Carrot Conundrum

April 29, 2011 at 8:32 am 3 comments

Every other Tuesday, I get a box of produce delivered to my doorstep as part of the Boston Organics program. It is similar to a CSA except the organization works with organic farmers nationally so that customers get a more well-rounded box at all times of the year. For now, check out the website, but I will be sure to post about this awesome program more in the future!

While I love my box, you do not control what is coming to your doorstep. This occasionally leads to a stockpiling of lesser loved used produce. This week, I got my second bunch of organic carrots in a row, and I still hadn’t eaten my way through the last delivery! I love carrots as much as the next veg, but they usually only take me so far (aka carrot sticks and hummus) before I let them sit lonely in the bottom of my veggie drawer. With a dangerously high level of carrots on my hands this week, however, I decided to get a little more creative. I looked into my recipe archives on my computer for some quick carrot slaws, all inspired by a NY Times article I may or may not have found while surfing the internet in class at the beginning of the year…

The first salad, a classic Moroccan dish, made an appearance at my community group (the neighborhood Bible study from my church that I attend weekly) as part of our salad night. We share a themed potluck meal together each week that rotates between salads, sandwiches, pasta, pizza, breakfast for dinner, taco night, and some other randoms thrown in there for fun. It is almost always my favorite meal of the week, even if it is not cohesive, and I almost always am the one to ensure that veggies make an appearance.

The second salad caught my attention because it uses coconut, which I now have a ton leftover from my Raw Samosas that I made for Easter. It seems like a random list of ingredients, but is surprisingly tasty, and really filling! I made it in advance so that I have quick, grab-and-go lunches for next week.

Question: How do you clear out your vegetable drawer/random leftover ingredients, from your fridge? My go-to is usually a soup, but I may have to experiment with more salads like these as we enter into warmer weather!

Moroccan Carrot Slaw

3 cups shredded carrots

1 tbsp olive oil

juice of 1 lemon

1 tbsp toasted cumin seeds

¾ cup raisins

pinch salt

dash cumin powder

1 tbsp parsley

Grate peeled carrots in a food processor. Toast cumin seeds in a small pan over medium heat until fragrant. Mix all ingredients together in a large bowl. Let stand in fridge before serving to let all of the flavors come together.

UPDATE: This can also be served warm if you mix it in with some quinoa – a good way to keep leftovers a little more interesting by reinventing them!

Curried Carrot Slaw

1 can chickpeas

½ cup shredded unsweetened coconut

1 cup shredded carrots

1 head of celery, chopped

1 tbsp olive oil

2 tsp lime juice

1 ½ tsp curry powder

Drain chickpeas well. Mix together with carrots and celery. Add olive oil and lime juice and mix well. Stir in curry powder and coconut until well combined. Add more lime juice and curry powder to taste. Let stand in fridge before serving to let all of the flavors come together.

Entry filed under: Recipes. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Pasta Night Cookies for a Health Fair?

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. EmandM  |  April 29, 2011 at 9:01 am

    Whoa! You’ll have to tell me more about the boston organics program! I’ve been looking to sign up for something like a CSA but then I’m worried I won’t be able to finish everything… very cool!

    Reply
    • 2. jenlenew  |  April 30, 2011 at 12:42 am

      Of course! I’ll be making an upcoming post about it, but will answer any questions you have next time I see you in class :)

      Reply
  • 3. Moroccan Salad « homemadeadventure  |  November 3, 2011 at 10:39 pm

    […] Around the start of this blog, I was in a carrot conundrum. There are only so many carrot sticks I can eat before feeling like I am about to sprout some bunny ears! I am facing a similar predicament again! Getting 3-4 huge carrots every other week in my Boston Organics box is posing quite the challenge. Yes, I could put them on my “no” list and take a carrot break for a while, but they are tasty and delicious when you find a use for them… Time to bring back the carrot slaw! […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Get recipes directly to your inbox as soon as they are posted

Join 217 other followers

Memberships


