A Pictorial Retelling of my Golden Weekend

September 26, 2012 at 6:50 pm 2 comments

A “Golden Weekend” is really a disappointing concept, I now realize as I sit here typing this. It simply means a 2 1/2 day weekend between rotations – no studying, no stress, no guilt. Only in med school do we get excited over 2 day weekends! Regardless of my sanity level, I spent my rare weekend off relaxing with girlfriends and visiting with my parents. Here is a recap of my weekend in pictures!

FRIDAY: Girl’s Night

When the boyfriend goes out of town, its time to get all the girls together for food, wine, and girly fun! It has been months since I have had time to entertain, so I loved being able to make a few recipes that have been collecting on Pinterest and test them out on a few friends. Coincidentally, they are both from Savory Simple… and are both amazing! We had some Jalapeno Poppers for an appetizer and Chocolate Covered Pretzel Peanut Butter Blondies (which I have renamed PMS Blondies) for dessert. Not only were they delicious, they were pretty simple to make!

IMG_5853

IMG_5850

SATURDAY MORNING: Lazy Baked Oatmeal

A friend slept over after the Girls Night, and we had noble plans to do yoga and have a productive morning. We decided a lazy morning would be slightly more restorative instead… This Baked Pumpkin Oatmeal from Chocolate Covered Katie fit the bill perfectly! I topped it with a few chopped almonds and fresh ground cinnamon, and enjoyed it with French Press hot coffee. (My cinnamon brew trick still works in a French Press for perfect Fall coffee!)

IMG_5862

SATURDAY AFTERNOON: Parents and their Surprises

My parents drove up from New Jersey to celebrate my birthday with me, and spoiled me beyond belief! Not only did I get an iPad for my birthday (and finishing the boards and my two hardest rotations and Christmas!) but they also stocked me up on some Costco pantry essentials and a few Whole Foods treats!

2012-09-22_14-38-26_933

2012-09-22_16-34-35_228

SATURDAY EVENING: Family Dinner

After some major food shopping, what could be better than making dinner?! My parents asked where I wanted to go for my birthday, and after a month away from my kitchen, I decided nothing sounded better than a home-cooked meal. My aunt joined us for an amazing 3 course birthday dinner at home: cheese and crackers, lemon-herbed fish en papillote (loosely based on this recipe) with roasted asparagus, and leftover blondies with vanilla ice cream for dessert. The day was filled with laughs, stories, and great food – a perfect day!

IMG_5864

IMG_5869

SUNDAY: Oatmeal, Church, and Dim Sum

Our morning was off to a healthy start with oatmeal, my Banana Bread Oats more specifically! (If I can turn my Dad into an oatmeal lover, anything is possible… I swear these oatmeal recipes are magic!) After church, we finished off an amazing weekend with Dim Sum in Chinatown. Filled with dumplings of all shapes and sizes, it was a fun way to wrap up a fun weekend with my parents!

IMG_5873

IMG_5874

Question: What did you do this weekend? Did you try any new recipes or new restaurants?

Entry filed under: Ramblings. Tags: , , , , , .

Snapshots from Life Comfort Food Craving

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Don Grant  |  September 27, 2012 at 9:53 am

    We really enjoyed the pictures of your weekend
    Love
    Pop & Grandma

    Reply
  • 2. Comfort Food Craving « homemadeadventure  |  September 30, 2012 at 7:15 pm

    [...] while stuck in traffic on my way home. I had a bunch of leftover tidbits of ingredients from my Girl’s Night and a lot of leafy greens from my Boston Organics box that seemed to scream out for a creamy pasta [...]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Get recipes directly to your inbox as soon as they are posted

Join 220 other followers

Memberships


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 220 other followers

