Sweet Potato Pancakes

April 23, 2011 at 12:41 pm 10 comments

Good morning world! It is a good day to not have to study, and even the rain cannot dampen my mood today! In celebration of finally having a true morning off, I slept in (sad that 8am feels like sleeping in…), made myself a delicious breakfast, and enjoyed it as I reflected on the upcoming Easter holiday. I was particularly convicted by this passage in Matthew, and felt painfully aware of how often I, like, Peter, deny or attempt to hide the work that Christ has done in my life. Hope you, too, can find some time for reflection on this Easter weekend!

I have an enormous amount of sweet potatoes (courtesy of an unfulfilled craving for sweet potato fries the last time my mom took me on a Costco shopping spree) and need to use them up before they whither and mold in my closet. My roommate made sweet potato pancakes yesterday, and I knew I had to try them (my recipe, below, is a little different than hers, but similar in its idea). These were even more delicious than I expected, after getting mixed reviews from my roommate’s experiment! They are made slightly healthier by using whole-wheat flour, less butter than the original recipe calls for, and more natural sugars. Also, you get some veggie in your breakfast! Sweet potatoes are packed with beta-carotene, vitamins A and C, and fiber, which makes them a superfood, linked to clearer, healthier skin. (Read more here or here or here!) Even still, this is a pretty filling breakfast and is definitely a special occasion treat.

Some tips for this recipe: steam the sweet potato for about 5 minutes with the skin still on, and then run it under cold water. This will make it ridiculously easy to peel, even using a dull hand-me-down kitchen peeler like I have! Then throw the sweet potato back in to steam until it is very soft. I used a food processor to mash the sweet potato, but if you do not have this tool you need it to be very soft to mash by hand. Also, pancakes come out best when your pan or griddle is very hot, so let your pan heat up for a minute or two before adding the batter. This batter is a little on the thick side, so spread it out with a spoon or a spatula in the pan as soon as you pour it, so you get fully cooked pancakes instead of crispy crusts and doughy centers.

I have a lot of upcoming posts lined up (I tend to cook A LOT when I have a little free time on my hands) so here are some things to look forward to: Boston family Easter dinner (with my dessert contributions), sweet potato gnocchi, Southwestern scramble, stuffed peppers, my first experience at Whole Foods, and some thoughts on when and why to eat organic. Let me know which post you would like to see first!

Sweet Potato Pancakes with Cinnamon-Pecan Butter (makes about 8 pancakes, enough for 3-4 people)

Ingredients: (adapted from a recipe at The Food Network)

For pancakes:

1 cup whole wheat flour

2 tsp baking powder

1 tbsp brown sugar

1 tsp cinnamon

pinch nutmeg

1 cup milk (soymilk works fine!)

1 tsp canola oil

1 egg

1 small sweet potato, steamed until tender and pureed

For pecan butter:

1/4 cup pecans, toasted and cooled

2 tbsp Light Smart Balance spread

1 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp vanilla

1 tbsp agave nectar (can substitute with more honey)

1 tsp honey

3 tbsp soymilk

For pecan butter, toast pecans in a 400 degree oven for 10-15 minutes until light brown and fragrant. Let cool while making pancake batter.

Combine all of the dry ingredients in a large bowl and whisk together. Mix in wet ingredients, and finally add in pureed sweet potato. Mix until smooth.

Finish pecan butter by adding all ingredients to a food processor. Should be a slightly runny but still nut-buttery consistency, so adjust with soy milk to get this just right.

Cook pancakes in batches on a hot skillet until golden brown. Serve drizzled with pecan butter and sprinkled cinnamon.

Entry filed under: Recipes. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Homemade Mushroom and Goat Cheese Ravioli Happy Easter!

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Helen  |  April 23, 2011 at 3:46 pm

    Boston Family Easter Dinner first please! (and then the whole foods experience!)

    Reply
  • 2. leanna  |  April 24, 2011 at 6:38 pm

    JEN, THIS IS AWESOME! i am trying this one day this week. p.s i wish you were here for Easter.

    Reply
    • 3. jenlenew  |  April 24, 2011 at 9:37 pm

      aw, thanks Leanna! I miss you guys! I am excited to be home this summer. We should throw a Jen and Leanna dinner party for the families :)

      Reply
      • 4. leanna  |  April 27, 2011 at 5:44 pm

        ahhh yes! sounds perfect:)

        Reply
  • 5. Happy Easter! « homemadeadventure  |  April 24, 2011 at 10:30 pm

    […] Sunday – I awoke to birds chirping and sunshine through my curtains and enjoyed some of these pancakes leftover from yesterday as I was getting ready for church. Tip for reheating pancakes […]

    Reply
  • 6. Daniel Lee  |  April 25, 2011 at 4:17 pm

    serves 3 – 4 or one me.

    Reply
  • 7. An Ode to Breakfast « homemadeadventure  |  May 2, 2011 at 6:58 am

    […] just happens to be my favorite meal of the day (Exhibit A). As a kid, my friends would always laugh at me during sleepovers because the first words out of my […]

    Reply
  • […] for frequent cereal dinners and some of my guy friends admit to doing, but an omelette or some sweet potato pancakes for dinner every once in a while – yes […]

    Reply
  • 9. Sweet Potatoes Three Ways « homemadeadventure  |  October 9, 2011 at 9:05 am

    […] of my favorite ingredients to play with. They work well with almost any spice combo, whether it be maple and cinnamon, curry and ginger, or cumin and chili powder. They are so versatile, really nutritious, cheap and […]

    Reply
  • 10. How to Surprise Your Sister « homemadeadventure  |  November 15, 2011 at 1:04 am

    […] for a few of my recipes. I chuckled silently to myself when she told me she was going to make my sweet potato pancakes that Saturday! Little did she know… We still made the pancakes, and they were just as good as […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Get recipes directly to your inbox as soon as they are posted

Join 217 other followers

Memberships


