One Smart Blondie

May 28, 2011 at 11:08 pm 7 comments

IMG_2630

Me? Or the dessert? Your choice… but be warned before betting on me, I sure had my share of dumb blonde moments today! Take, for example, when we were deciding teams for cards and I loudly protested against Men vs. Women because there wasn’t an even split… 4 men, 4 women… oh wait, I must have counted wrong. I swear it’s because my 6′ 6″ uncle was clearly obstructed from view by my tiny grandmother. Or during dinner, a lovely lobster feast, when I squealed at finding what I thought was an organ inside of my lobster tail. After my grandma, an ex-OR nurse, reminded me of surviving gross anatomy lab and an eventual surgery rotation, I proudly exclaimed, “Yeah, but I don’t eat my patients!” Hey, at least I provide table-side entertainment on occasion!

The post about our lovely lobster feast will come tomorrow, but until then, treat yourself to one of these Blondies. Blondies are like a brownie, but not chocolate based. They can have any number of mix-ins in them, but these are Cinnamon Macadamia Nut Blondies. Not only that, but they are vegan, gluten-free, and good for you. So maybe you can splurge and have two.

My family is nowhere near vegan. I still get taunted for being a vegetarian, even now as I am slowly reintroducing meat into my diet in preparation for my trip to Europe in a few weeks. I clearly remember at least one moment in my life when my grandma chased me down the hallway with a lobster… and a turkey neck… With that being said, my family is starting to come around to more veg-friendly recipes. Almost all of my family has high blood pressure, high cholesterol (or both) and most are struggling with weight. Introducing more meatless meals and vegan desserts into their repertoire is a great way to make baby steps to a healthier lifestyle. No one will believe you that these are a vegan dessert, and their jaw will hit the floor when you tell them that they are made with chickpeas. My whole family loved them, and my dad even made special mention that this recipe is the way a healthy dessert should taste (aka not like health food.) That was a huge compliment coming from him! This Blondie recipe is from Chocolate Covered Katie’s vegan dessert blog. The only changes I made were adding 1/4 cup chopped macadamia nuts for texture, halving the brown sugar, and using a little more applesauce and a little less peanut butter. This is the second of her vegan dessert recipes I have tried (the first being Raw Samoas) and have had excellent results both times. Check out her blog for more great healthy dessert ideas, no matter what your dietary preferences are!

IMG_2650

Entry filed under: Recipes. Tags: , , , , .

Cooking for a Crowd Lovely Lobster Feast

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide  |  May 28, 2011 at 11:13 pm

    I really like the spices you use. I’m not sure I can bring myself to do this with chickpeas, but I’ve seen enough to not second guess your judgement! Can’t wait for the lobster post.

    Reply
  • 2. Scavenging the Interweb  |  May 28, 2011 at 11:17 pm

    Sounds like you’re keeping busy (in the good way)! How in the world are you making time to post still? :) Europe?! Have fun! Maybe this recipe will be my first ever attempt at a vegan dessert…

    Reply
    • 3. jenlenew  |  May 29, 2011 at 9:26 am

      Definitely give it a try! The good thing about being the cook for 8 people is that there are 7 dishwashers. I get to sit back and blog while the rest of the fam takes care of clean up! Good trade in my opinion ;)

      Reply
  • 4. Daniel Lee  |  May 29, 2011 at 1:17 pm

    dude, we all know youre a blonde through and through. its ok. Doesn’t mean i dont love you any less :D.

    Secondly. I am very upset with your implication that meat-atarians naturally lead to high blood pressure and weight problems. A nice steak does not make one fat. I’ve never seen a person who just eats proteins all day everyday become fat.

    WIth that said.. id like to have a heart healthy blondie… :(

    Reply
  • 5. Brad Newcomb  |  June 7, 2011 at 9:28 pm

    These are a winner. I really liked them. Dad

    Reply
  • 6. No-Bake Cookies « homemadeadventure  |  August 24, 2011 at 7:35 am

    [...] Covered Katie’s creations. I have had great success with her Samoas Babies, and with her Chickpea Blondies. I love her dessert recipes because they are healthy and fun, and usually simple to make. She has [...]

    Reply
  • 7. Lentil “Meat” Sauce « homemadeadventure  |  January 27, 2012 at 9:48 am

    [...] apples. Before you go “Ew, gross” remember that some of my favorite vegan pizookies and blondies are made with a chickpea base! I loved this dessert, and Marie eventually got on board after her [...]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Get recipes directly to your inbox as soon as they are posted

Join 215 other followers

Memberships


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 215 other followers

