Happy Mother’s Day!

May 8, 2011 at 7:30 am 3 comments

I’ll love you forever,
I’ll like you for always,
As long as I’m living
my Mommy you’ll be.

– Love You Forever by Robert Munsch

The poem above is one of my favorite memories from childhood. My mom used to read me and my sister that book, and she would sing the poem, which starts out from mother to child, “As long as I’m living my baby you’ll be.” At the end of the book, the mother is old and the boy has become her caretaker, and he sings her the song. I rediscovered this book while I was working as a nanny, and still hear my mom’s voice reading it to me as I flip through the familiar pages. I am not an overly emotional person, but there are times when tears get the stoniest of us, and this song does it for me!

I will always be my mom’s baby – she spoils me like crazy and gets so excited when I get the chance to come home. More importantly, she will always be my mom: a great friend, a confidante, a role model, a guide. She is one of the strongest women I know. She is a breast cancer survivor. She is a great wife, sister, daughter, aunt, and mom. She is a leader at work, at home, and at church. She is brilliant, and yet she is humble. She is beautiful, and the sparkle in her eyes and smile invite you to share in her joy. She taught me (almost) everything I know about cooking, and yet is still open to sharing in new things I have learned. She encouraged me to pursue my dreams and not let anything hold me back. She believed in me, and still does. As I scribbled in my Mother’s Day card, I would be nowhere without my mom.

I always prefer homemade gifts and cards, especially for sentimental holidays like Mother’s Day. I really enjoy pulling together simple papercrafts that really remind me of the person I am making the card for. It is pretty simple to do, following a few basic principles.

1. Choose a size or shape. If you are not mailing the card, you can get all sorts of crazy. (I have made a coffee cup or a beer glass shaped card… think outside of the box rectangle.) If you are mailing the card, make sure that you match the size and/or shape of the card to a standard envelope.

2. Choose a theme. Whatever it is, it should remind you of the person you are making the card for. I stuck with flowers for this card, since they are the traditional Mother’s Day gift. Other themed cards I have made include a spin on the Flour bakery logo for my talented baker friend, and a drum set replica for my musician friend.

3. Choose a color scheme. Many papercrafts can be brilliant ideas, but are often overwhelmed by a lack of color cohesion. Pick three main colors, and try to keep them in the same family (brights, pastels, muted, naturals, etc.) This does not mean the same hue, tone or shade, unless you are going for a monochromatic look. Also, try not to choose competing patterns. Again, this does not mean you can’t mix patterns, just choose one that tends to be more dominant.

The only hard and fast rule is to be creative! Cut and lay everything out, and don’t be afraid to run with your ideas. Keep moving things around and trying new things until it looks just right. The end result will be much more meaningful than a store-bought card, and your friends and family will love it!

Question: What are you doing for your mom for Mother’s Day?

Entry filed under: Random. Tags: , , , , , .

Homemade Coffee Shop Homemade Gourmet

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Anne  |  May 8, 2011 at 9:41 pm

    Jen, That was awesome. We have that book I love you Forever. I think your mom gave it to us. It is one of the books that I kept for Phil and everytime I read it I always got choked up.

    This is an awesome tribute you gave your Mom.

    Auntie Anne

    Reply
    • 2. jenlenew  |  May 9, 2011 at 9:00 am

      thanks Auntie Anne! can’t wait to see you guys in a few weeks :)

      Reply
  • 3. EmandM  |  May 8, 2011 at 10:24 pm

    Oh my gosh! one of my favorite books ever!! =) seriously, I must have read it a million times

    but yes let’s bake!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Get recipes directly to your inbox as soon as they are posted

Join 217 other followers

Memberships


