WIAW While Sick

September 28, 2011 at 7:43 am 13 comments

It’s amazing how fast a head cold can strike you down. I was feeling fine on Saturday – studied, met a friend for coffee, ran 11.5 miles. Then I sneezed, and all of the sudden all I wanted was my bed and a tissue box. I slept 9 hours Saturday night and 10 hours Sunday night in hopes of shaking this cold early. Here is a glimpse into my Monday eats while I was sick! Make sure you check out Peas and Crayons to see other bloggers creative meal ideas!

Breakfast: 9:15 am

IMG_4487

Coffee makes my throat even more scratchy than it already is, so I decided to have some chai tea with a splash of rice milk instead. I had a whole grain English muffin with a bit of homemade peanut butter (my second batch, since we used the first up hiking!) and an orange on the side. Load me up with fluids and vitamins please!

Lunch: 1:45pm

IMG_4498

My fridge is looking pretty sad right now. My Boston Organics delivery is on Tuesdays, so I only had white and sweet potatoes in my veggie drawer by Monday. Time for some back up green stuff from the freezer! I saw this recipe for Coconut Curried Potatoes with Peas on Daily Garnish a few weeks ago and couldn’t wait to try it. It was so good! I ended up following the recipe more loosely, using what I had on hand rather than running out to the store. I cooked the potatoes in a bit of water, used regular coconut milk, used a little less curry powder (because I ran out), added some curry paste, and used fresh instead of powdered ginger. Even so, this turned out amazing, and now I have lunches for the rest of the week! I enjoyed my lunch with more tea – this time, green tea with slivers of fresh ginger.

Magic nap: 3:30pm

I slept for an hour and a half, choosing to listen to my body rather than my self-imposed study schedule. I went to bed sick and woke up feeling so much better! Still with a runny nose, but no longer feeling sick.

Dinner: 6:15pm

IMG_4500

I made plans to meet a few friends from undergrad who are still in school at BU. We met up at my old favorite study spot, the student union. Of course there is a food court there, but it is a bit overpriced if you are no longer on the meal plan. Creature of habit, I packed my dinner into a Tupperware, threw it in my backpack, and biked over to campus! Remember the freezer pesto cubes from yesterday? I threw one in with my hot pasta to let it melt a bit, and then fully mixed it in when I re-heated my meal before eating it. A little broccoli to follow the 1:1 pasta rule… yum! Apple for dessert (the no-sugar thing is much easier this week than last!) Like my veggie supply, my fruit is also running low. I always eat my apples and oranges at the end of the box, since they have a longer shelf life than bananas, berries and stone fruits. Seasonal fall apples are always a treat!

Snacks: 10pm

IMG_4476

A handful or two of peanuts and raisins before bed to keep my stomach from rumbling, and a cup of Sleepy Time Tea! Sleep and tea – the best cure for the common cold.

I have been thinking a lot about last week’s post and love the feedback I have gotten so far! I would love to hear more thoughts, and will be back tomorrow or Friday with an update of some of my own thoughts and musings about the problem of obesity in America and how doctors should address it.

Question: What was the best thing you ate today?

Entry filed under: Random. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

Freezing Summer The Healthy Lifestyle Rx

13 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide  |  September 28, 2011 at 9:57 am

    Hope you’re feeling better.

    Reply
  • 3. Carolyn@LivingOriental  |  September 28, 2011 at 1:32 pm

    I tried that coconut curry recipe from daily garnish too! When I was in Thailand a couple years ago they put chickpeas into as well, and so did I. It was delicious!

    Reply
    • 4. homemadeadventure  |  September 28, 2011 at 2:39 pm

      Oooh that sounds so good! I’ll definitely add those in next time!

      Reply
  • 5. mindrunningwild  |  September 28, 2011 at 2:09 pm

    Feel better!! Good thing you kept the eating up while you were sick. I bet an english muffin was just the thing.

    Reply
    • 6. homemadeadventure  |  September 28, 2011 at 2:39 pm

      Thanks! Love the occasional English muffin, especially with PB!

      Reply
  • 7. survivingcandyland  |  September 29, 2011 at 12:01 am

    Curried potatoes and peas. That actually sounds really good. I’m gonna have to go look at that recipe now.

    Reply
    • 8. homemadeadventure  |  September 29, 2011 at 9:58 pm

      Definitely give it a try – I’m still enjoying the leftovers!

      Reply
  • 9. Rachel (tea and chocolate)  |  September 29, 2011 at 8:57 am

    Your eats sure look tasty for feeling sick. That soup looks fantastic! I’ll check out the recipe. Feel better soon!

    Reply
  • 11. caloricandcrazy  |  September 30, 2011 at 5:13 pm

    The best thing I ate today? Wasabi peas from trader joe’s :)

    Reply
  • 12. WIAW To Clear Out My Fridge « homemadeadventure  |  December 14, 2011 at 7:00 am

    [...] am sick, again! (I really thought that was just last month, but apparently it was in September! Where does time [...]

    Reply
  • 13. WIAW Out of the Freezer « homemadeadventure  |  January 11, 2012 at 7:15 am

    [...] made these Curried Potatoes and Peas a while back, and broke out the frozen leftovers for lunch! Enjoyed with a piece of flatbread, this made for an [...]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Get recipes directly to your inbox as soon as they are posted

Join 213 other followers

Memberships


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 213 other followers

