Homemade Mushroom and Goat Cheese Ravioli

April 22, 2011 at 9:29 pm 6 comments

Daydreaming in class or while I am studying often has delicious consequences. This week, I had some mushrooms languishing in my fridge (cooking was on a hiatus as I was sideswiped preparing for my physiology exam…) and I knew that I wanted to do something different with them. I was sick of my go-to stir fries (which tend to be mushrooms, leafy greens, and whatever other veggies I have in my fridge over rice) and didn’t feel a mushroom omelette, and then I had a moment of brilliance. I would saute them with garlic, balsamic vinegar, and creamy goat cheese, and then use them to fill a ravioli. Perfection! Even my foodie friend was impressed.

It has become tradition for me and my roommate to make fresh pasta together after my exams. It is time-consuming, and so it is really the only point in my school schedule that I allow myself that luxury. Most days, I am a fan of one pot or pan meals, and tend towards anything that makes good leftovers for lunch the next day. I am a no-fuss kind of cook, but even I like to get a little fancy now and then!

My mom got me a pasta roller for my birthday, and it has taken us a few tries to work out the kinks, but we finally have our system perfected! My roommate is the roller-holder (that Ironman strength comes in handy!) and I am the mad scientist. The first time we made pasta, it came out hole-y. We realized that to get the pasta just right, you have to roll it out thick at first, and then continue to make the roller thinner each time you send it through. This leads to perfect pasta sheets! It also helps to flour the rolling wheel as you work it through, as well as flour the countertop and each sheet as you lay them out. We now even have the folding method down to get (almost) square edges on each sheet. We are either quick learners, or there are too many exams in medical school…

Ravioli can be particularly tricky to get right. If the sheets are too thin, they tend to pop. If they are too thick, they taste doughy. If you overfill them, they pop. If you look at them wrong, they pop! But they are worth the hard work in the end, trust me! I served my delicious ravioli with fresh grated Parmesan over a bit of arugula, and had some Balsamic roasted Brussels spouts on the side. (They only had frozen at the store, so they came out a little watery. Learned that I don’t love all Brussels sprouts!) My roommate and our upstairs neighbor joined me for a delicious dinner filled with side-splitting laughs, a perfect way to celebrate my pass on the physio exam and my neighbor’s birthday!

Goat Cheese and Mushroom Ravioli (serves 4)

Ingredients:

For Pasta (adapted from Williams & Sonoma The Pasta Book):

3 eggs

1 tbsp olive oil

1 cup whole wheat flour

½ cup white flour

pinch salt

For Filling:

1 tsp chopped garlic chopped garlic

Splash of vegetable broth

1 cup chopped mushrooms

Splash of balsamic

4 oz goat cheese

In a food processor, mix flours, salt, and eggs until dough starts to form. Add olive oil slowly to help bring the dough together. (This can also be done by hand if you do not have a food processor by making a mound out of the flour with a dip in the middle for the eggs). Once the dough has formed, leave in bowl and cover with a towel to let stand for about 20 minutes.

Meanwhile, quarter the mushrooms. In a pan, sauté garlic. Add the mushrooms and a splash of vegetable broth to keep them soft. Once the broth has evaporated, add a splash of balsamic (adjust to your own tastes). Crumble in the goat cheese and heat through until the mushroom mixture is creamy.

Roll out the pasta dough into sheets and cut into rectangles. Fill each ravioli with slightly less than a tablespoon of mushroom mixture and then pinch the sides closed. Once you have all your ravioli, drop into boiling water for about 3 minutes (they will float when done.) Any remaining mushroom mixture can be thinned out with more vegetable broth to make a sauce for the top of the ravioli.

Serve over arugula with grated Parmesan cheese and enjoy!

Entry filed under: Recipes. Tags: , , , .

The adventure begins… Sweet Potato Pancakes

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Rufus' Food and Spirit Guide  |  April 22, 2011 at 10:07 pm

    That filling sounds amazing. Great recipe.

    Reply
    • 2. jenlenew  |  April 23, 2011 at 3:01 am

      Thanks! I just checked out your blog and those artichokes look amazing! I tried cooking some a few years ago and it was an utter failure, but I might have to try again :)

      Reply
  • 3. EmandM  |  April 22, 2011 at 10:50 pm

    Ahh!! Homemade pasta, that is amazing!!

    ps google reader also fuels my addiction… sigh. Love the blog!!

    Reply
    • 4. jenlenew  |  April 23, 2011 at 3:02 am

      Thanks! I’m adding your blog to my GoogleReader!

      Reply
  • 5. em  |  April 23, 2011 at 2:10 am

    yey Jen! This is so fun. Good for you! and sounds scrumptious!

    Reply
  • 6. Roommate Dinner « homemadeadventure  |  April 27, 2011 at 9:59 am

    […] schedules. We usually make something simpler, like a stir fry, and occasionally get fancy with some homemade pasta. Last night was one of our fancier nights – we tested out a recipe for sweet potato gnocchi […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Get recipes directly to your inbox as soon as they are posted

Join 217 other followers

Memberships


