It’s Fall Y’all: Oats

October 28, 2012 at 7:00 am 6 comments

To me, oats scream fall. There is nothing better on a chilly, fall morning than a big bowl of hot oatmeal. Oats are also essential to great apple crisps and crumbles, or fresh oatmeal cookies. I love oats so much that I have earned the reputation amongst my friends as “Oatmeal Queen.” I will gladly wear that title. If oatmeal isn’t your thing, than maybe granola is. My goal has been to perfect the granola making process, and I think I am finally getting there! I like making granola better than buying it because you have so much more control over the amount of sugar that goes into your cereal. These two recipes really fit the bill!

IMG_5885

Almond Butter Granola is a great option for a fast, no-fuss weekday granola. It takes seconds to prep, minutes to bake, and is so delicious! It is not overly sweet and is a great addition to trail mix or over yogurt!

IMG_5917

Like I said last week, this Coconut Ginger Granola is possibly my new favorite treat! I used Smart Balance butter instead of coconut oil, omitted the Brazil nuts, and added a bit of ginger syrup, otherwise following the recipe pretty closely! This recipe makes me never want to buy granola from a store again.

In case those aren’t enough ideas, here are some links to my favorite oatmeal recipes…

Oatmeal

30 Days of Oatmeal

Caramelized Banana Baked Oatmeal

Oatmeal Greek Yogurt Pancakes

Cinnamon Oat Lace Cookies

…and some more that I have yet to try!

No-Sugar Oat Drops

Oatmeal Sandwich Bread

Question: Are you an oatmeal fan?

Entry filed under: Recipes. Tags: , , , , .

Stuffed Delicata Squash Cooking with Kohlrabi

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Maggie  |  October 28, 2012 at 8:30 am

    omg this is making my mouth water! I love breakfast food <3

    Reply
  • 2. Jennifer Stott (@JenSto2t)  |  October 28, 2012 at 11:06 am

    That coconut ginger granola is my favorite thing, too! I might have to try it with ginger syrup sometime.

    Reply
  • 3. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide  |  October 28, 2012 at 2:04 pm

    You do love your oats. I’d forgotten how much!

    Reply
  • 4. Scrambled Megs  |  October 29, 2012 at 12:23 am

    I only just found out that oats and wheat were different! Which makes me excited as I can eat them without being bloaty and I just love them as well!

    Reply
    • 5. homemadeadventure  |  October 29, 2012 at 8:32 am

      I know! Just be careful– depending on how sensitive you are, some oats are processed on the same equipment as wheat. My sister (gluten intolerant) is fine, but many people with Celiac’s or an allergy have to be a little more cautious!

      Reply
  • 6. It’s Fall Y’all: Foliage « homemadeadventure  |  November 10, 2012 at 8:32 am

    [...] Oats [...]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Get recipes directly to your inbox as soon as they are posted

Join 212 other followers

Memberships


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 212 other followers

