WIAW Leftover Edition

September 21, 2011 at 6:42 am 10 comments

I had a lot of fun participating in Peas and Crayons‘ What I Ate Wednesday last week, from taking pictures of my daily eats to getting inspiration for simple meal ideas from other bloggers. I am excited for my second WIAW, and hope to do this more in the future. Yesterday’s meals were pretty simple, pulled together from leftovers. I hate wasting food and will always use up leftovers (or freeze them) before cooking a new meal, even if I am getting bored. Freezing leftovers has been a huge help in the past, since I will often freeze individual containers and then have my own, homemade TV dinners when life gets hectic. Another way I have found to avoid leftover boredom is to reinvent them. Keep reading for some of my leftover makeovers!

Pre-breakfast snack: 7am

I set my alarm for 6:45am, with no intentions of leaving my warm cozy bed for class. Instead, I brewed a pot of my pumpkin spiced coffee, grabbed a handful of peanuts in the process, and crawled back under the covers with my mug and clinical textbook to learn about the cardiac exam.

Breakfast: 8am

IMG_4460

After making it halfway through my reading, I decided to face the day and my cold apartment. I finally made myself some Pumpkin Oatmeal! I saw it on so many WIAW’s last week, and pumpkin recipes keep appearing everywhere, so I knew I had to have some. I followed this recipe at Oh She Glows for the oatmeal, but skipped the suggested toppings, choosing a few toasted almonds and some fresh ground cinnamon instead. So yummy! A hearty breakfast that sneaks good-for-you veggies without you even realizing… (Yes, pumpkin is a vegetable and it is rich in fiber and Vitamin A!)

Lunch: 11:45am

IMG_4466

Lucky I had leftover Subway sandwiches on hand for what turned out to be a hectic afternoon. The break in the rain I needed to bike to campus never came, and so I was resigned to taking the bus. Unfortunately, the bus takes at least 3 times as long, and so I had to inhale my lunch as I was getting ready and flying out the door. I gave the Veggie Sub a little more staying power with a slice of melted cheese on one side, some hummus on the other, and a few extra pickles in the middle. Perfection. Good thing my new travel mug kept my peppermint tea piping hot until I got to school! Peppermint tea works way better than gum as a breath freshener (no one wants their (future) doctor to have Subway breath!)

IMG_4480

Snack: 4:30pm

A long day of learning about heart sounds and the complete cardiac exam left me quite hungry by 4:30pm. I didn’t want to eat too much, since my yoga class was in an hour and it is not advised to go to hot yoga after eating a meal. I ate the pear I had picked out for lunch and didn’t have time to eat, and drank a whole lotta water in preparation for yoga. Good thing! This was the hardest yoga class I have ever taken! Granted, I have only been to 3… but it was a challenge, and I loved it! My arms feel strong, my legs feel stretched from the previous day’s 10.5 mile run, and I sweated more than I knew possible! (TMI? Sorry!)

Dinner: 8pm

IMG_4467

The only One problem with not being able to bike to class is not being able to bike home! I was probably a treat to sit next to on the bus – sweaty, tired, and hungry (read: cranky). I heated up some leftover winter melon soup (almost through that gigantic pot!) but was sick of having eggs with it. Instead, I sauteed a few mushrooms in chili oil and added them to the soup with some soy sauce for a different spin. It was a nice change since I have eaten a lot of this soup lately, and it was good to have so much liquid after hot yoga.

Dessert(s): 9pm

IMG_4474

Still pretty hungry after my big bowl of soup, I sought a sugar-free dessert. This is a trick from my roommate for “baked” cinnamon apples! Just cut up an apple, sprinkle it with cinnamon, and microwave it for 2 minutes. The apples give off a bit of juice that makes a quasi-sauce, and the natural sweetness and spice of the cinnamon really shines through. Not eating added sugar really opens up your taste buds!

IMG_4476

Still hungry, I munched on some peanuts and raisins after my apple. I was really craving something salty, and needed a bit more protein in my day.

IMG_4481

I settled down to finish studying for the evening, and was still hungry and thirsty from yoga! I made some decaf green tea with a few slices of fresh ginger (my new favorite night time drink!) and had a slice of toast with Smart Balance. I may or may not have sprinkled a tiny bit of salt on my toast… finally hit the spot!

Question: Have you ever done hot yoga? Do you experience weird salt cravings afterwords, or does it take your body a while to recover from the fluid loss?

Entry filed under: Random. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , .

Seasons of Change Nerd Alert

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Shannon  |  September 21, 2011 at 8:56 am

    Ive never tried hot yoga before! I wish they had classes at my gym, though! :)

    Reply
    • 2. homemadeadventure  |  September 22, 2011 at 7:53 am

      I’ve only done it twice – I got a coupon to a yoga studio that made 5 classes $20 instead of $50. couldn’t pass that one up!

      Reply
  • 3. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide  |  September 21, 2011 at 9:18 am

    I like that trick for apples. They really don’t need extra sugar.

    Reply
    • 4. homemadeadventure  |  September 22, 2011 at 7:54 am

      Especially with all of the New England apples that are starting to come into season!

      Reply
  • 5. mindrunningwild  |  September 21, 2011 at 9:12 pm

    I love hot yoga even though I’ve only been once.
    I need to start flavouring my oats. I usually just have them plain but it was too hot this summer for many oaty endeavours. I’ll be back into them soon enough.

    Reply
    • 6. homemadeadventure  |  September 22, 2011 at 7:55 am

      I love overnight oats for hot summer oatmeal. It was weird for me to eat cold oats at first, but a little peanut butter and banana makes it so good!

      Reply
  • 7. Rachael @ Fresh Squeezed Home  |  September 21, 2011 at 11:51 pm

    Your food looks yummy! I need to get me some pumpkin spice coffee! O and love your “Failure is Not An Option” Kenedy Space Center Mug I have one that says “Reach For The Stars”

    Reply
    • 8. homemadeadventure  |  September 22, 2011 at 7:53 am

      I love that mug! My mom and I thought it described me pretty well so she got it for me while we visited in FL :)

      Reply
  • 9. Liz @ IHeartVegetables  |  September 22, 2011 at 9:44 am

    I can’t find canned pumpkin anywhere! I think it’s out of stock everywhere in my city :( I’m so sad!

    Reply
    • 10. homemadeadventure  |  September 22, 2011 at 11:07 am

      I just started seeing it last week. Fall fell pretty fast here!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Get recipes directly to your inbox as soon as they are posted

Join 200 other followers

Memberships


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 200 other followers

