WIAW on Wednesday

February 29, 2012 at 7:55 pm 2 comments

IMG_5334

Happy Leap Year, which means a special Happy Birthday to my best friend! She is celebrating her 6th real birthday today by going to see Wicked on Broadway, and I hope that she enjoys her special day! My 29th of February was much more mundane – studying, running, meetings, more studying… but we did finally get some snow here in Boston! After a pretty mild winter, it is kind of fun to sit inside and watch the world get coated in a sparkling white blanket outside of my window! As long as I don’t have to venture out in it right away! Here is a peek into my real Wednesday, since I forgot to take pictures on Tuesday:

Breakfast: 7:45am

IMG_5372

It's totally normal to drink your breakfast smoothie out of a beer glass, right?

I wanted to pack the veggies into my meals today to mark the end of “Love Your Veggies” month, so what better way to do that than with a Green Monster? Spinach, frozen banana, peanut butter, Greek yogurt, milk and a bit of agave blended into a green breakfast delight. My 2nd favorite way to get the day off to a nutritious start! And no morning is complete without French pressed coffee…

Lunch: 1pm

IMG_5377

Kimchi for lunch means smelly breath later, despite a good teeth brushing. Sorry, friends!

I snuck out for a 30-minute tempo run before the snow started coming down, but it was chilly! I warmed up with a big bowl of leftover kimchi, brown rice and tofu. I cannot take credit for the making of this Korean cuisine – it was leftover from dinner with a friend over the weekend. However, I think it would be fun to try my hand at making my own kimchi one day! If you don’t know what kimchi is, it is essentially spicy, fermented cabbage. It smells up your entire kitchen, but is really tasty and good for you!

Snack: 4:30pm

IMG_5378

I munched on 2 bowls of grapes while studying away a snowy evening. I also drank a ton of water, since I am trying to be better about staying hydrated!

Dinner: 7:30pm

IMG_5380

Dinner was a quick and easy pocket sandwich. Some chopped broccoli, spinach, and adzuki bean sprouts stuffed into a toasted pita pocket with some of Katie’s vegan ranch. Simple and satisfying, especially when paired with a glass of white wine and Brazilian candies for dessert!

IMG_5382

Question: How did you celebrate the Leap Year?

Entry filed under: Random. Tags: , , , .

Cabb-wages Recipe Roundup

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Melanie  |  March 1, 2012 at 1:56 am

    We didn’t do much to celebrate leap year…it was one of those days, and it made me happy that leap year day comes just once every four years. That means I don’t have to have a bad day ’til 2016, right?! :)

    P.S. Completely random question: I made smoothies with spinach before and I could NEVER get all the spinach to blend in, which meant little spinach chunks, which is just…sort of weird. Is it just my blender? Or is there a special trick to pureed spinach? :)

    Reply
    • 2. homemadeadventure  |  March 1, 2012 at 10:41 am

      Maybe it is your blender? I throw a big handful of washed spinach in, not chopped or prepped in any way and it usually works! Maybe try pureeing the spinach first and then adding everything else if your blender is a little less powerful?

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Get recipes directly to your inbox as soon as they are posted

Join 212 other followers

Memberships


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 212 other followers

