Vegan Pesto

January 9, 2012 at 9:00 am 6 comments

Ever eat something that is super tasty, but no so photogenic? Can’t always judge a book by its cover, and that is certainly true for this dish! The spaghetti squash absorbs a little more of the color from the pesto than pasta does, which gives everything a strange green hue. Regardless, this pesto was so good that I didn’t even miss the cheese!

IMG_5221

I roasted up a small-sized spaghetti squash, and then pulled it with a fork into short spaghetti noodles. While that was happening, I used up a clamshell of basil left in my fridge from my friend’s New Years Bruschetta, and brainstormed how to make a pesto sauce with no Parmigiano. I remembered seeing a vegan pesto made with white beans, and thought chickpeas would make an interesting substitution, since that was all I had on hand! I still added the pine nuts and the olive oil, and threw in a pinch of salt since the cheese usually adds that salty component. I surprised myself with how much I enjoyed this! Confession: I may or may not have eaten a spoonful of pesto straight out of the food processor… The chickpeas added some heft to the sauce, making this all-veggie, vegan delight very filling. This is also a cheaper alternative to the classic pesto I have raved about before, no matter what your dietary preferences are. Give it a try, over spaghetti squash, regular pasta, or even with tomato slices on toast… Being a vegan for the month is really helping me to think outside of my food box!

Question: Do you ever get stuck in food ruts? What do you do to break out of them?

IMG_5221

Vegan Pesto

inspired by my classic pesto, serves 3-4

1 cup packed fresh basil

1/4 cup olive oil

1/2 cup chick peas

2 tbsp pine nuts

1/4 tsp salt

Combine all ingredients in a food processor until a smooth sauce is formed. Serve over pasta, spaghetti squash, or use as a spread.

Entry filed under: Recipes. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Coco-nutty WIAW Out of the Freezer

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide  |  January 9, 2012 at 10:21 am

    Hmmm, chick peas. I bet that is pretty rich and creamy. Don’t get me wrong I like my Romano, but looks like you did good.

    Reply
  • 2. JensMom  |  January 9, 2012 at 12:33 pm

    So I tried Tofu last night in my stir fry and it wasn’t bad at all. I got the extra firm kind and sliced it in very small cubes, added it my stir fry with ginger, garlic, green beans, onions, carrots and cabbage mixed with brown rice and tamari sauce. Very good, soaked up the flavors of the sauce nicely. I also roasted some canned chick peas with olive oil, salt and pepper for a snack-awesome! Almost as good as potato chips. Bring on week #2 of the vegan challenge!

    Reply
    • 3. homemadeadventure  |  January 10, 2012 at 11:29 pm

      Maybe you can make tofu for me next time I am home and convert me ;)

      Reply
  • 4. Stefanie  |  January 10, 2012 at 10:34 pm

    Great adaptations! And I always hate non-photogenic food… why won’t it just cooperate? :)

    Reply
    • 5. homemadeadventure  |  January 10, 2012 at 11:30 pm

      Thanks! Good thing ugly food still tastes good :)

      Reply
  • 6. Lentil “Meat” Sauce « homemadeadventure  |  January 27, 2012 at 9:48 am

    [...] we can make it with pesto! Did you and I eat that together once?” Ha, yes! I made and shared vegan pesto early in January in fact… Her response, “Oh, I thought maybe I was just getting really [...]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Get recipes directly to your inbox as soon as they are posted

Join 218 other followers

Memberships


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 218 other followers

