Monkey Bites

May 18, 2011 at 9:00 am 2 comments

I have had some insane peanut butter banana cravings lately. It started when I made a quick sandwich out of necessity for lunch on Sunday (my fridge is pretty empty since I am leaving Boston for 2 months and don’t want to grocery shop), which triggered my taste buds’ memory of how much I love this combo. PB and banana sandwiches sustained me through a work trip in New Orleans (Katrina Relief Urban Plunge with Intervarsity Christian Fellowship) during Spring Break of my senior year. See the picture of our group (I’m in the way bottom row on the left)… we sheeted that whole house, and even started the wrapping! The sandwich is super filling and definitely keeps you ready to do some manual labor for the rest of the afternoon!

KRUP

I blame this wave of cravings on a different type of labor… Exams. Brain labor. Mental exhaustion. Well, these help make studying for the rest of the afternoon and evening seem a little more manageable. A little peanut butter protein to keep you full and chocolate for a mood booster! Plus, these will stay well in the freezer whenever you need an on-call pick me up. Look to the bottom of the post for the simple recipe, and enjoy this next time you need a study snack or a treat at the end of a stressful day!

IMG_2480

The only thing harder than my recently completed histology exam or upcoming endocrinology exam is covering things in chocolate… Kind of not kidding here. Call me crazy, but I always struggle to get the chocolate to melt just right whenever I am making chocolate covered strawberries, pretzels or monkey bites! My sister can attest to my super delicious but not so attractive peppermint bark cookies I attempted this past Christmas… I think I have finally learned though! Here is a little how-to if you, also, struggle with chocolate.

IMG_2478

Monkey Bites

makes about 8 bites

1 banana, sliced in 1 inch pieces
2 tbsp peanut butter
2 tbsp soy milk
1/4 cup chopped peanuts (optional)
3 oz dark chocolate
Slice banana into 1 inch pieces and put in freezer for about 1/2 hour. Melt peanut butter in a microwave safe bowl for 30-40 seconds. Mix in soy milk. Top each frozen banana slice with peanut butter mixture and return to freezer for about 1 hour. Melt chocolate over a hot water bath. Cover each peanut butter banana slice with chocolate. If you would like, roll in chopped peanuts. Return to freezer until chocolate is set. You can store monkey bites in a sealed container in the freezer for whenever that study or stress craving hits!

Entry filed under: Recipes. Tags: , , , , , , .

Stuffed Peppers One Year Down, Three to Go

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. No-Bake Cookies « homemadeadventure  |  August 24, 2011 at 7:35 am

    […] of banana bread!) There are plenty of other ways to use ‘em up: smoothies, oatmeal, pancakes, monkey bites, and introducing no-bake […]

    Reply
  • 2. Smarter than Your Average Monkey « homemadeadventure  |  July 29, 2012 at 4:41 pm

    […] salads and anything frozen. Last summer, I made a heavenly frozen treat that I nick named “Monkey Bites.” When I got around to making them again this summer, I found a way to simplify and clean up […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Get recipes directly to your inbox as soon as they are posted

Join 217 other followers

Memberships


