WIAW Seasonal Confusion Edition

November 9, 2011 at 12:06 am 26 comments

It snowed in October, and now it’s almost 70 degrees? Can someone tell the weather on the East Coast to stop messing around? Darkness at 4 pm and a noon run in shorts cannot coexist in my mind. But whether or not my mind is okay with it, that was my day! Thanks to Jenn for another WIAW – head over to check out other blogs for meal inspiration and recipes, and maybe join in next time! Here is a glimpse into my unseasonal day.

Breakfast: 7:45am

IMG_4714

My newest blog project is to come up with a different flavor of oatmeal for 30 days. It was the brainchild of my roommate and friend Jon, and I am excited to see what delicious bowls come of it! I am sticking with just hot oatmeal, no baked or overnight oats or other fancy things. Just simple, low sugar, healthy and hot oatmeal bowls! Today was supposed to recreate a sugar cookie (with very little sugar, of course!) but had too much banana flavor. Banana oats aren’t bad though! I have an idea or two to get the sugar cookie oatmeal just right… like my page on Facebook for early previews of some oatmeal creations along the way!

Pre-run snack: 11am

IMG_4608

Studying took longer than expected this morning. I wanted to be on my run by 11am so I could just eat lunch when I got back, but a few tough kidney problems (and chatty friends ;)) got in the way of that! To tide my hunger and keep me going for my run, I snacked on a homemade Larabar for pre-run fuel. I made these a few weeks ago, and they are still good out of the Tupperware in my fridge!

Workout: 11:30

Screen shot 2011-11-08 at 10.04.51 PM

Did I have time to run for an hour? Not really. But the sunshine was taunting me through the window all morning and I just couldn’t resist. I set out in the beautiful weather, in shorts and a T-shirt (crazy!), for what is likely my last long run along the waterfront. I covered 7.1 miles and enjoyed every minute of it, not worrying about my pace or an upcoming training goal or the studying that faced me when I returned. I will still run outside during the winter, but it gets too windy to run along the water (I almost got blown away last week!) so this was probably my last time running one of my favorite routes until spring.

Lunch: 1:30pm

IMG_4716

IMG_4718

I always thought that a pita pizza was a common concept, but I am finding out that many of my friends have never heard of it. So spread the news about a cheater’s homemade pizza! This is a fast, easy, and fun way to get some veggies! To take it over the top, I like to make a slit in my pita and stuff it with a bit of cheese. So today for lunch, I enjoyed not just any pizza, but stuffed crust pita pizza. A bit of simple homemade sauce (just canned tomatoes and paste mixed together) with spinach, red pepper, and onion on top? Enough said. This kept me pretty full even after a long run, so my afternoon snack was just an unpictured apple and some unsweetened iced tea at Panera this afternoon.

Dinner: 6:30pm

IMG_4719

I had some kale to use up and a friend coming for dinner, so I knew a soup was in my future! I wanted something a little different, so I tried out this recipe from Fat Free Vegan Kitchen for a North African Chickpea and Kale soup. Even without the saffron, the soup was still delicious! Warming wasn’t exactly what we needed on such an unseasonably warm evening, but we enjoyed the light spiciness of the broth! My friend contributed bread from Au Bon Pain, and brought dessert along as well! Whatever these were (Coconut Cherry Macroons dipped in chocolate, I think?) they were ah-mazing. I love coconut, and these were so great to savor slowly over great conversation, laughter and tears. I ended my night with more tea and a few handfuls of granola while cramming for my upcoming exam. Hopefully I have studied enough today between running, blogging and socializing, to do what I need to on this exam!

IMG_4721

Question: What is your favorite pizza topping?

Entry filed under: Running. Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

Spaghetti Stories Surprise!

26 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Vien @ We Dare Food  |  November 9, 2011 at 12:35 am

    Pita pizzas are so good! :D really easy and just right for one!! My fave pizza toppings would be something sweet…. nutella, bananas and almonds! YUM!

    Reply
    • 2. homemadeadventure  |  November 9, 2011 at 7:54 am

      Ooh that sounds good! There is a crepe place I love that has one like this and I can never resist!

      Reply
  • 3. peachyshel  |  November 9, 2011 at 2:58 am

    Favourite pizza topping…gruyere cheese, apple and caramalised onion with pecans!!!

    Reply
    • 4. homemadeadventure  |  November 9, 2011 at 7:55 am

      That sounds delicious! I have fallen in love with an apple-brie snack pairing again, but never thought to put it on pizza…

      Reply
  • 5. mixxedtape  |  November 9, 2011 at 4:34 am

    That pizza looks great :)
    Love the idea of the oatmeal challenge, it’s nice to get some inspiration for new oatmeal bowls, so I’ll be checking in regularly :D

    Reply
    • 6. homemadeadventure  |  November 9, 2011 at 7:55 am

      Thanks! The project will likely take longer than a month (I foresee a few flops along the way ;)) but I am excited to share previews!

      Reply
  • 7. brokencookiesdontcount  |  November 9, 2011 at 7:16 am

    30 days of new oat flavors is an excellent idea! You pizza looks tasty too!

    Reply
  • 8. Dani  |  November 9, 2011 at 7:36 am

    Hey there! I just came across your blog from WIAW!! Awesome blog! I am absolutely in love the idea of a new oatmeal flavour every day!! I’m kind of stuck in an oats-rut, just switching up the toppings daily. I need some new ideas!! But oldies are goodies, right? I love tortilla and pita pizzas! Haven’t had one in a while!! Now I’m craving one!! Topped with something like hawaiian stir fry mix and sweet chilli sauce…. Nom!! Good luck with your studying!

    X
    :))

    Reply
    • 9. homemadeadventure  |  November 9, 2011 at 7:56 am

      Thanks for stopping by! Keep checking back for previews to get you out of your oats rut, and thanks for the study luck :)

      Reply
  • 10. survivingcandyland  |  November 9, 2011 at 8:17 am

    Ugh pita pizza looks so good. Girrrl don’t be complaining about 70s. Its high 80s in Texas and I’m like dying. What is going on with the weather worldwide?!? I want that cherry macaroon btw. I love all things cherry and chocolate.

    Reply
    • 11. homemadeadventure  |  November 11, 2011 at 12:06 am

      Not complaining about the warmth, I’ll take it! Something is definitely up with the weather patterns though…

      Reply
  • 12. KellyB@Goodfoodtripslife  |  November 9, 2011 at 8:51 am

    The weather issue – I feel ya. First we’re wearing winterish clothes and yesterday I went for a run in shorts and a t-shirt. Haha… oh wells. Love the pita pizza idea. I’ve always just used tortillas, but pita will hold up better than that. Fave pizza topping – veggies of any kind.

    Reply
    • 13. homemadeadventure  |  November 11, 2011 at 12:07 am

      The pitas are definitely more sturdy than the tortilla – better for piling with veggies!

      Reply
  • 14. Jes @ Becoming Less of Jes  |  November 9, 2011 at 8:56 am

    I just came across your blog from WIAW! I love pita pizzas!!! I just throw whatever veg I have in the fridge on there for a quick and easy meal =)

    Reply
    • 15. homemadeadventure  |  November 11, 2011 at 12:08 am

      Thanks! Loved checking out your blog, your journey is inspiring!

      Reply
  • 16. Mandy@OrangeAutumn  |  November 9, 2011 at 10:53 am

    Everything looks so good!! I love pita pizzas. There such an easy lunch!

    Reply
  • 17. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide  |  November 9, 2011 at 1:25 pm

    Everything looks great!

    Reply
  • 18. Shannon (Healthiful Balance)  |  November 9, 2011 at 2:13 pm

    Mhmm, yummy eats! Loving your dinner! :)
    My favorite pizza toppings are turkey pepperoni and cheese.

    Reply
  • 19. Sharon @ Bit of the Good Stuff  |  November 9, 2011 at 2:34 pm

    Your pizza looks stunning! I’ve never made a pitta pizza before, but it sounds perfect for a quick meal. I’ll definitely have to give it a try!
    My favourite pizza topping is a mix of roasted veggies like red pepper, artichoke, asparagus, black olives, mushrooms, served with a dash of basil pesto :)

    Reply
    • 20. homemadeadventure  |  November 11, 2011 at 12:08 am

      that sounds like an amazing pita pizza waiting to be created!

      Reply
  • 21. mindrunningwild  |  November 9, 2011 at 3:17 pm

    right? What is the weather doing? London has been odd as well, though still dreary :)
    that’s so fun about the oatmeal project. I’ve thought of doing that, but I don’t know if I’d want oats Every.Single.Day.
    ooh are there dates in those homemade bars? They look so tasty.
    that macaroon looks amazing. I love the little bits of coconut mmmm.
    I love my pizzas topped with just roasted veg, no cheese. Heavy on the veg!

    Reply
    • 22. homemadeadventure  |  November 11, 2011 at 12:09 am

      there are dates in the bars – the recipe is simple and tasty, and great for a quick energy boost before runs or between meals

      Reply
  • 23. Ty  |  November 9, 2011 at 5:26 pm

    Fresh basil is definitely my favorite pizza topping.

    Love your 30 days of oatmeal idea!

    Reply
  • 25. Jenn @ Peas and Crayons  |  November 13, 2011 at 9:02 pm

    Yeah i’m totally making cheaters pizza for lunch tomorrow! I keep forgetting i have pitas and this would be a perfect combo! yum! =)

    Reply
    • 26. homemadeadventure  |  November 15, 2011 at 1:08 am

      Enjoy your lunch! Wish I still had some pita to make these again ;)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Get recipes directly to your inbox as soon as they are posted

Join 220 other followers

Memberships


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 220 other followers

