Keeping in Touch

May 22, 2011 at 8:30 am 1 comment

IMG_1108

Today is one of transition. A year and a week ago, I graduated from college and today, another generation of BU grads dons red robes and prepares to face the “real world.” My graduation felt more like a transition than a true ending, since I knew I would be starting medical school in just a few short months, but I know that many people face a much more real end to their academic careers. The strangest post-college transition, no matter where life takes you next, is the change in friendships and community. You are no longer living together in the same dorm or building, sharing classes and dining halls and student groups. However, I would strongly encourage everyone, whether a new grad or not, to not let distance and busyness be a deterrent from staying in touch with all of the incredible friends you made in college. The picture of your relationship may shift – you may talk once a month or once a semester, and may catch up by email or Skype or phone instead of in person, but when you do hear from each other, it will be like no time has passed at all. So many of my friends are off exploring the world or a new city or region in the country, many are working and many are in grad programs, some are married or engaged – everyone is at a different place in life now, which makes it even more exciting when I get to share in a little bit of what they are experiencing.

IMG_1154

Today is also a different transition for me – I am leaving Boston for the next 10 weeks. It feels so strange to be “going home” since Boston has been my home rather consistently for the past 3 years. I am excited to spend so much time with my family and my friends in NJ, but feel in some ways like I am putting my Boston life on hold for 2 months. I want to try to stay in touch with all of my Boston friends… I am excited to share about my summer cooking adventures, my time shadowing a family medicine doctor, and my trip through Eastern Europe this summer on my blog. (To be more regularly informed about my posts, you can click on the link to the right for an email subscription, or add my blog to your GoogleReader!) However, I don’t want just a passive sharing of adventures. Phone calls, emails, or through comments on my blog, please let me know the exciting things you are up to this summer! Also comment about what you would like to see more posts about, recipes you have tried and loved (or not loved!), and answers to the conversation starter questions I put at the end of most posts!

I am off to say a final farewell to my roommate, some friends, and to my home in Boston for the next few weeks and then make the long drive home to NJ. At least I have my sister for company on the trip!

Question: How do you handle change?

Entry filed under: Roamings.

Learning to be a Better Baker Good to Have a Grill!

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Maggie W  |  May 29, 2011 at 7:59 pm

    wow your blog is awesome :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Get recipes directly to your inbox as soon as they are posted

Join 217 other followers

Memberships


