweet potatoes, cubed
1 can chickpeas, rinsed
4 small carrots, chopped
4 small celery stalks, chopped
2 cups vegetable broth
1 can tomato paste
1 tsp red curry paste
1/2 tsp tumeric
1 tsp paprika
1/4 tsp cumin
1/4 tsp cinnamon
1 bay leaf
Mix all ingredients together in a slow cooker. Cook on low heat for 5 hours, and then keep warm until ready to serve. Best eaten over brown rice or some other whole grain. Makes great lunch leftovers!

Entry filed under: Recipes. Tags: , , , , , .

Adventures with New Gadgets – Part 1 If med school doesn’t work out, you can always be a caterer!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. EmandM  |  May 27, 2011 at 8:42 am

    Awww thanks Jen!! =) I’ll message you my address! I’m definitely going to try this recipe this summer!

    Reply
  • […] the salsa came together so much faster using the new Magic Bullet slicing gadget (despite the minor power fail mishap…) It also made my mom so happy to be able to walk in the door and be able to focus on the […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Get recipes directly to your inbox as soon as they are posted

Join 216 other followers

Memberships


