WIAW On My Day “Off”

January 18, 2012 at 8:22 am 6 comments

You know you are a med student when:

A. you ask for highlighters and notecards for Christmas

B. you get excited about going to an outside-of-school lecture on the link between diabetes and obesity

C. you view a day off as an extra reading day for your upcoming exam

D. all of the above.

Guilty as charged. Even nerds have to eat, though! Here is a glimpse into my MLK Day!

Breakfast: 9:15am

IMG_4849

Oatmeal again? There are just too many good ways to enjoy it, and I love how it warms me up in the morning! This morning’s flavor: banana bread, enjoyed with a big mug of French press coffee.

Workout: 11:45am

I started Jillian Michael’s “No More Trouble Zones” – but I couldn’t finish! I need lighter weights, stronger arms, or a longer attention span… or maybe this is another all of the above question ;)

Lunch: 12:45pm

IMG_5237

My aunt had me over for dinner on Saturday, and graciously found a vegan friendly recipe for me! It was absolutely incredible the first time, so I was happy to take home some leftovers! The recipe is from her Sicilian hair dresser, and contains cauliflower, raisins, pine nuts, bread crumbs and saffron. I would love to try to recreate it for myself sometime! I had some mixed salad greens and spinach with almonds, cranberries and balsamic viniagrette on the side.

Afternoon Snacks

My afternoon was spent doing work with a friend at Panera. Unfortunately, not the most vegan friendly if you have a craving for something sweet, but I was satisfied with a handful of peanuts and raisins, an orange, and a bottomless mug of hot tea!

Dinner: 7:15pm

IMG_5247

Dan was complaining about how his veggie and rice dinners are getting boring, and so I recommended this peanut sauce to him. I used to make it a lot in college, and would always share the recipe with guy friends who were new to cooking. It is easy and the ingredients are something most people always have on hand. I spiced up the basic sauce recipe a bit, and was amazed by the results. I may or may not have used a spatula to scrape up every last drop… give me peanut butter and veggies in one meal and I am a happy girl. You can be happy, too, since the recipe is below!

Dessert: 9pm

IMG_5252

I needed to make cookies to bring to a friend’s house on Tuesday, which needed to be vegan friendly and use only what I had on hand. Enter these Skinny Fig Bars from Fat Free Vegan Kitchen. Of course taste testing was in order! I was shocked by how well these turned out. They have almost no added sugar, and are reminiscent of Fig Newtons, but have an even better texture. I used some fresh squeezed orange juice instead of lemon juice and anise extract, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly!

Question: Did you have off for MLK day? 

IMG_5244

Thai Peanut-Ginger Stir Fry

serves 4

for sauce:

1/4 cup peanut butter

2 tbsp low sodium soy sauce

1 tbsp + 1 tsp lime juice

2 tbsp water

1/2 tsp ground giner

1/2 tsp crushed red chili flakes

1/2 tsp garlic powder

for stir fry:

1 tbsp olive oil

1/2 large onion

8 oz mushrooms, sliced

1 red and 1 orange bell pepper, sliced

2 large handfuls snap peas, cut in half

1 cup brown rice, cooked according to instructions

1/4 cup peanuts, chopped

Mix together all of the ingredients for the peanut sauce in a small bowl. Set aside. Over medium heat, sautee onions in olive oil until translucent. Add mushrooms and cook for 2-3 minutes. Add the snap peas and bell peppers and sautee for 3-4 more minutes. Stir in the peanut sauce until vegetables are well coated. Serve over cooked brown rice and top each bowl with 1 tbsp chopped peanuts.

Entry filed under: Ramblings, Recipes. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , .

Woah, We’re Halfway There Vegan Entertaining

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. MassachusEATS  |  January 18, 2012 at 12:36 pm

    The stir-fry & fig bars look delish – thanks for sharing! [Found your post through WIAW]

    Reply
  • 2. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide  |  January 18, 2012 at 1:48 pm

    Oh I love stir fries, looks great.

    Reply
  • 3. Rachel  |  January 18, 2012 at 1:57 pm

    That peanut sauce looks incredible. Essentially, it’s just mixing all of my favorite flavors in one bowl! And, it’s pretty much all things I hve in my pantry. How do you manage to not just eat it with a spoon? I am definitely trying that one this week! Thanks for the inspiration!

    Reply
    • 4. homemadeadventure  |  January 21, 2012 at 11:01 pm

      I definitely had a few tastes straight from the bowl as I was making this, some maybe a bit beyond what was necessary for testing ;)

      Reply
  • 5. Jessica  |  January 19, 2012 at 1:00 am

    The stir-fry sounds amazing! Thanks for sharing the recipe…I can’t wait to create it at home!

    Reply
    • 6. homemadeadventure  |  January 21, 2012 at 11:00 pm

      I hope you get to try it! So simple, but so delicious!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Get recipes directly to your inbox as soon as they are posted

Join 200 other followers

Memberships


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 200 other followers

