Greek Yogurt and Oatmeal Pancakes

June 4, 2012 at 7:57 pm 3 comments

Breakfast is my favorite meal of the day, and arguably one of the most important. Starting your day with wholesome grains and fruits sets the tone for your day’s meals, and wakes up your metabolism. I am never one to skip a meal, but it looks like hot breakfasts might be a luxury for me over the upcoming months! I am starting a new chapter in my medical school career: clinical rotations. This means I get to don my white coat and stethoscope, follow around the interns, residents and attending, and learn how to take care of patients. This also means that I have to be at the hospital at ungodly hours for rounds, at least for my first few rotations. Even this oatmeal loving girl might have to find some on-the-go options for the next few months!

IMG_5710

Forgive the blurry picture, but I wanted to show off my fancy flower spatula!

In the meantime, I hope you all at least get to enjoy this pancake recipe! I made it for brunch last weekend, and despite a few cooking time and temperature problems, I think it turned out well! I adapted the recipe from How Sweet Eats to incorporate oats, since they are my breakfast staple. The pancakes are dense, but are hearty and filling and go great with fresh fruit toppings. If you are looking for a healthy pancake alternative, give this a shot!

Question: What is your favorite grab-and-go breakfast?

IMG_5712

No need for syrup!

Oatmeal Greek Yogurt Pancakes

adapted from this recipe, serves 4-6

1 cup oats, processed roughly into flour in food processor

1 cup whole wheat flour

2 tsp baking powder

1 1/2 tsp cinnamon

1/4 tsp salt

1 can light coconut milk

1/2 cup soy milk

3/4 cup Greek yogurt

1 tbsp vanilla

1 1/2 tbsp honey

Mix together dry ingredients in one bowl and wet ingredients in another. Pour wet into dry ingredients and stir until well combined. On a very hot griddle coated in cooking spray, drop 1/4-1/3 cup batter per pancake. Once bubbles form, flip. (Note: these pancakes take slightly longer to cook per side than traditional pancakes.) Serve warm with jam and fresh fruit.

Entry filed under: Recipes. Tags: , , , , .

Drunken Fruit Stuffed Collard Greens

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ashley  |  August 20, 2012 at 4:54 am

    This recipe sounds awesome, but do you have any suggestions for substitutions for the soy and coconut milk? Would regular cow’s milk work, or more Greek yogurt? I make my own yogurt, so perhaps I could not strain some and use the more liquid-y runnier version of the yogurt in place of the milks?

    Reply
    • 2. homemadeadventure  |  August 21, 2012 at 7:15 pm

      Usually any type of milk works in my recipes – I tend just to use what I have on hand. That is amazing that you make your own yogurt! I’d love to try that some day!

      Reply
  • 3. It’s Fall Y’all: Oats « homemadeadventure  |  October 28, 2012 at 7:12 am

    [...] Oatmeal Greek Yogurt Pancakes [...]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Get recipes directly to your inbox as soon as they are posted

Join 217 other followers

Memberships


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 217 other followers

