Happy Easter!

April 24, 2011 at 10:30 pm 7 comments

Happy Easter everyone! Even the sun came out in Boston this morning to celebrate the miracle of Christ’s resurrection. I had the most spectacular Sunday – I awoke to birds chirping and sunshine through my curtains and enjoyed some of these pancakes leftover from yesterday as I was getting ready for church. Tip for reheating pancakes – microwave them for 30 seconds first so they warm through, and then pop them in the toaster so they almost have that fresh from the skillet crunch. Church today was a treat – we had a string quartet join the usual band and got to enjoy some classical music during offertory. Pastor Um challenged us in his sermon to not just understand or believe the miracle of the cross, but to marvel at it and not let the day loose its majesty. The end of his sermon kept me thinking and reflecting as I walked through the sunny Boston Commons with a friend.

After a beautiful afternoon nap, I headed to The Lodge for Easter dinner. The Lodge is the home of four wonderful girls from my church whom I have gotten to know better over the past year – I truly admire and appreciate their hospitality. In total, there were about 15 of us sharing a meal and laughs. It truly felt like a family dinner, and it was wonderful to be in such great company.

My contribution to the night was dessert! I made two gluten-free treats in honor of one of the girls of the Lodge who is gluten-intolerant. Even though she wasn’t able to join us for dinner, the desserts came out well and no one could tell that they were gluten-free, or healthy! I made Raw Samoa Babies from Chocolate Covered Katie, which were fantastic. They are reminiscent of their parent, the Girls Scout Samoa cookies, from my childhood days as a Brownie. I rolled mine in coconut and drizzled them in chocolate, and they were incredible. Even better, they are simply dried fruit and chocolate, so they are really healthy for you, even though they taste decadent! My second dessert was brownies, but not just any old brownies. These had a black bean base, which no one believed after I divulged the secret to a few curious taste testers. I mean, who would think… black bean brownies! They have a fudge-ier consistency than some brownies, but again are so decadent that you would never believe they are healthy! The recipe is from 101 Cookbooks – I replaced some of the agave nectar with honey simply for cost reasons, and used two 8×8 pans lined with foil and cooking spray because of my limited baking supplies. The brownies took almost an hour to cook instead of the 40 minutes the recipe called for, and definitely need to set in the fridge over night before I could cut into them. To all of you skeptics reading this and thinking that you could never hide beans in brownies, don’t knock it until you have tried it!

Hope that you all had an amazing Easter Sunday as well! Christ is risen, He is risen indeed!

Entry filed under: Recipes. Tags: , , , , , , .

Sweet Potato Pancakes My First Whole Foods Experience

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. EmandM  |  April 24, 2011 at 11:12 pm

    omg samoa babies??? YUM Samoas are the besttttt!

    Reply
  • 2. chocolate katie  |  April 25, 2011 at 6:08 am

    awww happy Easter! This post made me smile so much!! :) :)

    Reply
  • 3. My First Whole Foods Experience « homemadeadventure  |  April 25, 2011 at 8:32 pm

    […] the neighborhood because I was cat sitting for a friend, and needed to pick up a few things for my desserts for Easter, so I figured why […]

    Reply
  • 4. Carrot Conundrum « homemadeadventure  |  April 29, 2011 at 7:51 am

    […] second salad caught my attention because it uses coconut, which I now have a ton leftover from my Raw Samosas that I made for Easter. It seems like a random list of ingredients, but is surprisingly tasty, and […]

    Reply
  • […] I am closest to are not my family at all. Take my Boston family, for example, with whom I shared a potluck Easter dinner. On Sunday, I was lucky enough to hang out with my adopted aunt and cousins for Mother’s Day. […]

    Reply
  • 6. One Smart Blondie « homemadeadventure  |  May 28, 2011 at 11:10 pm

    […] vegan dessert blog. This is the second of her vegan dessert recipes I have tried (the first being Raw Samoas) and have had excellent results both times. Check out her blog for more great healthy dessert […]

    Reply
  • 7. No-Bake Cookies « homemadeadventure  |  August 24, 2011 at 7:35 am

    […] by another one of Chocolate Covered Katie’s creations. I have had great success with her Samoas Babies, and with her Chickpea Blondies. I love her dessert recipes because they are healthy and fun, and […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Get recipes directly to your inbox as soon as they are posted

Join 217 other followers

Memberships


