Sunday Supper

June 5, 2011 at 10:39 pm 3 comments

Happy Sunday! Hope that you all have had a relaxing weekend and are ready to face a Monday that is fast approaching. My Sunday was fantastic – I woke up early for a smoothie with my sister, and then showed my mom some simple weight lifting exercises. After a quick shower, my mom and I met my sister and dad at church. What a blessing it is to have such an excellent new pastor at my parent’s church, and we found out today that we have a new youth pastor as well! It is exciting to see new life breathed into the church where I was raised, especially after such struggles for the past few years. Some food for thought from my Sunday sermon – the church is supposed to be safe for people, but dangerous to culture. Too often, we are reversed – condemning certain individuals and following popular culture, both Christian and secular. Jesus was, instead, was a trouble maker! He hung out with tax collectors and prostitutes, and preached such “craziness”  as the Sermon on the Mount. If only we could live in a way that reflected this truth.

2And he opened his mouth and taught them, saying:

3“Blessed are the poor in spirit, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.

4“Blessed are those who mourn, for they shall be comforted.

5“Blessed are the meek, for they shall inherit the earth.

6“Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they shall be satisfied.

7“Blessed are the merciful, for they shall receive mercy.

8“Blessed are the pure in heart, for they shall see God.

9“Blessed are the peacemakers, for they shall be called sons of God.

10“Blessed are those who are persecuted for righteousness’ sake, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.

11“Blessed are you when others revile you and persecute you and utter all kinds of evil against you falsely on my account. 12Rejoice and be glad, for your reward is great in heaven, for so they persecuted the prophets who were before you.

Matthew 5: 2 – 12 (ESV)

After church, I got a chance to catch up with a few friends that I haven’t seen in a while. The nice part about being home for a little longer is that I am getting to catch up with people I haven’t gotten to see on my short weekend trips home! I met my friend Michelle from high school at Jakeabob’s, a cute little seaside restaurant. The first time my mom told me about her new favorite local spot, I thought she had lost all sense. This restaurant proves that you should never judge a book by its cover name! The food is fantastic, with great flavor combinations and reasonable prices for seafood. I enjoyed a big salad topped with pecans, mandarin oranges and shrimp with a raspberry vinaigrette. Michelle had an enormous ahi tuna burger, which she generously let me try! Both dishes were incredible, and the ocean front views made the experience even better. So great to catch up with old friends!

After having a pretty filling lunch, I knew that a lighter dinner would be on the menu. This is pretty common in my family. We tend to have a bigger lunch immediately after church, around 1:30 or 2, and then have the smaller meal of the day for dinner. Tonight, I made a yummy frittata, which would also be great for a brunch or a weekend lunch. It was inspired by this hearty looking recipe at Rufus’ Guide, and this interesting grilled version at KERF. I cooked everything on the grill, until it ran out of gas… oops! The potatoes made a nice sort-of crust, and the grilled asparagus had a great texture and flavor in the frittata. Plus, keeping everything outside on the grill kept the house from getting too hot. Even if the grill hadn’t run out of gas, I still think it might be a good idea to finish this off in the broiler oven. It gives the top a nice crisp that you might miss with bottom-only heat from the grill. Before making a frittata, either in the oven or on the grill, make sure your pan oven-safe first! And keep a good oven mitt on hand, since the handle will be super hot! I chose to leave the cheese out of this frittata because my sister is lactose-intolerant. She can handle the little bit of milk in the eggs because it is diluted so much, but the cheese would not have such friendly outcomes. Try this without the cheese, or add a little bit of Parmesan on top!

Question: Does your family have any Sunday traditions?

IMG_2755

Grilled Asparagus and Potato Frittata

Serve 4-6

3 small Yukon gold potatoes, peeled and thinly sliced

1 bunch asparagus

2 tbsp olive oil

8-10 eggs (depending on size of eggs and pan)

3/4 cups milk

1 1/2 tsp paprika

salt and pepper to taste

Toss the potato slices and asparagus in olive oil, salt and pepper. Place the potatoes and the asparagus in a grill basket or spread on a grill tray and cook for 5-7 minutes. Potatoes might take slightly longer to crisp than the asparagus. Remove them from the heat and allow to cool slightly. Cut the asparagus into 1-inch pieces. Meanwhile, whisk together eggs, milk, paprika, and a little ground pepper. Layer the potatoes in the bottom of a greased oven safe pan. Then pour the egg mixture over top. Top with the asparagus pieces. Close the grill lid and cook for 20-25 minutes, checking occasionally. If desired, finish in oven broiler for 5 minutes to brown the top.

IMG_2746

IMG_2747

IMG_2748

IMG_2749

Entry filed under: Recipes. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Cooking Class Not Your Ordinary Pizza

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide  |  June 6, 2011 at 8:49 am

    That looks amazing, love the use of asparagus.Our family used to do the same thing on Sundays, have a big meal, usually Italian, in the early afternoon and then a lighter dinner later on.

    Reply
  • 2. Lose those Leftovers « homemadeadventure  |  June 11, 2011 at 1:16 pm

    [...] for example, the frittata I had made earlier in the week. The frittata, cut in 8 pieces, could have served anywhere from 4-8 [...]

    Reply
  • 3. Overnight Oats « homemadeadventure  |  August 22, 2011 at 7:05 am

    [...] had it my way, I would make an all out breakfast everyday. I love pancakes, waffles, french toast, frittatas – I am a serious breakfast fiend. Unfortunately, early weekday classes leave no time for [...]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Get recipes directly to your inbox as soon as they are posted

Join 213 other followers

Memberships


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 213 other followers

