Sister Sister

October 24, 2013 at 11:05 am 3 comments

My sister is my best friend. Always has been always will be. We have been through everything together.  From the day I was born, my sister was my watcher, my guardian.  She thought I was her own personal baby doll that our parents created special for her to play with. My sister was my influence, whether it getting into trouble eating mom’s spices or playing “IFF” in the bathroom mixing chemicals, or my inspiration to do the best I can in school and life. My sister is the strongest woman I know. She was born with a one in a million birth defect leaving her to endure an absurd amount of surgeries. Despite the struggles and scars on her face, my sister has never thought of herself as different.  Our mom tells a story about after one of Jen’s surgeries Jen looked into the mirror and saw her bruised and scarred face, which would have scared most children. Jen, always sunny and sparkling, smiled and said, “Mommy said it would be ok, it will all be better soon” and went on playing. She developed into a woman with not only a beautiful soul, but a beautiful exterior as well.  My sister has taught me some of the most important lessons in my life. She has encouraged me to be a strong independent woman.  She taught me how to be serious and determined, but also how to be the silliest person and let my freak flag fly.  We have gone through everything together, and it is no surprise that we are now planning our weddings together! She has demonstrated her incredible faith in God through every challenge in her life, and also through every celebration.  She is my constant reminder that nothing life throws at you is big enough to stop you.  With faith in God and a strong supportive family, nothing can stop you. My sister is my best friend and my inspiration.

Me and my beautiful sister

Me and my beautiful sister

If you haven’t noticed yet, this isn’t Jen, this is her little sister and biggest admirer, Chelsea. As you can imagine, Jen is phenomenally busy keeping up with her 4th year of medical school, going to residency interviews (because of course everyone wants her so she has like 20 in the next few months) and planning a wedding with the love of her life.  As I said, Jen has always been my biggest influence and inspiration.  While most people say their mom and grandmother taught them to cook, I really credit my sister for teaching me to cook.  Sure my mom taught me the basics, but my sister showed me the excitement and creativity in cooking.  I remember when she came to visit me my sophomore year of college when I finally had a tiny kitchenette.  We trudged over to the local grocery store and collected food to make a vegetable primavera dish.  The space was so small, we had to cut the vegetables up on a cutting board set on a chair.  We made a make shift table in the center of the tiny room and enjoyed our dinner together. The food was delicious, but more importantly, this was the turning point in when I discovered the fun in cooking. This has spurred me to believe I am always on “Chopped” and have fun creating all sorts of different creations, many from Jen’s blog. Since Jen is so busy and doesn’t have the time right now, I thought it might be fun to post a few posts for her.

Our makeshift dorm room dining table and delicious meal

Our makeshift dorm room dining table and delicious meal

IMG_20101023_181122

Look how cute she is!

So you know my sister, and have read some stories about me, but I figured I’d tell a little about myself. Recently I discovered I have an under-active thyroid.  This has contributed to a large decrease in energy, and also some weight gain.  My sister has been my biggest advocate in seeking proper treatment and also my coach in making healthy decisions to help keep my energy up and my weight down. I am proud to say that in the past 3 weeks, I have lost 3 pounds.  Now this doesn’t sound like a huge accomplishment to most, but to me it is the world.  After gaining nearly 25 pounds in 6 months without altering my lifestyle, I am happy my weight is going anywhere but up. And if it is a pound a week, I will be back to my slim happy self by the time my beautiful sister gets married.  I also just recently graduated college at the end of August and passed my board certification exam to become a music therapist at the end of September.  So I am now patiently (not really, but trying) waiting for the right job to come along, while embracing my lifestyle of being a housewife to my wonderful fiance, Mike, and raising my adorable puppy, Archer. I am not a vegetarian like my sister, so most of my dishes posted will probably contain meat.  But right now, my focus is on healthy, low fat foods.  I have a rehearsal dinner to attend tonight, so you can look for my first food post tomorrow.  I’m excited to be apart of Jen’s blog, which has inspired me and many for years, and I do hope to be able to keep up with the high level of cuisine that she has previously posted!

Me and my fiance, admittedly quite a bit more country than Jen

Me and my fiance, admittedly quite a bit more country than Jen

My little boy!!

My little boy!!

I have also never blogged and am admittedly not the most tech savvy person.  I prefer to stick to my acoustic guitar and piano. This being said, bear with me as I figure out this blogging thing.

Entry filed under: Ramblings. Tags: , , , , .

Simple, Healthy, Delicious Cucumber Grilled Cheese

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jen's Mom  |  October 24, 2013 at 11:19 am

    Beautiful Chelsea! I am so glad to sharing this journey called life with two of the most amazing young women I know!

    Reply
  • 2. Anne Grant  |  October 24, 2013 at 4:40 pm

    What a nice tribute to your sister! You did a great job writing the blog. We love you both and can’t wait to celebrate two weddings next spring.

    Reply
  • 3. homemadeadventure  |  April 8, 2014 at 3:35 pm

    […] feeling” about where I would spend my next 3 years of training. During this time, my sister wrote a few posts to fill in the gaps. I thought things would slow down after the holidays, when I […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Get recipes directly to your inbox as soon as they are posted

Join 200 other followers

Memberships


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 200 other followers

