Cookies for a Health Fair?

April 30, 2011 at 9:48 am 2 comments

“I need to make some cookies for the health fair I am helping to plan for Friday” I say to my roommate as we are sitting in the dining room. “Well, that seems counter-productive!” Silly roomie, these are not your ordinary cookies! These are super healthy, low-fat, low sugar, vegan and yet still really tasty amazing oatmeal raisin cookies (and yes, they need that long of an introductory title because they are that good.) I first stumbled upon this recipe when trying to figure out how to use up some homemade pumpkin butter that I experimented with this past fall. (I can only handle so much toast!) I remembered that applesauce and other types of fruit puree can often be substituted for some of the butter and oil in baked goods, so I gave my pumpkin butter a shot in these cookies, and it was amazing! It was hard not to just eat all of the dough, made even more tempting by the fact they are vegan and there are no threats of salmonella to scare me away! My first batch was straight up oatmeal raisin. The second contained some white chocolate and cranberries. I am sure there are more variations you could dream up if you are a big oatmeal cookie fan.

This time around, I have no more pumpkin butter at the ready, so I used pureed prunes instead. I searched for this obscure ingredient in a more dignified form, but apparently infants are the only ones who eat these things. So yes, baby food does make an appearance in these treats but, as I assured my skeptical roommate the other night… “Trust me, I usually know what I am doing.” They are a little denser than traditional oatmeal raisin cookies, but have all the sweetness and flavor of your beloved classic. They were a huge hit at the fair, with volunteers and tenants alike!

Unfortunately, these cookies were also made in a caffeine-induced frenzy. I had a To-Do List that even GoogleTasks couldn’t handle, and not enough time to accomplish everything. Enter coffee, and shaky hands. Luckily, no cookies were harmed in the making, but out of 10 photos, only one is not blurry enough to share. Maybe my caffeine tolerance is not what I thought…

Question: Do you have a favorite substitution that you use in beloved recipes to make them healthier? Applesauce in baked goods is my favorite trick for reducing cholesterol. I also rarely add salt unless I am baking and choose instead to allow people to use the table salt to season to their preference. Check out this list for more ideas, and share your own ideas by commenting below!

Super Healthy, Low-Fat, Low-Sugar, Vegan and Yet Still Really Tasty Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

(adapted from a recipe at SparkPeople)

1 cup whole wheat flour

1 1/2 cups quick-cooking oats

1/4 cup sugar

1 tsp. baking soda

1 tsp cinnamon

1/4 cup prune puree (or a jar of baby food!)

1/4 cup honey or molasses

1 tsp. vanilla extract

1/2 cup raisins

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Combine flor, oats, sugar and baking soda, and stir to mix well. Add the prune puree, honey, and vanilla extract; stir to mix well. Stir in raisins. Coat a baking sheet in cooking spray. Drop rounded teaspoonfuls of dough onto sheet, placing them 1-1/2 inches apart. Slightly flatten each cookie with the tip of a spoon. Bake for about 9 minutes, or until golden brown. Cool the cookies in the pan. Serve. Store cookies in an airtight container in single layers separated by waxed paper. Makes about 30 small cookies.


Entry filed under: Recipes. Tags: , , , , , .

Carrot Conundrum Why should I eat organic?

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. An Ode to Breakfast « homemadeadventure  |  May 2, 2011 at 6:58 am

    […] Skipping breakfast can make you feel more tired, perpetuating the morning haze that most people cure with coffee. Instead of grabbing that second or third or fourth cup, reach for some almonds, an apple, or a granola bar. This morning fuel will naturally rejuvenate your energy levels, and will help your focus and attentiveness without giving you the caffeine shakes. […]

    Reply
  • 2. Container Crazy? « homemadeadventure  |  May 13, 2011 at 7:31 am

    […] two more to store ground coffee and flax seeds. I am also using baby food jars left over from my health fair cookies to hold spices that I picked up for cheap at a Middle Eastern stand near Haymarket. I also have […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Get recipes directly to your inbox as soon as they are posted

Join 217 other followers

Memberships


